We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect!”
Review of Richmond House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Richmond House
Ranked #7 of 23 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We decidet to have a break on the spur of the moment and this was the first place we rang. I am so glad it was! The owners had had a no show and were able to accommodate us. The room was homely with a stunning view of the coast. Everything we needed was in the room. The bed was huge, the bathroom was great with a decent shower and I bath. Breakfast was delicious with everything you could ask for and very attentive service from the lovely couple who own it. We had planned to stay one night but ended up staying for two as we enjoyed the break so much and the accommodation was the icing on our cake! It was located in an excellent place as well being right in the centre of gown with viewsof the sea. We will definately return and can heartily recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for Richmond House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 161 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night here in Nov 12 at the recommendation of a nearby Alastair Sawday owner who was full. The owners couldn't have been more welcoming, friendly and professional. Nothing was too much trouble. Moreover this well positioned B&B in the centre of town is the perfect base for the plethora of local activities and attractions. I'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paparabbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed one night in early November at this clean well decorated homely guest house. Room spacious, clean and we had a sea view. Very comfortable accommodation with very kind service. We will be back in August.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hungarian76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Very clean and tastefully decorated. Very friendly couple who made us feel at home. Nothing too much trouble.Have stayed at various other guest houses in the location and nothing else comes close. Will definitely be back and have already made recommendations to friends :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 85Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and were very impressed. Great welcome by owner on arrival, very friendly and helpful. Room was large, clean and comfortable. Huge bathroom with both bath and lovely corner shower. We didn't have a sea view but our view of the hills behind Barmouth and the HIgh Street was fine. Excellent location right on the HIgh Street which you may think would make it a bit noisy but it was actually really quiet and no disturbances to sleep at all. Having the free parking was also a really good perk. Lots of pubs/restaurants within a couple of minutes walk. Great breakfast with fab views over the beach. Nothing too much trouble, we were even able to use their fridge to chill our wine! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My family stayed at Richmond House last month as a trip down memory lane for us. Everything here was fantastic - Dylan and Nicky are great hosts, very friendly people and nothing is too much trouble for them. Thank you to Nicky who helped us out with a medical matter - your help, concern and friendliness was much appreciated. Great, delicious breakfasts, fabulous location and rooms and comfort made our stay very enjoyable. Thank you again, Nicky and Dylan. (Oh and gorgeous Milly, the chocolate lab - tried to sneak her into our car at the end of our stay but it didn't work!) A great place to stay - we would highly recommend Richmond House.

Room Tip: There aren't many rooms but the ones overlooking the sea and beach are great. (first floor)
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spanishgirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was our second visit to Richmond House, a warm welcome and just as good as last time. The breakfast is excellent, couldn't ask for more, and appreciated the Hot Chocolate being replenished every day. Off street parking sets Richmond House apart from many other B&B's, as the streets can get busy, and the car parks expensive. It's certainly the place to go in Barmouth.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin_Coventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#1 of 23 in Barmouth
161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#3 of 23 in Barmouth
271 reviews
1.8 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond House

Address: Richmond House High Street, Barmouth LL42 1DW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range: $115 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richmond House is a large Victorian town house with three large double guest bedrooms with en-suites. Situated in the centre of Barmouth, we are only a two-minute walk from the beach, several excellent restaurants and pubs, and the railway station. Barmouth is on the Western edge of the Snowdonia National Park, with walking, mountain biking and a range of other activities available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Richmond House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond House Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing