We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly relaxing”
Review of Richmond House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Richmond House
Ranked #5 of 24 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Truly relaxing”
Reviewed May 15, 2010

We stayed at Richmond House for 3 nights as a base for exploring Snowdonia. Our hosts could not have looked after us better - a pot of tea and a chat when we arrived, local knowledge about the town, very filling breakfasts - all combined to make our stay truly relaxing. The location is great and plenty of off-street parking; the hotel is pleasantly decorated and extremely quiet - very much a place to return to.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looptail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    10
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
102
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Stayed for just one night. Our room was the last available but not a sea view. It was however a descent size and had a really big en suite . Really good standard of comfort. Good location in the centre. Lovely views out to sea and telescope in the lounge that was open to guests to assist. Very friendly hosts but not over the top. Excellent breakfast. Would definately revisit if we were in the area. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanGT96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Yep this place did the job nicely for us and we'd come again. Good big room with view of the sea. Bathroom also good size, with the bath and shower having new decent quality fittings. No complaints about the hot water either. The proprietors get a good balance of friendliness that doesn't tip over into intrusiveness that I find you quite often get with B&Bs. I didn't quite get the other rave reviews here about the breakfast, as I thought it was fine but nothing particularly special. No complaints there though. Two small minuses: you have to get milk from the proprietors each day for tea in bed in the morning. It's nice to have fresh milk of course, but meant that we missed out one day. Maybe they could let you at the fridge (or maybe they do but forgot to mention?). I did also detect a bit of a 'doggy' smell on the ground floor that's a little off putting, but you don't get that on second and third floors where rooms and breakfast rooms are.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ringModulator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Room not serviced during our stay other than a tidy up of the tea tray! (No bed made)
Oh that doggy smell on the ground floor. (Sorry Oscar)
Very friendly and helpful and a superb breakfast. Good central location.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrummieMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondHouse, Owner at Richmond House, responded to this review, August 28, 2010
Thank you for the feed back on your visit to Richmond House. I’m sorry that you felt that we didn’t service the room – typically we check the levels of the soaps and bath gels etc, make sure that guests have spare toilet roll, check to see if any new towels are required, and replace cups/glasses and replenish the tray as necessary – and do anything else that we think needs doing. However, if guests leave items on the bed, then we won’t make it as people sometimes don’t like us to ‘mess’ with their belongings.

As we point out on our website, Oscar is a dog - so when he decides to jump in the sea and cool down (as many guests do!!) it takes him a while to dry out. However, he lives in our part of the house – but does need to pass through the main hallway. If you walk into the house within a few minutes of him (post-swim), I suspect that you’ll know he’s been out enjoying himself. However, he’s not allowed upstairs into the B&B guest areas – indeed we have had guests who have dog allergies who have been unaware of his presence for their entire stay.

Once again, thank you for your feedback – we will definitely take on board your comments and review the way we do things.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights with my sister, cant praise it enough. The rooms were lovely and it was run by a very nice friendly couple. The breakfasts were to die for!!! Ideal spot for sightseeing and relaxing, shops and restaurants were close by, surely cant be a better place to stay in Barmouth

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkieEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poynton, Cheshire.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

Just stayed for 2 nights & really enjoyed our stay at this delightful B&B. Lovely room, clean, fantastic big boys breakfast run by a lovely couple.

Totally recommended with Oscar the chocolate lab & the two cats providing the entertainment. Central location for everything in Barmouth & the area.

You won't go far wrong staying here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiecestershire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Our 2 night stay was just what we needed.. On arrival we were met and offered a cup of tea which we took in the garden. This was exceptionally welcome after a long drive on a warm day!

The owners were very friendly and could not do enough for you (without being OTT). As we are not used to public transport they were very helpful advising us where bus stopped to enable us to walk back to Barmouth along the Mawddach trail.

The bedroom and bathroom was a nice size, with plenty of room to move about, and furnished very tastefully. As we have tended to stay in larger chain hotels in the past I had little experience of smaller establishments I used past guest reviews, although favourable I was still pleasantly surprised by Richmond House.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moeyowey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
206 reviews
1.8 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#2 of 24 in Barmouth
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Tilman
The Tilman
#9 of 24 in Barmouth
43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crystal House
Crystal House
#11 of 24 in Barmouth
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond House

Property: Richmond House
Address: Richmond House High Street, Barmouth LL42 1DW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richmond House is a large Victorian town house with three large double guest bedrooms with en-suites. Situated in the centre of Barmouth, we are only a two-minute walk from the beach, several excellent restaurants and pubs, and the railway station. Barmouth is on the Western edge of the Snowdonia National Park, with walking, mountain biking and a range of other activities available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Richmond House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond House Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing