We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“smart, convenient, welcoming and comfortable, highly recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ferryboat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ferryboat
Ranked #1 of 23 Fishguard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“smart, convenient, welcoming and comfortable, highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a lovely and very convenient place to stay. Very last minute booking, we were greeted on arrival and shown to a beautiful room. (With the loveliest crystal bedside lamps I've ever seen... seriously, worth staying there just to admire them...) Accommodation was spacious and had everything you could require, including ample work space and free Wifi. Parking is good, it is very close to the port but it was quiet. Breakfast was excellent with a good range of vegetarian options. The walk in shower is great for anyone with mobility problems. Room lighting flexible and well thought through. Bed very comfortable. We were made to feel extremely welcome. Coffee at breakfast was also excellent. The inn is also well signposted. Stayed with my mother, we are both really fussy in completely different ways and we both loved it. It has a lovely laid-back atmosphere with (I'll use the word yet again) excellent service. Cannot recommend the Ferry Boat highly enough.

Room Tip: The recently refurbished rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liz055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    76
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
36
165
38
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for one night with a group of friends for a walking break. The owners couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful (they leant us their own binoculars and told us where to find seals). The rooms were modern, smart and comfortable. The breakfast was very pleasant. I really can't fault it (though the website could do with a refresh as it doesn't do the place justice).

A pleasure to stay there, and I'd happily go back

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanwy-LW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed at the Ferry Boat Inn after Monday 27th after the 9pm ferry from Rosslare. Got to Inn for 0100hrs. Michelle was very effecient and had sent us the door pin code to access on arrival. Ther room was a welcome sight! Clean beds, very comfortable and the ensuite was small but clean and the shower was excellent. Breakfast the next morning was freshly made after a great selection of cereals and fruit juices. Brilliant place to stop and recharge the batteries before heading off on the road again for 6 hours! Definitely go back to stay here despite the odd train going past and there were very few and far between, certainly didn't keep us awake!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very welcoming owners, the room was a bit small but adequate for our needs, very well furnished with contemporary furnishings, a small but well appointed bathroom and excellent shower. A very comfortable dining room/ lounge withTV. A shame that the owner was unable to cook dinner due to medical reasons as we think the cuisine would have been excellent. To be recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandalwood40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just stayed at the Ferryboat Inn at Fishguard whilst visiting the area for a wedding. This is a top place to stay in the area, providing excellent value for money. There are lots of other options in the area but we had a great stay for two nights. The room was recently refurbished to a high standard with a beautiful wet room. We had the family room on the ground floor which was a large room with an extra bed. Facilities in the room were everything you would expect and breakfast was fantastic. The hosts were really helpful and informative about the area. The restaurant was closed during our visit but we were pointed in the right direction of local places to eat. I would definitely recommend the Ferryboat if staying in this beautiful area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in the downstairs double room. It was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was really nice and cooked to perfection. Michelle recommended The Shed at Porthgain for our evening meal,which was about 20 minutes drive, but well worth it if you like fish dishes! She even went to the trouble of booking a table for us. The couple could not be more accommodating. There is a supermarket 10 mins walk away and en route to the coastal path if you needed to stock up on anything.

Room Tip: We booked through a holiday company who take your luggage on to your next destination so that's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in the twin room as a base for the Coastal Path walk. A good breakfast, friendly owners, but rather let down by the bedroom. For anyone staying more that one night and not wanting to live out of their suitcase, the clothes hanging space for two was minimal – the wooden hangers almost filled the available space before clothes were put on them. Just a couple of small bedside table drawers for jumpers, socks etc.

In the bathroom, the shaving light didn't work but was advised by a member of staff to "give it a knock". It worked after that, but surely better to fix the loose connection.

The Ferryboat displays a 'Walkers Welcome' sticker on the door. This scheme guarantees
• a separate place to dry outdoor clothing and footwear
• an early breakfast (from 7a.m.)
• clothes washing facilities.

To be fair, we didn't ask for any of these, but they weren't evident, but would have been useful. We were told the breakfast was from 08.30, which meant catching a later bus to the start of the walk. The radiators were turned off so no chance of rinsing out a pair of walking socks to dry by morning.

All small points I know, but as a holiday base, a bit disappointing. As an overnight stay before catching the ferry, a great place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louthrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fishguard
0.8 mi away
Fishguard Bay Hotel
Fishguard Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goodwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cartref Hotel
Cartref Hotel
#2 of 4 in Fishguard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Seaview Hotel
The Seaview Hotel
#3 of 4 in Fishguard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
6.8 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Ivybridge Guest House
Ivybridge Guest House
#1 of 2 in Goodwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ferryboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ferryboat

Property: The Ferryboat
Address: Manor Way | Dyffryn, Goodwick, Fishguard SA64 0AE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Fishguard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Fishguard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ferryboat 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Guest Accommodation near the Pembrokeshire Coast Path. All rooms are en-suite with free wifi, hospitality tray and flat screen TV. Ideal for walkers, cyclists, business guests, short stays and overnight stays for ferry passengers. Owned by husband and wife team of Denham and Michele Gregory. We now have 2 ground floor rooms, one of which is wheelchair accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Ferryboat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ferryboat Fishguard, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing