We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality in the Quiet”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llandrindod Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Great Trewern Bed and Breakfast
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quality in the Quiet”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

What a great little find!! Great Trewern was a a fabulous B&B off the main road, tucked away in a beautiful part of Wales. The room was spotless and very large with its own sitting area for watching a good sized TV. The bathroom was enormous!! Big double shower with a heated floor....what luxury, even better than home!! But better than all of this was the warm welcome we received from Liz and Brian into their cozy home(Brian even came and collected us from a local tearoom so we wouldn't get lost!). We took up the option of having a home cooked meal rather than going out and this was beautifully cooked by Liz. We had dinner with Liz and Brian which was just lovely- to be treated like friends not strangers! Breakfast was generous and delicious. We would highly recommend Great Trewern!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Corinne1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
20
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed for four nights in one of the best b&b's I have stopped in. Wonderful place to stay lovely family and will make a special effort to return in the near future. Very well recommended 10 out of 10

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToastToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed overnight at Great Trewern when cycling through mid-Wales. The quality of the welcome, location, accomodation and food was outstanding in every respect and I look forward to returning to stay with my family in the future. Liz and Brian have created something really special and I cannot recommend Great Trewern highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent a night with Brian and Liz following a friend's wedding nearby. Chose the Great Trewern as a result of proximity to the wedding, but are already planning a return! Wonderful hospitality and comfortable, warm rooms made for a delightful, if too brief, stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James_Gemmell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed at Great Trewern for two days while in mid Wales on business and would definitely recommend Great Trewern. Arriving late in the evening, a warm welcome and pot of tea from Liz set the scene for a memorable stay. Finding that I could not eat the home-made fruit cake as it had butter in it, next day a plate of dairy-free Welsh cakes awaited me. They were delicious.
I took the opportunity to follow one of the walks Liz and Brian recommended around the area and enjoyed seeing red kites circling overhead. Brian and Liz do all they can to make for a first-class stay in a delightful part of Wales - a friendly, clean and warm 'home from home'..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Having stayed at countless B&B's in our travels through the UK,staying with Brian and Liz at Great Trewern was buy far our greatest experience.Once you talk to them you feel the warm friendship, and they are considerate of your every need.The food is incredible, the fruit appears fresh picked that morning, the eggs just from the barn, the bacon just from the smokehouse and the coffee just ground and it keeps flowing as long as a coffee lover wants.The fact that we were served out on the front lawn on the hot days last May is something we boast about to friends.The home made treats in the room are incredible, and the small water chiller that appeared in the room on a hot day was a nice touch.The building is incredible and the property fantastic, Brian and Liz know word of mouth is the greatest advertisment for there B& B , and the great thing about it is , it all comes naturlly to them.. they are just great people and we need a lot more like them ,to make staying at B&B's a true pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BURWASH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Liz and Brian well deserve the excellent reviews they are receiving on Trip Advisor!! As a vegan I find it incredibly difficult to find a comfy bed with a decent breakfast in the UK. We booked the entire top floor, moved in for the night and never wanted to leave!! Even the coffee in the rooms is real!!
If you are vegetarian or vegan take Liz up on her offer of an evening meal. She doesn't charge much and the restaurants in nearby Llandrindod Wells do not cater for veggie heads!!
Breakfast was a delight. Liz gave me my very first taste of vegan yoghurt and it was delicious.
If you book for the top floor - watch your head!!!

Room Tip: The views from the top floor are heavenly!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
2.8 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
235 reviews
4.2 mi away
Three Wells Hotel
Three Wells Hotel
#2 of 5 in Howey
174 reviews
1.3 mi away
Guidfa House
Guidfa House
#1 of 2 in Crossgates
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Highland Moors Guest House
Highland Moors Guest House
#5 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
121 reviews
6.0 mi away
Penralley House
Penralley House
#1 of 13 in Rhayader
250 reviews
2.8 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Trewern Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Trewern Bed and Breakfast

Property: Great Trewern Bed and Breakfast
Address: Great Trewern Great Trewern | Llandegley, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5UF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Trewern is a 400 year old traditional farmhouse. The setting is rural but just a mile off the A44. The house is surrounded by farmland and hills. The views are fabulous. We welcome walkers, riders, cyclists or anyone wishing to relax. We are within easy access to Llandrindod Wells, Builth Wells, Rhayader and Knighton. We have a walking path that cuts across our own field and bridleways almost from our back door. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Great Trewern Bed And Breakfast Llandrindod Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing