We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beerlanders of Talybont”
Review of Bistro Bermo

Bistro Bermo
Ranked #1 of 61 Restaurants in Barmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beerlanders of Talybont”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Twelve of us enjoyed fantastic food and excellent service - nothing was too much trouble. Emma and the team even opened early just to accommodate us on a Saturday evening. This was the first time as a group we have eaten here but certainly not the last - we are now planning our next visit and Christmas is a given (promise we'll book early Emma!).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    40
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Talybont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have visited the Bistro a number of times, consistently good food and not silly prices. To not try it is to miss out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect way to end a perfect holiday”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

It wouldn't be Barmouth without fish and chips, but at the other end of the culinary spectrum is Bistro Bermo. The food and service are superb with real attention to detail. Every effort has been made to select high quality, local ingredients which are prepared with love and care.
Can't recommend enough

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank siank1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Having read other reviews of this little restaurant on here we booked it for our anniversary whilst on holiday in Barmouth. It was excellent from start to finish. The bread that appeared initially was delicious, with beetroot and apple pieces in so it was quite an unusual flavour. The rest if the meal similarly didn't disappoint. The menu was slightly different from that online but all that we ordered was well cooked and had well balanced flavours and textures. There was only 1 vegetarian main course on the menu but it was really good, clearly the chef can cook so as long as you like the ingredients it'll be a great dish. I would particularly recommend the white chocolate parfait for dessert! The waitress had a tricky job as the restaurant is tiny with nowhere to hide but she struck just the right balance, attentive but not at all pushy. I'd definitely eat here again if we're ever back in Barmouth.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Danby29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This restaurant really is a little gem. The restaurant is very small with only fourteen covers but the food is exquisite. The chef is really skilled and is more than familiar with fine dining. Every course was delicious and beautifully presented. The flavours were wonderful and the seasoning perfect which is not always the case in some of the high end restaurants. Stars of the night were the pork belly and the lamb both expertly executed. The front of house gave very good service and the gaps between courses just right. The wines were very well chosen and very reasonably priced. This chef will go far and we will follow. Good luck to the young owners. Well done.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Bermo also viewed

Barmouth, Gwynedd
 
Barmouth, Gwynedd
 

Been to Bistro Bermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing