We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely night out”
Review of Ty'r Graig Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely night out”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We are locals who wanted a nice meal out and I can say that we had a lovely evening. The food was delicious and the staff were more than helpful. We ate in the conservatory with wonderful sea views and a beautiful sunset. I can fully recommend this place for a lovely evenings experience and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rstuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hello rstuk

It was good to meet you last week, and we're so pleased you enjoyed yourselves. It sounds as if you had a perfect evening, and we hope to see you again soon. Thanks for your recommendation.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    113
    40
    16
    7
See reviews for
32
297
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at the "castle" for 2 nights, bed, breakfast and evening meal. The location of the hotel is superb overlooking the bay. Unfortunately the hotel leaves a lot to be desired. Although very old and with character, the whole place needs updating. The decor is still very 80's. It all needs decorating. The food was very poor with some strange dishes. I asked for poached egg for breakfast and all it tasted of was vinegar that it was cooked in. The menu was the same for night 2 as for night 1, so we were glad we hadn't booked the week! The staff were friendly. Our room was room 10. This had a very small bathroom with an air vent in the shower. This was banging all the time due to the wind. When we were leaving the manager asked if the banging of the vent, which was very loud had kept us awake as there was nothing they could do about it. He had no right letting this room out if he was aware of the problem! This hotel should only have a 1 or 2 star rating. It is a very "tired" B & B.

Room Tip: Not room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hello LindaD,

You clearly misunderstood my question, which was concern over whether intermittent noise had considerably disturbed your sleep. We actually had no previous specific knowledge of the problem, which we now know to have been caused by strong winds hitting newly installed external vent covers. This has now been fixed.

The decor is in keeping with a Victorian theme and will not appeal to all tastes, especially those expecting modern, contemporary styling.

We change our menu seasonally, with different board specials on a day to day basis. This is in common with most restaurants.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester UK
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Great value for such a well appointed and characterful hotel. The staff are very welcoming and the beds are comfortable with plenty of pillows. Add in ocean views (including in the dining / breakfast room) and Ty'r Graig is definitely a winner. The breakfasts are tasty too!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NicolaWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello NicolaWhit

Thank you for your succinct and generous review.
There's very little I can add, other than to say it's good to see our efforts being appreciated, alongside the inherent qualities of the house and local environment.
Please come back and see us again soon!

Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We have travelled around Wales for decades and know the Welsh coast and Barmouth in particular very well, my hubby booked this hotel for a weekend treat for both of us and said contact with the team was excellent, nothing was too much trouble, we were also given a choice of room on arrival and chose the larger room overlooking the front of the house. The building is not exactly a castle but does have an entrance which is a Gothic gem and communal areas give access to amazing views across the sea and are restful in the evening, a guest can play games,listen to quiet music, drink coffee and/or read whilst watching the sun set across the bay... it is one of the best views in Wales.
The site, on the north side of the town is amazing but the front of the hotel looks tired, our bed was a kingsize, lovely and comfy and we had a good size room also with a view over the hills at the front of the house, the bathroom is large and the bath and shower both good, water nice and hot, usual drinks facilities. Every member of the team were attentive and helpful and the cooked breakfasts were greaseless and light, the evening meals ( curry and fish ) were simple but delicious. We suggest the following changes would help -
- some fixtures and fittings are a little jaded in the room ( carpet in bathroom )
- could do with more choices for visitors who don't have cereal for breakfast like dried fruit, nuts, seeds, yoghurt etc.
- the front of the building could do with some attention
Having said that, both of us found the stay relaxing and pleasant and would visit again.

Room Tip: The turret room we looked in was quite small and bathroom tiny, we had plenty of space in room 1 (ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pol25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello pol25,
We're so pleased you appreciated our service, and the history behind our lovely house, which the builder, W. Greener, called his "summer castle". The views are the reason the house was built, as his wife fell in love with them.Wales.
You will have noted that one of the turrets was being painted, the next project is the front.
We've passed your comments about the food onto the chefs, and noted your comments about breakfast options.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanfair Caereinion, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great room, fantastic view, very friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us!!!
Excellent menu-you've got to try the hand battered fish and chips!!
We had had a great welcome, and we're shown around and given a brief history of this Victorian folly, overlooking the sea. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hello Kerianne,

It's clear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and I've passed your compliments to our chef.

I hope you do come back and see us again, and please tell your friends!

Many thanks

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Colleen and I set off on a trip to recharge our batteries, and headed to Barmouth. We elected for the scenic route from Hereford, along the A49 towards Ludlow and onwards to Craven Arms. We then headed for Church Stretton, Berriew and due to my constant nagging about football took refuge in Dolgellau. After watching a lack lustre performance of my favourite team, we set about our journey to Barmouth. Good old Sally Satnav (and Colleen) ensured we arrived safely at T'yr Graig Castle at about 14:50, which was ideal, as we couldn't book in until 14:00.

After unloading our cases from the car, we couldn't resist a quick peek at the view beyond the car park, so we snuck one in. We weren't disappointed either, what a delightful view it was (and dare I say it, very romantic). After several gasps of ooh and ahh at the views, we entered through the front entrance, which seemed to be from the medieval era. A double door which was studded, opened with the familiar creek of an old horror movie. But before you jump the gun, it was as beautiful inside as the view from outside. Stained glass windows, through which the sun was beaming, made one think that God had been kind to us and had provided good weather too.

Once inside, Colleen rang for assistance, and I decided to powder my nose, as it were. I found a toilet in the reception, just under the stairs to the left hand side as you walk in. Upon emerging from the cloakroom, the duty manager had appeared, and we were asked to sign in. He had very thoughtfully placed the wifi number on my IPad for me, which I had left on the counter. We were then shown to our room, whereupon the duty manager had told us that he had been looking forward to our arrival, as he had lived close by some years ago. A few stories later, because he was a raconteur, he left our room and we unpacked. The bedroom itself was very spacious, with a lovely en-suite bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities and a tv.

Time to have a look at Barmouth. We went downstairs and were greeted by our convivial host. When asked about the distance to the town, he explained that it was about a 15 minute walk down, but considerably more coming back, but that there were plenty of taxis. We left and discovered Barmouth. After getting our bearings, and our lungs filled with the sea air, we decided to get a snack that we could have whilst watching the sea roll back in. We headed back up towards T'yr Graig Castle fearing the worst because it was uphill! But fear not dear reader, it took us about 18 minutes to reach our destination. We had a key to get in, but needed to check that view again. My goodness, what a thriller with the sun just sinking into the sea (although, not literally). Sleep soon overcame us, as it was lovely day, and I think that the sea air had done its job.

In the morning, we showered and went down for breakfast. We were shown to our table, which overlooked the sea, and shown where the cereals and toast making facilities were. We both had full English breakfasts, with an abundant supply of toast and lashings of tea and coffee. I will never forget that view from the breakfast area. We had decided that we were going to do some sort of walk whilst at Barmouth, and the Duty manager came up trumps yet again. He explained that there were a few walks of various distances depending on how far we wanted to go. He also had the walk guides for those that needed them, but luckily, Colleen had already printed the walks off. After a lovely 7 miler, we got back to our 'digs' and watched footie in support of Colleen's team.

Barmouth, a beautiful place to stay, and the T'yr Graig Castle is a wonderful place to unwind, and make base camp from which one can explore. We will be back, and very soon. Many thanks to all who made our couple of days very special.

Room Tip: Book early to get the sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philmckenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hello philmckenna,

I was so pleased to read that your stay had been enhanced by the information we are pleased to give to guests. There's little else I can say in response to your most generous compliments, other than to express pleasure that our efforts were appreciated and we helped to make your romantic break special. It's the little things which add up to make a big impression, which clearly happened in this case.

I hope you'll be back to see us again soon.

Kind regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on very short notice. All the staff were very pleasant ad accomodating. The features in the hotel are superb, beautiful wood panelling, stained glass windows, tiled floors in reception all very opulent. The views from the hotel and our bedroom were superb, lovely to wake up and see the tide coming in . Excellent food- the fish and chips extraordinary.The only reason I've not given 5 Stars is because the rooms are quite small and the ensuites tiny, however that said i would certainly stay again as this is completely out-weighed by the lovely communal rooms and the views.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevkenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hello Bevkenn.

Many thanks for your wonderful review and kind comments.

There's actually very little we can add, as you were so fulsome in your praise and honest in your comments. We do try to set standards to match the original natural beauty of the castle and it is gratifying to know these are appreciated.

By nature of the fact that there were no en-suite facilities when the house was originally built in 1892, some of these are small, which does take up part of the room space. However, experience has shown that people would prefer a small en-suite than none at all. We do have larger rooms, with larger en-suites, but not all of these do not have a sea view.

We hope you'll be able to return to us for a longer, pre-planned visit at some time in the future, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barmouth
1.0 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
207 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,459 reviews
8.6 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
333 reviews
14.8 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
385 reviews
1.0 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty'r Graig Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty'r Graig Castle

Property: Ty'r Graig Castle
Address: Llanaber Road, Barmouth LL42 1YN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ty'r Graig Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark Victorian castle-hotel situated on the edge of Snowdonia National Park, overlooking Cardigan Bay. Approx. 1/2 mile out of Barmouth. An excellent base for anyone wishing to explore the surrounding areas. Recently described by a guest as 'an oasis of calm' it sits proudly between the mountains and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ty'r Graig Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty`r Graig Castle Hotel Barmouth
Ty'r Graig Castle Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing