We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bodelwyddan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in a signature room. It was spotless and amenities were great including a fridge. There was an entertainment team providing activities during the day and there was a resident band and the team provided shows - the best evening entertainment we have experienced in a long time. The food was excellent with carveries each night or menus served to your table if you wished. The staff were excellent and very friendly. The castle had lots to offer, some lovely walks and very close to seaside resorts and other attractions. We got a 50% off deal and therefore it was good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynneon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    473
    174
    71
    61
See reviews for
120
820
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Returned to Bodelwyddan after initial stay last year. Very much the same as expected. Excellent location in the historic buildings and grounds, and a great base for day trips. A wide range of activities, and all sections of staff ( Entertainment, bar, restaurant, reception etc) are super-friendly and helpful. Food is good, and the room was comfortable and clean (Although I know several wheelchair users had issues re access). The gym, pool and sauna are a big bonus. My only gripes would be in the form of drinks prices, which still make me wince, and a preference for longer restaurant hours (would prefer a later option than 8.00pm). A range of real ales(at a reasonable price) would top things off. I know the place is aimed at a certain age-group (!), but overall though, the Mon-Fri is still excellent value.

Room Tip: Discuss preferences fully when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dingleval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had 3 night weekend break 21st June and thoroughly enjoyed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The grounds are beautiful and extensive, plenty to do, putting green, bowls, pool, gym and walking in the garden, also the castle museum & gallery which was very enjoyable. The food was good and also the entertainment. Saturday night ray Ennis & the blue jeans were excellent. We did find that many of the other guests were older than us (we are in our 40's) but that certainly didn't bother us. We had patio room which was good, no issues. we would certainly return for weekend break and have no hesitation recommending to friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank courtney j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Excellent five day break at Bodelwyddan.
I'm always fair and honest in my reviews and can highly recommend a stay at Bodelwyddan Castle. I was a little apprehensive at staying in North Wales but we felt a million miles away from Rhyl.
Our room was immaculate, the bathroom very nice & water termperature perfectly controlled by the high quality tap fittings, our room based on ground floor opposite reception yet total peace & quiet. The beds so comfy we didn't want to get out!!
The food was delicious, very well presented and cooked to perfection. The waiter service is excellent (especially thanks to our waiter Matt, who deserves a mention) and there is a self service choice if anyone prefers.The menu was changed daily and nothing repeated in the 5 days we were there.
We are in our early 60's and enjoyed every second in this tranquil setting. The vast grounds are superbly maintained & only on the last day did we discover how extensive the grounds are, a maze, aviary etc. The indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room & gym is very clean & loungers placed under the glass roof ensure warmth & comfort.
The location makes it easy to drive to other places of interest. We found Newborough Warren on Anglesey truly lovely. There are plenty of picnic areas set amongst pure nature.
Just one thing worth mentioning; Bodelwyddan isn't ideal for younger people. There were no guests under 50 & there seemed to be a lot of group bookings for the disabled.
We'll certainly return to stay at Bodelwyddan Castle next year, if not sooner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Please do not visit this hotel if you haven't received a telegram from the Queen. My wife and I had booked in for 2 nights but left after one. Meal times are early so you can make the bingo, swiftly followed by mind numbing cabaret. The staff are very attentive especially after my wife was electrocuted by the hairdryer in the room (burnt finger and blown electrics!!). I was still asked to pay upon checkout, which was later refunded after complaining. It's a shame that the hotel is catering only for the elderly, it's a lovely building in a lovely location. Bad experience and not for me.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eviladj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our recent stay, our 1st at this hotel. We have stayed at other Warner sites and this one in North Wales takes some beating. The whole experience from arrival to departure was exceptional. All the staff were so friendly and hard working, nothing was too much trouble. Excellent facilities, delicious food and plenty to see and do during the day, quizzes, nature walks including historical talk en route regarding the history of the building and the surrounding area; dancing classes and games. Our ground floor room with patio was very comfortable and clean with en suite shower and complimentary shower cream, hand cream etc. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: the patio room in the separate wing was very quiet and conveniently close to the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiepuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biggin hill
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just returned from 4 night stay, nice room with patio and the staff gave us the comfortable outside chairs rather than the smallish ones provided. lovely bathroom ,great shower.great grounds with plenty to walk or sit. Spa dissapointing- the carpet in the waiting area was very dirty, the pool small but the therapists were great, (a bit unprofessional with their chit chat).the breakfast fabulous the evening dinner could be more than the "carvery" but most people enjoyed it.Everybody was cross about the tea/coffee now being charge for at the end of the meal.Entertainment was as expected and the gallery bar horrible.overall we enjoyed ourselves but maybe wont return here. my favorite is Thoresby hall.Staff were all very nice

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snadraisabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodelwyddan
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
12.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel

Property: Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel
Address: Bodelwyddan, Denbingshire, North Wales, Bodelwyddan, Rhyl LL18 5YA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl > Bodelwyddan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bodelwyddan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning Grade II listed Historic Hotel has walled gardens, sweeping lawns and ivy clad turrets. Soak up the rolling Welsh hillsides, or take in the scenery from the top of nearby Snowdon. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing