We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you see Jack Nicholson, run.”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“If you see Jack Nicholson, run.”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Took my long-suffering girlfriend for a well-deserved Valentine's day trip to the Metropole using the renowned Travelzoo deal, with room, 6 course meal and breakfast included for a set price.

An earlier review notes that the hotel exterior is reminiscent of the hotel from 'The Shining'. I would take this comparison a little further, as the interior consists of narrow corridors and dated decoration. At times I was expecting a small child on a tricycle to suddenly appear at the end of the corridor, pursued by evil, identical twin sisters. Much to my disappointment, this fear didn't materialise.

The room was of excellent size, with a main bedroom and lounge sea, though both in need of a facelift. Bathroom looked recently decorated, suggesting the owners realise this and are in the process of modernising the hotel.

Room aside, we were most impressed with all that the hotel had to offer. The meal was outstanding and the service, whilst provided by an eclectic mix staff of all ages, was very good indeed. Breakfast is served as a buffet and again, was most enjoyed.

The town is slightly odd. Highlights include a hippie-ran independent store (I had to beg to convince the attendant to let me try some cheese) and a small museum charging £1 entry that I insisted we go into, which chronicled the elusive history of the area, literally from rocks to frocks (Valentine's Day brownie points were lost here).

All things considered though, we had a great time and would definitely go again. Whilst there is an element of tiredness in the look of the place, it has a quality hotel feel about it that I would guess is the result of years of good service. In summary, The Metropole is a 'Shining' example of modern British hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwanseaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    437
    111
    37
    19
See reviews for
133
690
24
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Earth
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

After I had almost lost the will to live having driven a long and through the interminable road works and the funereal pace of local traffic it was a great pleasure to return here. I got a lovely welcome and checked in nice and easily.

I was assigned a family room which was a good size and had a comfy double bed. Being a 6'1" adult I didn't try the bunk beds in the room but I'm sure they would have been just as good as they looked like they were sturdily made.

The bathroom was a good size and spotlessly clean. The shower was certainlymore than good enough and the good quality tolietries put other hotels to shame.

Being a business traveller and needing to get up early resulted in my needing to have breakfast delivered to my room at 6-30 as the restaurant doesn't open until 7-30. It's kind of hard to criticse the hotel for this as I'm not really in their target market which is really folks who have more time on their hands then me. On my last morning as I didn't have to get up early I had breakfast in the restaurant and very good it was too. Great service and excellent value for money.

The bar and Spencer's Brasserie were both very good with a wide range of drinks, very good food and a nice ambience. Again they aren't really catering to my market so if you are a business traveller on a per diem you may find some of the prices a bit high but the food is excellent quality.

The gym is very good and well laid out for a small space. The pool was just the right temperature to relax in but two points here: 1. They close at 8PM so if you are on business it can be a bit of a rush. 2. The sauna wasn't really hot enough. I can't hold these against the hotel though as I'm not their target market. A tip for the gym - try to get an odd number locker key as these are on the top row of lockers (at least in the gents changing room)

Overall a great place to stay if you aren't in a hurry. Would I spend my own money here? - undoubtedly yes.

Room Tip: When I stayed previously room 105 was noisy due to a fan outside. This may have been fixed by now bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Des_Gruntled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Excellent weekend! Valentine special represented very good value for money and we could even take our dog. The hotel encapsulates the victorian charm of LLandridnod Wells nicely. Our room was compact but a good standard and clean, we were previously offered a suite upgrade @ £20, which I'm sure would have been worth the extra, but we were more than happy with our choice. Although the view of a fire escape from our window would have been an issue if staying extra nights. Be warned the check in time is >4pm, the latest we've ever experienced and unless you take advantage of the Spa facilities you may have to wait for access to your room, having arrived at 3 it was luckily a dry day (welsh rareity) and had a walk around the town. We recommend you take time to visit the Museum (located next door to Hotel) it is small but informative and an ideal start point to seeing Llandridnod. The evening meal (5 course Valentine special) was again a high standard and well presented. There was an abundance of waiting staff that professionally handled a busy restuarant , although a little too eager to rush us through the courses in my opinion. The breakfast the following morning was exceptional, again plenty of staff and far more relaxed this time, which set us up nicely for a day touring the Elan Valley. The Spa facilities were well equiped and worthy of the star rating, perhaps not the best we've been to, but enjoyable all the same.
All in all this dog friendly hotel can be highly recommended if you're visiting mid Wales or dinning out in the area. Don't expect 5 star crisp modern, this is a very old hotel steeped in regional history and should be forgiven one or two short comings. It was good to see they were busy, if not full to capacity, however they were efficient with plenty of staff available to cope with the task. Keep an eye open for offers and promotions, you could get a bargain here if you're lucky, but their tarif is fair compared to lesser alternatives locally.

Room Tip: Might be worth paying a bit more and getting a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorwydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Gorwydd, thank you for your comprehensive feedback following your stay with us last weekend. It was a lovely weekend and the Elan Valley was particularly beautiful. I went for a short run of about 7 miles along the cycle/running path that skirts up alongside the dams on Saturday morning and it was fabulous. Funnily enough I noticed a few of my guests from the Metropole who had hired bikes from Clive Powell in Rhayader and were also using the trail. I am very pleased you discovered the Museum next to the hotel. It is a gem. My mother is involved in some way, possibly as a trustee or something, I must ask her exactly what she does. We are currently spending a bit of money adding some treatment rooms to the Spa and at the same time will give the foyer behind reception a spruce up. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and see you again I hope. Regards Justin Baird-Murray, Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were given this experience as a 40th wedding anniversary present by friends who came and shared the break.
The hotel had high standards of rooms which were all large spacious and clean with an excellent shower.( we viewed 3 rooms including those of our friends )
The spa was excellent and we all took advantage of this facility
.On the first night we had the 6 course taster menu which we found delightful and thought could not be bettered.
How wrong could we be ? On the second night we went to the brasserie and were truely amazed at the quality of the food we had , 2 of us had the fillit steak at an extra few pounds cost and it was cooked and served to perfection.
The staff were all brilliant, very helpful and always on hand to help.
I would like to single out Sandra who cared for our table on the second night.She was everything you could wish for ,polite helpful very friendly and as pleasant a soul as you could wish to meet.
This was a great break in a fabulous hotel at a most reasonable price and we shall be returning in the near future. ( Something we do not often do. This sums it all up to us )
Well done to everybody for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueandTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Sue and Trevor. I am very fortunate to have delightful staff and Sandra is a particularly charming young lady. She will be thrilled to see your kind comments. I was so pleased that your whole party enjoyed the stay and hope to welcome you back again soon. Regards Justin Baird-Murray Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Booked this on travel zoo.executive room on the front of the hotel..slight road noise..lovely room..large room.fabulous bathroom..staff superb from start to finish..had the six course taster menu which was great..many hotels today seem rundown..this is totally different with a constant plan to update and offer a service for the customer which is an absolute credit to the hotel..terrific value for money....and certainly would return..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hairybear007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Hairybear, typing that was pretty challenging..... Delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back by which time we will have probably finished the Spa development. Regards Justin Baird-Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were bought a night in this hotel as a gift. It included use of the spar, a six course tasting dinner and breakfast in the morning. The Hotel is a lovely old Victorian building, but isn't at all dated. Its a lovely blend of great quality service, food and accommodation at an incredibly reasonable cost (our 'deal' was a special offer £99). Our room was spacious and the bathroom superb. The food was great but what stood out the most to us was the service quality of all of the staff. The spar area was nice and the spar treatments reasonably priced. Llandrindod Wells was a pretty little spar town and a lovely stop off on your way further into Wales or a return journey back. It is a little gem what you get for what you pay we felt was really excellent. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Susan, I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Llandrindod Wells is a lovely town with a particularly picturesque lake, I hope you got to see it. I look forward to welcoming you back. Regards Justin Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Sometimes return visits to places can be disappointing but our second visit to the Metropole certainly wasn't. The winter special deal including an overnight stay and six course tasting menu has to be one of the best hotel deals on the Internet, and believe me we know what we are talking about when it comes to that particular subject.

The hotel is clean and well presented. We had the unexpected surprise of an upgrade to one of the Towr Suites which was spacious, and added a touch of luxury to our trip.

We had treatments booked in the spa which are reasonably priced and carried out by a highly professional team. The spa facilities themselves are all you could ask for with a reasonably sized swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. All clean and well maintained.

The food is immaculately presented and, more importantly, tastes great. Our compliments go to the chef and his team and also to the waiters and waitresses who are courteous and efficient, as are all the staff at the Metropole.

We rarely visit the same place twice but enjoy this treat to ourselves so much we will certainly be back to the Metropole very soon.

Room Tip: Go for one of the Tower Suites if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaznKaz637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear DaznKaz, it is very nice to hear from repeat visitors and I was especially pleased to hear that your 2nd visit was equally good. We are fortunate to have great team of staff in every department so thank you for mentioning them. Hope you can make it a third trip soon. Kind regards Justin Baird-Murray Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
235 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
791 reviews
13.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
595 reviews
23.6 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing