We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing last minute holiday”
other travelers have booked this property
Two large ponds border the cottage with views across the Gwaun Valley to Dinas Mountain
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Two large ponds border the cottage with views across the Gwaun Valley to Dinas Mountain
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Two large ponds border the cottage with views across the Gwaun Valley to Dinas Mountain
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Fishguard, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Meg411
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing last minute holiday”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A beautiful cottage in an unbelievable location. Relaxing week away - great for walking and close to the coast. Couldn't have asked for more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBandKB
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful accommodation”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A lovely barn conversion in an idyllic location - very peaceful with amazing views across the valley. Highly recommended for a holiday or weekend break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_Fri...
Delfgauw, The Netherlands
1 review
“A perfect, relaxed week”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My husband and I stayed for a week in this very nice cottage. It is a perfect place to relax (very quiet and green surroundings) and to explore Pembrokeshire. The cottage is very well equipped (kitchen, bathroom) and the jacuzzi in the conservatory is a nice luxurious extra! (probably more so on cold, chilly days; we had the good fortune to have sunshine most of the time, so we had diner on the porch, also very nice!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location (quiet & green)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 21, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cyclohexy...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dovecote was by far the best of all the many cottages we have ever rented.”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

While we were on holiday in Dovecote recently my wife and I decided that it was the best of all the cottages we have ever rented in SW Wales. It was warm, cosy and very well equipped, but the main attraction was that the whole place was so peaceful and relaxing. There was a large and comfortable conservatory in which we could simply read a book or magazine if we wished, or just sit and watch the wide variety of birds which visited the pond a few yards away. Several times we saw buzzards and the local pair of red kites circling overhead. Relaxing in the 2-person jacuzzi was absolute bliss! However, when we occasionally felt in need of some exercise we were able to take a stroll in the nearby woods of the beautiful Gwaun Valley. The whole week was both enjoyable and very relaxing, and we would most certainly like to go there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Difficult to say, because everything was first class.
Liked least: Packing up to come home!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poorpigle...
Warwick
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 for a stay in November 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed making the transition from 39 to 40 at this beautiful location during Nov 2014. The barn has been renovated to the highest standard with all the luxury extras you could ask for. With fantastic views, tranquility and even a welcome bottle of bubbly in the fridge we couldn't have asked for more. Not to mention the fantastic spa bath! Hope to return again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

This was our second stay at Dovecote. We had spent a week there the previous Summer and have also booked for the coming Spring!
Peace and tranquility away from the stresses of modern life. Wonderful walks and plenty to see nearby but you don't need to leave the cottage if you don't want to!
Really clean and well equipped. Perfect for 2! We spent hours and hours in the conservatory bird watching an squirrel watching. we saw a heron who visited daily, buzzards, red kites and many other bird species. We took fantastic photos of birds in action.
Little extras, provided by the owners make it a terrific stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the conservatory and surroundings
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2013
We're so glad you've enjoyed Dovecote so much. We've not seen him ourselves but we've had reports that an otter has also been visiting the ponds. Keep an eye out the next time you stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing