We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and value.”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food and value.”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Utilising a travel voucher as I noticed most other residents on the day also did, made this an excellent value one night break. Executive room was very pleasant,comfortable and clean although it is a pity about the high windows which as my wife commented make it a bit cell like if your not tall . Food in the restaurant was real silver service and excellent. Breakfast too was not one of those buffet jobs which normally look a lot better than they taste. It was cooked individually with a very good choice to suit all tastes. Drinks in the bar were reasonably priced as was the wine .I am sure the town was very impressive in its Spa hay days but is a bit tired now. We did not get chance to try the spa facilities in the hotel but I understand they were first class. A MUST visit if you are at all into interesting houses and contents is The Hall at Abbey-Cwm-Hir only about 8 miles north . Take the two hour tour for £15 you will be fascinated.

Room Tip: Get upgraded past executive if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benno448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    431
    109
    34
    19
See reviews for
127
682
24
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, Wiltshire. U K
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We recently stayed at The Metropole for one night (including 6 course dinner, glass of champagne and full breakfast) on a Travelzoo deal for £99 which we felt was very good value for money. The dinner was lovely and breakfast (with local produce) was of excellent quality and quantity. All the staff we came across were very polite and helpful. All the young restaurant and bar staff seemed to be from Eastern Europe but spoke excellent English and delivered faultless customer service. I believe the duty Hotel Manager was also serving in the restaurant during evening dinner - it was great to see management staff 'mucking in' with hotel duties rather than just being in the office. The hotel is a huge Victorian building in the middle of town and has been run by the same family for over 100 years. Up-dating seems to be in progress with a light modern brasserie/bar at the front of the hotel and very smart spa with pool, gym and treatment rooms. I didn't use these facilites but would have liked to had we been there longer. Reception and corridors had a quaint traditional feel with old fashioned patterned wall paper which made it a little dark. We had a large quiet bedroom at the back of the hotel. The actual bedroom (125, I believe) was spacious, had a very comfortable bed and was spotlessly clean, however it would benefit from redecoration as the wallpaper was 'tired' with some stains in places and the two chairs in the bay window were very worn with some holes in the fabric. Our en-suite bathroom was superb and looked as if it had been recently re-furbished - bright, airy, very modern and with a great shower and lovely toiletries. We loved the tea/coffee making tray where the kettle base was incorporated into the stainless steel tray - a very nifty appliance! I would be happy to recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlooking the car park are likely to be quieter as a main road is directly at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolesusan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed here with my wife Easter Monday and Tuesday. Weather was dreadful, chucking it down on the Monday, but that was the only damper on proceedings. Reception at the front of the hotel which is a large Victorian building and large car park at rear. Reception welcoming and efficient. Room on second floor, 235, was plenty big enough looking out over the car park. Don't know if there would be any traffic noise at the front, but the town is not that busy.
We both thought the hotel was great and the 6 course dinner fabulous and well presented. Waiting staff attentive and amenable. Staying the two nights on the Travelzoo promotion we had the same meal both nights, which we were advised of when we booked. Don't care, it was so good I could have managed a third.
The breakfast on both mornings was up to the same standard with all you would expect, cold and hot buffets and all the juices and tea/coffee you could manage.
It is clear that a good deal of effort has gone in to keeping the hotel up to scratch with our room being clean and definitely fit for purpose. The bed was really comfortable even though it was two singles pushed together with a double topper on top. Towels were generous and good quality. Lashings of hot water which if anything was too hot!
The only problem we encountered was the toilet cistern which had an annoying habit of running continuously but this did not keep me awake. In fact it bothered me so little I forgot to mention it on checking out.
We were ideally situated for touring round that area of Wales and there are several National Trust properties within striking distance which we took advantage of. In fact we spent so much time out and about we never set food in the spa or pool.
Would have no problem recommending this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear overlooking car park are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeromeozeroone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We too have just returned from Travelzoo deal of £99 for 2 inc 6 course meal and glass of champagne -we booked 2 nights as we felt it was too far to travel just for 1 night and really glad we did.
Arriving on Easter Sunday we found the hotel very busy with a good buzz, checked in early to a nice sized very clean room.Enjoyed using the sauna/steam room/jacuzzi before changing for dinner -which we found to be pretty good (missed out the creme brulee -that was my idea of cutting down!) Reasonably priced wine list and ditto for coffee and licquers later in the brasserie.
Had couple of nice trips out -Judges lodgings at Presteigne was well worth a visit -how nice to visit a museum where you are encouaged to handle exhibits and sit on chairs etc.
Elan Valley was stunning and again well worth travelling to.
Breakfast on first morning was buffet style and of normal hotel standard, disappointed to see hefty supplement for smoked haddock or kippers though.
Second morning there weren't many guests and so we were all put in the conservatory and cooked breakfasts made to order.This was actually better because food was hot.
Majority of the staff appeared to be Eastern European -not a problem but not any chat or banter going on.
Overall all very good vaue and would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TugboatMidlandsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

Travelled to Llandrindod Wells over the Easter break.A stunning trip through the Welsh countryside.
We arrived around 12:30 pm knowing that our check in time was much later in the afternoon but once we handed our Travelzoo voucher in we were told our room was ready and if we wished we could go straight up.Parking was at the rear of the hotel and there are plenty of spaces. The staff on reception were polite and courteous.
The room was on the fourth floor ,large and freshly decorated with an ensuite complete with separate shower cubicle, masses of hot water and fluffy towels.
We went for a quick walk before lunch as we wanted to sample the food in the Brasserie ,the town is olde worlde and some shops are closed down but that's the same in lots of places.
Back to the Brasserie for a drink and a light lunch. The food was excellent and the service quick,we sat in the conservatory part of the restaurant overlooking a small park.
There is a great walk around the lake and parkside just a few hundred yards from the hotel and this we did during the afternoon.
The spa and pool is large and we had a swim and used the sauna and steam room.
The deal included the six course meal and a glass of champagne . The staff were attentive without being too intrusive, the meal was amazing value and the chicken main dish was enormous but every course was beautifully cooked and presented on the plates.
Breakfast was buffet style with the usual cereals and yoghurts , bacon ,eggs ,sausages, etc and a toast machine with a selection of different breads.
All in all it was a wonderful stay ,value for money,and we look forward to returning again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tezles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

we stayed for 3 nights and had a lovely break. we found it a good base for exploring wales. the room was great as it had a seperate area with bunkbeds for our 6 year old. she loved it as she had her own tv.
we ate in the brasserie and found the food good and varied.
the pool was lovely. large for a hotel pool.
nearby there is a lake where you can buy duck food. also near there is a really fun playground.
5 minutes drive away there is an indoor soft play area called quakers which was also really good.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Took advantage of Travelzoo offer for a birthday treat in an 'Executive' room, described as supplying bathrobe - I would have brought my own otherwise following surgery.

Six course meal excellent value, and very comfortable room, and bed in particular. One of the best we've had in a hotel.

Sadly the spa was disappointing; The young staff were not friendly when I went to book my treatment, and advised a £25 charge for the hire of a robe!! I queried this with reception (who, in contrast, were understanding and helpful), and they referred me on to the 'Duty Manager'.
All he did was to reiterate that there would be a £25 charge (FOR CLIENTS ON SPECIAL PACKAGE) to hire a bathrobe to come down to the spa from my room. I cancelled my treatment, and thought I would have a manicure instead. Rang spa to book, only to be told that no appointments were available ....

Not quite the pampering I had been looking forward to on this special birthday

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are onto a pleasant park, but also quite a busy road; we liked being in a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabellaWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
13.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
21.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing