We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Metropole Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Glen Usk Hotel(Llandrindod Wells)
$65
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Commodore(Llandrindod Wells)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Liverpool House(Rhayader)
$81
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Inn(Rhayader)
$93
$63
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Lake Country House & Spa(Llangammarch Wells)
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Llangoed Hall(Llyswen)
$148
$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rhydspence Inn(Whitney-on-Wye)
$127
$106
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cedars Guest House(Builth Wells)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,442)
Filter reviews
1,442 results
Traveler rating
782
479
119
40
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
782
479
119
40
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourse taster menuglass of champagnetower roomlarge hotelsuperior roomtravelzoo dealmid walesleisure facilitiesgourmet dinnerspecial offersteam room and jacuzzilovely hotelrestaurant staffhigh standardmodern bathroomfamily roomup to date
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,242 - 1,247 of 1,442 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We went (as did most other people) on a Travelzoo deal which was an amazing deal. The room that we got had a huge king size bed, modern decor, lovely big bathroom, very nice toiletries, coffee and tea facilities, free wi-fi etc etc. There was nothing more you would want in the room. The spa facilites are very pleasant and clean, not quite enough chairs around the pool to relax but the pool is easily big enough to swim for exercise. Again you could not fault it.

We had a 6 course dinner included in the deal and the food was excellent. Certainly for the money. One of the nicest things was that the wine was not too expensive and there was a reasonable choice. Our only minor gripe was with a member of staff behind the bar who rather curtly told us to get our drinks at the bar when we thought it was table service (there were more staff than customers in the bar at this point). Perhaps they should be trained to occasionally go beyond what is expected.

Otherwise, great and we would return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillpudlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

A Family Run Hotel (which I believe has been in the family for years) and boy do they know how to run a Hotel and really look after their Guest . Unfortunately we only stayed the 1 night but we booked in for the 6 course menu and from start to finish it was excellent. Very comfortable room excellent Leisure Facilities and the Hotel is very clean. Lovely Friendly Staff. Our next visit very soon.

Room Tip: We were in Room 121
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skippy083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We had a cheap deal to include a 6 course meal which was good. A few language problems at breakfast and someone was given our table while we were at the buffet!The leisure area was super but you had to go thru the reception into the gym to get to the water machine - there needs to be one in the pool area near the steam room and sauna.
Bedroom a bit dated but all cosy and a bit olde world. Ideal for a chill out. A couple of decent shops nearby but apart from that, it was like a ghost town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186284Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We too stayed on the Travelzoo deal but noticed that the hotel does a similar getaway deal for £99 which includes the 6 course taster menu and breakfast buffet.
There isn't really a lot we could fault.
For the money its great value and our experience was excellent.
From the outside I think it looks awful to be honest but maybe the dark green paint is some sort of tradition? I don't know. A neutral colour would obviously need more upkeep but would transform the look of the hotel from the outside and make it much more appealing. Inside it is very nice and our room was a good sized lovely refurbished room and new bathroom. We didn't have any time to use the leisure facilities but had a quick look and they looked fab.
Food was generally excellent although served a little too fast at times as we thought we would explode! A huge number of staff dealing with a huge number of people (mostly on the 'offer' I guess) and they did a fantastic job.... yes most were foreign, but all very polite, with excellent English, providing excellent service. Chicken was a bit dry and a bit 'heavy' for a taster menu but the other 5 courses perfect.
Breakfast was fantastic - constantly topped up with excellent quality produce. Again, lots of staff on hand who provided excellent service.
Yes the walls are a bit thin but we seemed to have neighbours only to one side on the side of the bathroom so we kept the bathroom door closed.
Would definately go again - was great value for what we got.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wishIcouldretire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

a really good couple of nights.
Nice room, friendly staff, good dinner and excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CERDIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews