We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Marple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were given this experience as a 40th wedding anniversary present by friends who came and shared the break.
The hotel had high standards of rooms which were all large spacious and clean with an excellent shower.( we viewed 3 rooms including those of our friends )
The spa was excellent and we all took advantage of this facility
.On the first night we had the 6 course taster menu which we found delightful and thought could not be bettered.
How wrong could we be ? On the second night we went to the brasserie and were truely amazed at the quality of the food we had , 2 of us had the fillit steak at an extra few pounds cost and it was cooked and served to perfection.
The staff were all brilliant, very helpful and always on hand to help.
I would like to single out Sandra who cared for our table on the second night.She was everything you could wish for ,polite helpful very friendly and as pleasant a soul as you could wish to meet.
This was a great break in a fabulous hotel at a most reasonable price and we shall be returning in the near future. ( Something we do not often do. This sums it all up to us )
Well done to everybody for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueandTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Sue and Trevor. I am very fortunate to have delightful staff and Sandra is a particularly charming young lady. She will be thrilled to see your kind comments. I was so pleased that your whole party enjoyed the stay and hope to welcome you back again soon. Regards Justin Baird-Murray Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    444
    111
    37
    19
See reviews for
135
694
25
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Booked this on travel zoo.executive room on the front of the hotel..slight road noise..lovely room..large room.fabulous bathroom..staff superb from start to finish..had the six course taster menu which was great..many hotels today seem rundown..this is totally different with a constant plan to update and offer a service for the customer which is an absolute credit to the hotel..terrific value for money....and certainly would return..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hairybear007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Hairybear, typing that was pretty challenging..... Delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back by which time we will have probably finished the Spa development. Regards Justin Baird-Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were bought a night in this hotel as a gift. It included use of the spar, a six course tasting dinner and breakfast in the morning. The Hotel is a lovely old Victorian building, but isn't at all dated. Its a lovely blend of great quality service, food and accommodation at an incredibly reasonable cost (our 'deal' was a special offer £99). Our room was spacious and the bathroom superb. The food was great but what stood out the most to us was the service quality of all of the staff. The spar area was nice and the spar treatments reasonably priced. Llandrindod Wells was a pretty little spar town and a lovely stop off on your way further into Wales or a return journey back. It is a little gem what you get for what you pay we felt was really excellent. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Susan, I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Llandrindod Wells is a lovely town with a particularly picturesque lake, I hope you got to see it. I look forward to welcoming you back. Regards Justin Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Sometimes return visits to places can be disappointing but our second visit to the Metropole certainly wasn't. The winter special deal including an overnight stay and six course tasting menu has to be one of the best hotel deals on the Internet, and believe me we know what we are talking about when it comes to that particular subject.

The hotel is clean and well presented. We had the unexpected surprise of an upgrade to one of the Towr Suites which was spacious, and added a touch of luxury to our trip.

We had treatments booked in the spa which are reasonably priced and carried out by a highly professional team. The spa facilities themselves are all you could ask for with a reasonably sized swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. All clean and well maintained.

The food is immaculately presented and, more importantly, tastes great. Our compliments go to the chef and his team and also to the waiters and waitresses who are courteous and efficient, as are all the staff at the Metropole.

We rarely visit the same place twice but enjoy this treat to ourselves so much we will certainly be back to the Metropole very soon.

Room Tip: Go for one of the Tower Suites if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaznKaz637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear DaznKaz, it is very nice to hear from repeat visitors and I was especially pleased to hear that your 2nd visit was equally good. We are fortunate to have great team of staff in every department so thank you for mentioning them. Hope you can make it a third trip soon. Kind regards Justin Baird-Murray Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We did the Travelzoo offer for £99 which our children had bought us for Christmas and I must say it was wonderful. The 6 course taster menu is lovely and we really enjoyed each course, although small portions by the time we got to the sixth course we were full. The breakfast the next day was lovely. The spa is nice and the spa treatments we booked were great. All in all a lovely time and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Herefordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Herefordian, I was delighted you mentioned how well balanced the meal was. Portion are not huge but it is beautifully balanced which is a credit to chef Nick and his team in the Kitchen. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Regards Justin Baird-Murray Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

As we approached the Metropole it reminded us of the hotel in the film "The Shinning".We bought a great deal with "Travel Zoo"which included a 6 course meal and Full Welsh Breakfast.The room was large and well equipped.Large Bed,on Suite,TV,Tea making facilities and very cosy and quiet.Staff were very Professional and so helpful.The Food was First Class.The Beef was the BEST I've ever had,(well done Chef).Enjoyed the Pool,Sauna,Steam Room and Hot Tub.Can't recommend this Hotel enough.Would we go back ?????? Too right we would.Great location.Mid Wales.Just right for Touring.

Room Tip: The car park is not easy to find but it's at the Rear of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bigalseamills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
I'm not sure whether a comparison to 'The Shining' is a complement or not as I've never seen the film. I'll take it as one and ask my mate Jack whether it is next time he comes to stay.... Delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back, regards Justin Baird-Murray Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here on 6th Feb using a Travelzoo £99 voucher and it really was fantastic value for money.Our room was spotless and spacious and the bed was huge and really comfy,excellent shower in the bathroom and lovely toiletries too.

We had the 6 course taster menu and enjoyed every single dish,everything was beautifully presented and really tasty..we had a nice relaxing drink in the bar area and all the staff we encountered throughout the hotel always said hello and smiled which was really nice.

People on here have previously mentioned that areas of the hotel are looking tired etc but I'd like to say that given the size of the building (which is huge!) you can tell that it must be really hard work to upkeep so I'd like to say to the owner that I really admire the work you're putting into the place and you obviously take pride in your family business which is fantastic. We witnessed painting going on in the corridor we were staying in so work is being carried out here and there.

There's not a lot to do around Llandrindod for a couple like us in our 20's but we really enjoyed ourselves in the spa etc so I really hope people support you and thank you for a really enjoyable stay! We'd love to come back again :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah0627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Sarah, thank you so much for your very kind comments following your stay with us. As you noticed it is an on going process keeping the hotel in good nick. We have recently started work adding a relaxation area and 3 new treatment rooms to the Spa which will be finished by the end of April. I hope that you will be able to visit us again soon to see the completed project. Regards Justin Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
236 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
799 reviews
13.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
606 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing