We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accommodation, great location, very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Richmond House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Richmond House
Ranked #4 of 24 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great accommodation, great location, very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and were very impressed. Great welcome by owner on arrival, very friendly and helpful. Room was large, clean and comfortable. Huge bathroom with both bath and lovely corner shower. We didn't have a sea view but our view of the hills behind Barmouth and the HIgh Street was fine. Excellent location right on the HIgh Street which you may think would make it a bit noisy but it was actually really quiet and no disturbances to sleep at all. Having the free parking was also a really good perk. Lots of pubs/restaurants within a couple of minutes walk. Great breakfast with fab views over the beach. Nothing too much trouble, we were even able to use their fridge to chill our wine! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    9
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
96
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

My family stayed at Richmond House last month as a trip down memory lane for us. Everything here was fantastic - Dylan and Nicky are great hosts, very friendly people and nothing is too much trouble for them. Thank you to Nicky who helped us out with a medical matter - your help, concern and friendliness was much appreciated. Great, delicious breakfasts, fabulous location and rooms and comfort made our stay very enjoyable. Thank you again, Nicky and Dylan. (Oh and gorgeous Milly, the chocolate lab - tried to sneak her into our car at the end of our stay but it didn't work!) A great place to stay - we would highly recommend Richmond House.

Room Tip: There aren't many rooms but the ones overlooking the sea and beach are great. (first floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spanishgirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was our second visit to Richmond House, a warm welcome and just as good as last time. The breakfast is excellent, couldn't ask for more, and appreciated the Hot Chocolate being replenished every day. Off street parking sets Richmond House apart from many other B&B's, as the streets can get busy, and the car parks expensive. It's certainly the place to go in Barmouth.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin_Coventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

A second visit to Richmond House. We received a very warm welcome, with a pot of tea , in the lounge. It was just as good as we remembered from last year. The room was very clean, with tea and coffee making facilities. The breakfasts were excellent. On the third morning I opted for the Toasted bagel, beautifully scrambled egg, and plenty of smoked salmon. Nothing was too much trouble to make our stay enjoyable. We are booked for a shorter stay at the end of September.

Room Tip: The Bala is a very nice room, with a VERY large bed and lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crewe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Dylan and nicky were suberb host's, made us feel very welcome, at home. Nicky makes a mean breakfast with plenty of choice to suit all taste's. View's of barmouth were second to none. Room's were spotless with a fab lounge to sit in to read a book or just watch the world pass by.

Room Tip: pay abit extra and you get extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-On-Trent
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We arrived at Richmond House about 4 hours early for check in, and went to the hotel to ask if we could use the carpark until check in time, and were surprised to hear we would be able to check in right away! We were greeted by Nicky the owner who was extremely welcoming and chatty, and showed us to our room. We asked if it was possible to have a sea view room, and were moved as they had the space to do so, with no troubles at all. The room was big and the bed was very comfy. Everywhere was clean and fresh and we had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was delicious, the only disappointing part was not being first down to breakfast (the best sea view window table was already taken) We were made to feel welcome and at home throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble, and we felt like we had known Nicky for ages by the time we left! We would highly reccomend this lovely elegant B+B to everyone. If you book this place, you will not regret it. Thanks again to Nicky for being a great host!

Room Tip: Sea view room has slightly smaller bathroom but welll worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We have been going for years, Nicky & Dylan are very welcoming, with loads of info about the local area, the breakfasts are fab and rooms modern, spacious and clean. There is great parking and it's in a fab location, Great!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dickielove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#1 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lawrenny Lodge
Lawrenny Lodge
#5 of 24 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#3 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond House

Property: Richmond House
Address: Richmond House High Street, Barmouth LL42 1DW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richmond House is a large Victorian town house with three large double guest bedrooms with en-suites. Situated in the centre of Barmouth, we are only a two-minute walk from the beach, several excellent restaurants and pubs, and the railway station. Barmouth is on the Western edge of the Snowdonia National Park, with walking, mountain biking and a range of other activities available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Richmond House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond House Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing