We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort in Llandrindod Wells”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Stayed here for a Conference late February 2012. Classical Victorian style - nicely proportioned rooms and a lovely building. Comfortable room - mine was a single. Very clean and tidy; good bathroom with very good shower over the bath. Very friendly and helpful staff. Restaurant was comfortable and well-presented. The service staff were very attentive. Breakfast was up to standard - the usual choices of fruit juices, cereals, cooked breakfast etc. Very nice coffee! Plenty of parking to the rear of the hotel. A very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,212 - 1,218 of 1,367 reviews

Reviewed February 29, 2012

Just been to the Metropole hotel Llandridnod wells which is a picture of victorian style with high ceilings and very large rooms by todays standards, if you like places with character this and the town could be for you. It is like going back into a timewarp with large old buildings and an old fashioned high st.
The hotel itself was slightly faded elegance with stained glass windows and the food was excellant, better if there was no supplements on the fish at breakfast. If anything the waiting staff were a little too attentive during dinner which made us very slightly rushed, which is a change from long waits between courses that can happen elsewhere.
Would definitley go again to see the place with leaves on the trees up the Elan valley.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rasEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

A group of six of us decided to avail ourselves of an offer at this hotel which was being marketed through travelzoo. We arrived there mid afternoon to a warm helpful welcome from the receptionist & quickly settled in our clean, roomy ,well furnished rooms. The public areas were warm clean & furnished in an older classical style as befitted the building and town.
We had a six course dinner that evening [included in offer] with some very unusual & tasty items on the menu, Cooking & service was first class as was breakfast the following morning.
Breakfast was slightly marred by a confused [?] young waitress not allowing the six of us to sit together but this was really more amusing than annoying.
Taken all round this was a delightful break in a nice hotel in a nice town in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cambrian19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I booked the £99 break through travelzoo at the metropole. We were not in any way disappointed. We would definitely return. The food was excellent and well done to the hotel for supporting local businesses and good quality locally sourced food. The spa was very pleasant. We booked aromatherapy massages which were very good value. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: The tower room upgrade is worth the extra if you are planning a romantic trip. We requested an early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Like several other contributors we found the Groupon £99 deal of B&B with 6 course dinner (not forgetting the champers).This is a traditional family owned and run hotel that has kept pace with the world nestled in a small former spa town that hasn't. (The arrival of Tesco will probably see off the remaining independent retailers). Our room was very comfortable and surprisingly quiet during the night considering it faced onto the main street (and trunk road from Shrewsbury to Swansea).Nice bed with fluffy pillows and sparkling white towels (bath,and hand as well as floor mats). Immaculately clean with both bath and shower cubicle. Possibly the only drawback was that the water was tepid. Suspect it had to travel a long way from the boiler. Altogether the room was worth 8/10.

The evening taster menu (no choice though) was largely sourced from local producers and the hotel produces a small concertina leaflet listing all the producers it uses. Each dish was of 'nouvelle cuisine' size and style except for the main which was huge chicken breast. each course was well prepared and tasty and we we had eaten sufficiently by the end (9.5/10). The dinning room ambience was excellent with a satisfied clientele. All the waiter staff were attentive.

The breakfast included just about everything you might want (the English cooked part of really good lean bacon) and as much as you could eat from self service buffets (10/10).

The health spa (10/10)(good sized pool,jacuzzi,dry and steam rooms as well as gym) is modern and immaculate and can still be used after checking out (11.00am) in the morning. Nice towels again ,lovely showers with gel, hair and costume driers.Large FREE car park at rear so no hidden shocks there.

Criticisms? None apart from the bathroom water temperature. I've already said that the staff were all very attentive. It's a shame that more of them aren't local. This isn't a xenophobic rant. There appears to be very little employment in Llandrindod other than the hotel trade so why are nearly all the staff from eastern Europe (is it local intransigence, low wage rates or lack of training opportunities)?

In conclusion Lllandrindod is (these days) more of a transit stop on the way to somewhere else rather than a destination in it's own right. There is however miles of beautiful countryside to both west and east with some very good attractions so I would recommend the Metropole for that reason.Definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

My partner and I purchased the £99 voucher as a quick 1 night get away as it is only 1.5hrs from our home in Cardiff. I have been to conferences at the hotel over the years, and note improvements to the interior, including the bedrooms, restaurant areas and pool area. The main reception area is still a little old fashioned, but comfortable, warm and friendly. We made use of the pool, sauna and steam room, followed by the bar. As we were on the offer, we only looked at the Brasserie menu,but I must say it looked very tempting. Room was clean, warm and spacious. The queensize bed was extremely comfortable. The 6 course meal which was part of our package deal was served in the Radnor restaurant and was of a high standard, served over candlelight. The service wasy efficient and friendly. The champagne 'hit the spot' and if that was not enough, port was offered 'free of charge' with the cheese. Lovely end to the evening. Breakfast was 'help yourself' and again of a very good standard with all the food sourced locally. It was so easy to over induldge at Breakfast and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Overall, a very pleasant stay and well worth the money!!!!

Room Tip: The promotions are well worth snapping up, but be quick!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicky186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

The room I occupied was very small but adequate, clean but very basic
The reception staff where very pleasant and helpful. Water was cold so
couldn’t use the bath. Food was very good and to a high standard. ideal for Conferences.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
11 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
929 reviews
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
651 reviews
0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
278 reviews
21.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range: $160 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing