We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome, comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Highland Moors Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, comfortable room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We received a warm and friendly welcome upon arrival from Sue Green who showed us to a spacious and comfortable ensuite room. Exactly what we had booked. The beds were so comfortable that we both fell asleep as our heads hit the pillows and did not wake up until the morning. The breakfast was freshly cooked and excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maesyfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    37
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
27
34
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

I recently spent some time here and found the room extremely gloomy. The lighting was poor; the decor tire with, furniture mismatched, cheap and old fashioned; washing my hair under the shower was very difficult due to the very poor stream of water; and the feather bedding was so noisy it woke me up at every turn though the bed itself was comfortable.

The cooked breakfast was very good but the cereal breakfast was in tupperware (!) containers and looked less than appealing although the fresh fruit was lovely and I even had thick yoghurt on one of the days but it was missing on the other days which was a shame.

I was there during the torrential rains of last week so that could have added to the general gloom but I'm glad I didn't spend any time other than sleep time in the bedroom.

The staff were very friendly enough but didn't "chat" to any of the guests that I was aware of.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 100JudyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackhampster2, Owner at Highland Moors Guest House, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
I am disappointed that this guest had a less than excellent experience at Highland Moors. As we were away ourselves at the time, we were not able to address any concerns which coudl have been voiced whilst they were here. Whilst we are constantly improving and upgrading all the time, we hope that a desk not matching a wardrobe & chest of drawers won't spoil your experience too much. On the up side, this room has recently been painted with new ensuite, new carpet and flat screen TV. See our Gallery picture, bottom right. The showers are fed from mains pressure throughout so we're not sure how the shower could have been low volume water.

Having just come back from Ireland, we constantly look at taking ideas and implementing them here. We use matching cereal containers for some cereals to keep them fresh, but we have added extra 4-5 choices in packets, a choice of 2-3 Bio Pots for greater choice of yogurt, and 4-5 extra sweet & savoury spread options including honey with cinammon, orange, lime marmalade, and peanut butter. We also add in croissants, & pastries options when guests are here for more than one night.

Come try us for youself. I know you will enjoy your stay at Highland Moors
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We visited Highland Moors for a Jubilee weekend break. Although the owners of the guest house were away themselves, Theresa did not fail to make us very welcome. The room we stayed in was very spacious and had lovely views of the fields and hills in the distance.

There was a good selection for breakfast which tasted great and could tell it was high quality produce. The only niggle was that they were out of Lava bread. Having never been to Wales before, I was slightly dissapointed I couldn't sample it. Other than that a fantastic stay! Oh and the bed was super comfy, I don't think me and my partner have ever slept so well!

Thank you for your hospitality, you have a beautiful place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Great location, good value and massive rooms. Nice and quiet, great place to stay with very helpful and friendly hosts!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

My husband and I were greeted at this Victorian spa hotel with a very warm welcome by the proprietors Jeff and Sue. The hotel has a fascinating history and enyoys nice views. Our room was clean, warm and spacious and the beds are incredibly comfortable. Best for me was the breakfast which included choices of 'lava bread omelette, full English and smoked kippers. We would certainly consider staying here again and can't recommend Highland Moors highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

You can be sure of a very warm welcome if you stay at this wonderfull victorian hotel.Jeff and Sue certainly go out of their way to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible. Great breakfasts and a spacious clean room with excellent ensuite shower room. If you have an interest cycling be sure to visit the National Cycling Museum in the town centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

This was our second stay at the Highland Moors (first one being 3yrs ago), and I'm pleased to say it's as good as it was then. The owners are very friendly & nothing is too much trouble. Our room (same as previous stay) was very spacious, warm & clean. A special mention has to be for the full English breakfast - one of the best we've had!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandrindod Wells hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Three Wells Hotel
Three Wells Hotel
#1 of 5 in Howey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Montpellier Hotel
The Montpellier Hotel
#25 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
1.1 mi away
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
#20 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Moors Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Moors Guest House

Property: Highland Moors Guest House
Address: Highland Moors Wellington Road, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5ND, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Moors Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 13 spacious rooms, including huge family rooms and elegant bay rooms with luxury walk-in shower en-suites. All rooms have flat screen TVs, hospitality trays, leather sofas/comfy chairs. The guest lounge offers evening comfort with sofas, real log fire, pool table and games. Outside there is a children's play and new decking area ready for the summer. There is plenty of free secure off-road parking space and a secure lockup for valuables such as motorbikes, mountain bikes and golfing equipment etc. Wifi and hardwired broadband points available free to help you keep in touch as you are traveling. We source the freshest, free range and local produce and offer a generous breakfast choice.We offer waffles with toppings for our younger or young at heart guests. Three course dinner options available with a minimum of four guests and with prior booking. Families and children needs catered for and are very welcome. Special mini-break offers available in the Winter. Highland Moors is ideal for conferences, meeting, training, retreats, functions, parties and a base to enjoy a huge range of outdoor adventure sports and activities. We are happy to put together a package for your group. Outdoor adventure activities in the area include: 4x4/off-roading and green laning, rally driving, golfing, shooting, fishing, mountain biking, cycling, horse riding, go-karting, trail bike riding, kayaking, sailing, canal boat trips, archery, classic car touring, canoeing, outdoor adventure centres and walking. Other attractions within easy access include the National Cycle Collection, Elan Valley, Powis Castle, Gigrin Farm Red Kite Feeding Centre, Spaceguard Centre, Silver Mines Experience, Dan-yr- Ogof Showcaves, Devil's Bridge, beach at Ynyslas/Borth, Abbeycwmhir Hall, Cantref Adventure Farm, Owl & Small Breeds Farm, Judges Lodging, Thomas Shop, Glansevern Gardens, Water-break-its-neck waterfall & woodland walk, Brecon Mountain Railway and others, Brecon Beacons & Pen-y-fan, Welsh Royal Crystal and Gilfach Farm longhouse and nature reserve.We are sure that you will enjoy your stay and we look forward to offering you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Highland Moors Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Moors Guest House Llandrindod Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing