We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Englishwoman's home is her Welsh castle...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bodelwyddan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I love this place. I love the location, the castle folly, the art collection, the acres of beautiful grounds. The staff are first rate. The rooms are nice and if you upgrade to royale or historic rooms - they can be exceptional.
Now the first time I stayed here was as a guest of Warners - at their invitation rather than my expense. Our Signature room was fine but didn't have the wow factor of the royales I've booked at my own expense since. Get invited to join the Concierge club and you'll get a really decent discount on upgrades - and other goodies such as gift shop and other purchases. The castle's royale rooms are akin to suites, and tucked within the historic quarter. Our's had its own entrance hall. Some have four poster beds. All have marvellous views. We also got a Disney parade of bird and squirrels in pursuit of biscuits from the welcome tray. That room - and you're not getting the number because I want it back - has steps leading directly out to the grounds. Handy for when you're sat watching telly and suddenly see hungry birdies watching from the window sill - now when's that Hitchcock film The Birds coming on?
Service great, resident entertainers good - although bingo for pity's sake? - housekeeping helpful and obliging although we got let down with toiletries not being replenished ... and yes we had used them and not stashed them. We were there four nights although left after three because of the weather (heavy snow) closing in. The birds were honing their beaks in expectation...
Only disappointment? The food. By night predominantly. Not as good as it has been in previous years, rock hard roasties and the like, insufficiently defrosted elements, scrappy like carvery slices ...so needs a bit of TLC. The service was excellent but we gave the food a miss after two nights. Breakfasts were fine. And given that the main event is dinner - it's a huge factor in determining a return. Which is a shame as we both love the place.

Room Tip: Upgrade. It's worth the extra.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janarchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,447)
There are newer reviews for Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,162 - 1,168 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

Had a long weekend here, never been before and fancied the no children rule. We were a little apprehensive about the age group but we needn't have been as it was a good mixed age group.
Plenty to do if you want to or just relax and chill. Entertainment in the evening was good and was great to watch all the guests enjoying the different dances.
All the employees work really hard and nothing is too much trouble.
The all inclusive drinks package was a bonus and saved us a lot of money on drinks.
Food was very nice, not as good as we thought it would be but was adequate. If there was nothing on the menu you fancied there is always the carvery to fall back on.
Full breakfast included and loads of choice.
Wouldn't hesitate to go back or try another Warner Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jumbocod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just been on a girls weekend had a fabulous time the food was lovely we had huge choice the entertainment brilliant the coffee shop was a lovely place to go after swimming or a walk round the grounds we had salsa lessons which were free the tutor was patient and made you feel at ease the staff are all helpful and friendly nothing is to much trouble we had a royale room where we all meet before going for tea the hotel team provided enough cups wine glasses and tea coffee and biscuits to keep an army going which was appreciated by us all fabulous place to stay there was a good mix of ages who were all friendly and would stop and chat if you haven't tried Warner before give it a go our weekend cost £144 per person with inclusive drinks and Half board we will be booking for next year

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suelou62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend all inclusive break from here and I can only say thank you to Warners for the great time that we had. We had a signature room and found it better than some rooms we have had in alleged 5 star hotels. The bed was huge, bathroom and shower was excellent, plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, a fridge in the room stocked with bottles of water, a decent size television and a beautiful view across the Welsh hills (covered in snow). There are lots of facilities available for guests, too many to list, but just look on the internet. The all inclusive bar included top branded beers and spirits, Tetley bitter, Carlsberg lager, Famous Grouse, Gordons, Smirnoff etc., unlike many A.I. deals where they often serve inferior brands. Entertainment was first class in the evenings and there were numerous activities throughout the day. The food was very good with a wide choice available at each mealtime, a special mention here for our waitress, Cara, she was absolutely great and nothing was too much trouble for her and she really went out of her way to make the guests feel welcome. All of the staff were equally helpful and professional and helped to make our stay so enjoyable. This was our first experience of Warners but it will most definately not be our last.

Room Tip: room 516 is excellent.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patandmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Had a short break & friends joined us who hadn't stayed at Warner's for 12 years - they couldn't believe the excellent facilities available free & the lovely grounds & views.We did the estate walk with Bob(very informative & friendly) & the walk to the marble church. The guys became "Zorro's" with Liam's excellent coaching in fencing! Archery, rifle shooting, ten pin bowling on the wii fit, indoor boules & bowling in the indoor facility (thanks malcolm), swimming,sauna were enjoyed by us 4....but you do have to get your names down early. Our friends had a sleepless night due to noise from the pump room & were given a new room immediately & were very impressed by the way the staff handled their complaint- our room was like a ballroom! The food in the restaurant was good & our waitress Tania very polite & efficient. We believe that the entertainment's team were pretty new ....we watched them hard at rehearsals, but the shows were pretty poor compared to recent trips to Alvaston & Thoresby.....sound quality was bad too. We had a bit of a banter with Fletch, in the Elwy-don't think he minded & we liked his teasers! Only other gripe was that there wasn't any "Do you Warner dance" workshops as advertised....after we had persuaded our friends to have a go! What happened Warner's? You must go in the museum(if it is open), which is free to hotel guests....very interesting. Great holiday! Can't wait for the next one!

Room Tip: If you require a disabled room make sure that all the facilities you need are there...ie walk in sho...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taichitilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

3 night stay at this wonderful castle, set in beautiful grounds with great views. Loads of activities laid on by the hotel and great for visiting the north Wales coast. We set our own pace and enjoyed evertything. Food and Service excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

this hotel is built within the castle walls it has ideal surroundings ,we only had a standard room but very spacious clean had everything you needed and was very comfortable.we stayed weekend 28th October when the rolling stones tribute band were on and very enjoyable it was too.the food was excellent,entertainment great,the staff very helpful and friendly on the A 55 so handy to jump on if you wanted to visit other places in Wales we enjoyed it so much have rebooked to return in February.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maturecouple186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodelwyddan
4.4 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
375 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
612 reviews
4.3 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
363 reviews
13.0 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
2.9 mi away
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in St. Asaph
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel

Address: Bodelwyddan, Denbingshire, North Wales, Bodelwyddan, Rhyl LL18 5YA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl > Bodelwyddan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bodelwyddan
Price Range: $103 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning Grade II listed Historic Hotel has walled gardens, sweeping lawns and ivy clad turrets. Soak up the rolling Welsh hillsides, or take in the scenery from the top of nearby Snowdon. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing