We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't think of anything negative.”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed here with my wife Easter Monday and Tuesday. Weather was dreadful, chucking it down on the Monday, but that was the only damper on proceedings. Reception at the front of the hotel which is a large Victorian building and large car park at rear. Reception welcoming and efficient. Room on second floor, 235, was plenty big enough looking out over the car park. Don't know if there would be any traffic noise at the front, but the town is not that busy.
We both thought the hotel was great and the 6 course dinner fabulous and well presented. Waiting staff attentive and amenable. Staying the two nights on the Travelzoo promotion we had the same meal both nights, which we were advised of when we booked. Don't care, it was so good I could have managed a third.
The breakfast on both mornings was up to the same standard with all you would expect, cold and hot buffets and all the juices and tea/coffee you could manage.
It is clear that a good deal of effort has gone in to keeping the hotel up to scratch with our room being clean and definitely fit for purpose. The bed was really comfortable even though it was two singles pushed together with a double topper on top. Towels were generous and good quality. Lashings of hot water which if anything was too hot!
The only problem we encountered was the toilet cistern which had an annoying habit of running continuously but this did not keep me awake. In fact it bothered me so little I forgot to mention it on checking out.
We were ideally situated for touring round that area of Wales and there are several National Trust properties within striking distance which we took advantage of. In fact we spent so much time out and about we never set food in the spa or pool.
Would have no problem recommending this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear overlooking car park are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeromeozeroone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,187 - 1,193 of 1,367 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2012

We too have just returned from Travelzoo deal of £99 for 2 inc 6 course meal and glass of champagne -we booked 2 nights as we felt it was too far to travel just for 1 night and really glad we did.
Arriving on Easter Sunday we found the hotel very busy with a good buzz, checked in early to a nice sized very clean room.Enjoyed using the sauna/steam room/jacuzzi before changing for dinner -which we found to be pretty good (missed out the creme brulee -that was my idea of cutting down!) Reasonably priced wine list and ditto for coffee and licquers later in the brasserie.
Had couple of nice trips out -Judges lodgings at Presteigne was well worth a visit -how nice to visit a museum where you are encouaged to handle exhibits and sit on chairs etc.
Elan Valley was stunning and again well worth travelling to.
Breakfast on first morning was buffet style and of normal hotel standard, disappointed to see hefty supplement for smoked haddock or kippers though.
Second morning there weren't many guests and so we were all put in the conservatory and cooked breakfasts made to order.This was actually better because food was hot.
Majority of the staff appeared to be Eastern European -not a problem but not any chat or banter going on.
Overall all very good vaue and would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TugboatMidlandsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Travelled to Llandrindod Wells over the Easter break.A stunning trip through the Welsh countryside.
We arrived around 12:30 pm knowing that our check in time was much later in the afternoon but once we handed our Travelzoo voucher in we were told our room was ready and if we wished we could go straight up.Parking was at the rear of the hotel and there are plenty of spaces. The staff on reception were polite and courteous.
The room was on the fourth floor ,large and freshly decorated with an ensuite complete with separate shower cubicle, masses of hot water and fluffy towels.
We went for a quick walk before lunch as we wanted to sample the food in the Brasserie ,the town is olde worlde and some shops are closed down but that's the same in lots of places.
Back to the Brasserie for a drink and a light lunch. The food was excellent and the service quick,we sat in the conservatory part of the restaurant overlooking a small park.
There is a great walk around the lake and parkside just a few hundred yards from the hotel and this we did during the afternoon.
The spa and pool is large and we had a swim and used the sauna and steam room.
The deal included the six course meal and a glass of champagne . The staff were attentive without being too intrusive, the meal was amazing value and the chicken main dish was enormous but every course was beautifully cooked and presented on the plates.
Breakfast was buffet style with the usual cereals and yoghurts , bacon ,eggs ,sausages, etc and a toast machine with a selection of different breads.
All in all it was a wonderful stay ,value for money,and we look forward to returning again.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Tezles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

we stayed for 3 nights and had a lovely break. we found it a good base for exploring wales. the room was great as it had a seperate area with bunkbeds for our 6 year old. she loved it as she had her own tv.
we ate in the brasserie and found the food good and varied.
the pool was lovely. large for a hotel pool.
nearby there is a lake where you can buy duck food. also near there is a really fun playground.
5 minutes drive away there is an indoor soft play area called quakers which was also really good.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Took advantage of Travelzoo offer for a birthday treat in an 'Executive' room, described as supplying bathrobe - I would have brought my own otherwise following surgery.

Six course meal excellent value, and very comfortable room, and bed in particular. One of the best we've had in a hotel.

Sadly the spa was disappointing; The young staff were not friendly when I went to book my treatment, and advised a £25 charge for the hire of a robe!! I queried this with reception (who, in contrast, were understanding and helpful), and they referred me on to the 'Duty Manager'.
All he did was to reiterate that there would be a £25 charge (FOR CLIENTS ON SPECIAL PACKAGE) to hire a bathrobe to come down to the spa from my room. I cancelled my treatment, and thought I would have a manicure instead. Rang spa to book, only to be told that no appointments were available ....

Not quite the pampering I had been looking forward to on this special birthday

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are onto a pleasant park, but also quite a busy road; we liked being in a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsabellaWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Another travelzoo special, and I would echo many of the recent posts. The exec bedroom we had was large and the bathroom lovely with plenty of shelf space to put toiletries. The spa was very nice and the massage I had excellent (though the kitchen cooking smells come in via the ventilation, which needs to be addressed). The meal was not Welsh or "gourmet tasting" as the portions were standard-sized and there was a bit of a mass catering feel about it but really, for the money it was fantastic. Nice breakfast though I didn't eat from the hot buffet and again didn't seem very Welsh despite being locally sourced. The town is dull but the surrounding countryside stunning.

Room Tip: Exec room modern, spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosemaryE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Lovely old hotel right in the centre of town. Check in, quick and easy, dining options and spa information explained clearly. Very happy with our room and large modern bathroom. Having an indoor pool was an added bonus and a good size. Comparing the 6course meal with other recent stay and dine offers and for the same price range, you couldn't begin to compare, we personally thought it was below average, we also felt the same about the breakfast. This didn't spoil our stay and all in all had a lovely time in the Metropole hotel...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunsilk88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
11 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
929 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
243 reviews
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
651 reviews
0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
278 reviews
21.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range: $160 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing