We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food. Wonderful location.”
Review of Ty'r Graig Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have visited the Ty'r Graig Castle many times for excellent food. The staff are very pleasant and friendly and attend to your every need.

We love the relaxed, warm environment in the Ty'r Graig and the views are amazing.

We can not fault the food at all. Wonderful specials and everything cooked freshly on the day.

We haven't stayed here, but I'm sure the rooms are wonderful with spectacular views over lovely Barmouth.

Highly recommend going to the Ty'r Graig for outstanding food, a warm, relaxed atmosphere and excellent service. Thank you to all the lovely staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catrin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Hello Catrin N

It’s always good to know that we are catering for the local community as well as visitors to the area, and we do appreciate and value your patronage. In today’s climate of “fast food” we endeavour to create an atmosphere of calm and warmth, which is more than assisted by the beautiful scenery.

Our food is all locally sourced and our chef takes great pride in preparation and presentation. Your comments in respect of both the food and the staff are most welcome, and have been passed to the people concerned.

Most of our rooms have wonderful sea views, with a couple enjoying the splendid vista of the hillside overlooking the bay.

Steve James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 402 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

we have just returned from this hotel we were given room 11 which had beautiful views ...but the room was in need of a face lift as wall paper was peeling off walls and ceiling !there was also mould on the wall by the bed .we were informed by the manager( who had alot to say for himself ) that this was the best room and had a large shower ,however it took a while to get the shower to work .having paid £112.00 a night im not convinced it was worth that amount !breakfast was a little cold on 1st morning and we were told we had to wait as the kitchen was busy !! we have stayed here before and were dissapointed this time .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyrGraig-Management, Owner at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Karen O

I am so sorry to hear that you had a problem with your room. We have now rectified all the problems mentioned. The mould underneath the window is now gone and we have re-pasted the paper behind the bed canopy. Breakfast here is freshly cooked and when a lot of guests come down together; sometimes there is a short wait. However it shouldn't be slightly cold and for that I apologise. I do hope this hasn’t deterred you and we look forward to welcoming you here again in the future.

Regards,

Janette Osman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Ty'r Graig is a small hotel built as a private (large) house in 1892. It retains some interesting features of that time. We received a warm and friendly welcome, and had a pleasant room on the top floor rear, with an uninteresting view across the road and houses to steep hillsides beyond. (We booked at the last minute, so were fortunate to be able to book at all). Staff were always cheerful and friendly and efficient. Breakfast was excellent. The view from the conservatory restaurant across Cardigan Bay is magnificent. Hotel spotlessly clean. The top floor is 35 stairs up and no lift, so might not suit very elderly legs - but no problem, just ask for a room on lower floor. The town of Barmouth is walk of over ½ mile down the hill, and a matching climb up.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: Room with a sea view far preferable. Avoid top floor if elderly legs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lester Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Hello Lester Z;

I'm so pleased to see that you appreciated the welcome; we do try and make people feel "at home" in our lovely house, and impart some of it's history and architecture. The hillside view rooms offer some advantages over the sea-view, notably being bigger and with larger bathrooms. Whilst you can see the newer hoses built opposite, they do have a wonderful view of the natural beauty of the wooded hills above Barmouth.

I'm also pleased to note that you appreciated the service from our friendly staff, and also the cleanliness, both of which are things we take great pride in. Hopefully we'll be able to welcome you back at some time in the future and you can explore more of our beautiful National Park.

Steve James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The Gentleman on front desk was very rude for the duration of our stay, as soon as we walked into the entrance hall way we saw cobwebs, we will NOT be returning to that place ever again !! The location was ok as it over looks the sea but there are other hotels that do the same in the area

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank sean t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Hello Mr Turley,

The “duration of your stay” was approximately 20-25 minutes and didn’t go beyond the main reception area. The reason we could not complete your check-in was because you had made a booking via a third party (booking.com) for two people and actually arrived with a third, your infant son. Clearly, you failed to notice at the time of booking your 1 night stay that we do not take children under 12, that cots cannot be provided, and the rooms cannot take extra beds. These are clearly stated on the booking.com reservation page as well as our website. Unfortunately, my attempt to sympathetically explain the error you made was repeatedly greeted by verbal abuse from you and your wife. My biggest regret was that another guest had to be subjected to witnessing your bad conduct in our premises.

However, far from being rude, and despite the problem being of your origination, I immediately contacted booking.com and successfully endeavoured to find you alternative suitable accommodation. This was to our cost.

Our strengths, as can be seen in previous reviews, particularly include our warmth and friendliness and we would not do anything to jeopardise that reputation. It is therefore plain to see that the main reason for your ‘review’ is to punish and tarnish us for what is, unbelievably, your mistake. This, we find difficult to understand.

Steve James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Really impressed by cleanliness and such a comfortable bed I wanted to take the mattress home. Lay on the bed and all I could see was sea and sky so restful. Service at breakfast was both friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fionnualag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Hello fionnualag

It is SO gratifying to hear that someone appreciates the amount of work that goes into keeping the Castle clean, especially with the amount of polished woodwork we have in the reception area alone!

We have many compliments about the mattresses inducing relaxing sleep, aided by the stunning views, and this means that guests arrive down for breakfast in a wonderfully refreshed mood, ready to enjoy a filling plateful!

Hopefully you'll be back to re-charge your batteries before too long, and we look forward to welcoming you once again.

Steve James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

On arrival at the hotel we were welcomed by the owner who was lovely . She told us a little history of the beautiful old building and showed us the lounge and dining rooms where the view was impeccable . She then proceeded to show us to our turret room which was beautifully decorated with views to die for . The room was a little small but exceptionally comfortably . My partner is a light sleeper and slept soundly all night .
Breakfast was excellent again with fantastic views over the sea . Much more than we expected .
For a one night stay we did think a little overpriced but this would not stop us from staying here again . We would highly recommend it to our friends and family and look forward to another visit in the future
Thank you to you all x

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Hello Sarahnu

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay. We love telling people a little of the history of the house, as it is so romantic and colourful. The views are, as you say, stunning, and hopefully compensate for the rooms not being the biggest in the industry. When converting a century old house to guest accommodation, it is never easy to fit everything in to the available space, but hopefully this has been done sympathetically. As a light sleeper myself, I can confirm that the quality of the double glazing is excellent!

I was sorry to see you felt it a little overpriced; despite being a small establishment, we try to keep rates as low as possible, and are actually comparable with the larger hotels in the town, which do not have our magnificent views and historical character. Hopefully, as you say, this won't put you off returning, and we thank you for recommending us to your family and friends.

With thanks again

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I rung up the Deputy Manager Steve for a room on Valentines day In the Premium Turret for a couple of nights, He was very polite, helpful and lovely to talk to. My partner and I was very excited when we arrived, the hotel looked much more beautiful than It did In the photos. We walked Into the reception room and was met by the owner of the building. He too was very polite. We were shown around the building and were told about the Castles history and then were showed to our rooms. The room was absolutely amazing with the most stunning views of the sea. We really enjoyed our break away and decided to come again for my partners Birthday. We ended up staying In the Standard Turret for 3 nights. We arrived at the hotel a little early and had a lovely conversation with Steve while they were very kindly sorting our room out for us. The room was a perfect size, the bed was extremely comfy and the views were breath taking. We had a three course lunch on my partners Birthday and The two waiters, who I unfortunately couldn't get the names of, were very professional, friendly, and always had smiles on their faces. We were shown to our table and ordered our food. I had a soup for starter, Lamb for main and Ice cream for Dessert and my partner had smoked salmon for starter, Steak for Main and Strawberries for Dessert. The food was so beautiful I completely fell In love with the Lamb which ended up In me having It three times In total during our stay. We also had a lovely conversation with the Chef while we was eating our meal. Due to the entire staff making our stay perfect we decided to stay for another night. I would definatley come a Third time and probably more after that. I would 100% recommend this place as It was In a lovely location, the room was very clean and beautifuly presented, The food was of fine quality and the staff were so friendly and I enjoyed being around every single one of them. The hotel Is a 10 out of 10 from me.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Hi Terrie,

Well, what can I say about your review! It's always a pleasure to know that a guest has had a good time, and I knew from talking with you and your partner while you were here that this was certainly the situation in your case, especially as this was your second visit this year!

Your infectious enthusiasm means that you come intending to enjoy yourself, and from your overall reaction, we know this happened once again, when you were clearly captivated by the magical charm of our lovely building and the beautiful area in which we are situated. It was also a pleasure to see you obviously enjoy the terrific food which Simon prepares.

We do have a "family" of regular guests, and it sounds as if we will soon be adding you to that group! We hope it won't be too long before we welcome you and your lovely laugh back to the Castle!

Thanks again for your kind words.

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barmouth
0.4 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
338 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
214 reviews
8.6 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
14.8 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty'r Graig Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty'r Graig Castle

Address: Llanaber Road, Barmouth LL42 1YN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Price Range: $97 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ty'r Graig Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark Victorian castle-hotel situated on the edge of Snowdonia National Park, overlooking Cardigan Bay. Approx. 1/2 mile out of Barmouth. An excellent base for anyone wishing to explore the surrounding areas. Recently described by a guest as 'an oasis of calm' it sits proudly between the mountains and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ty'r Graig Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty`r Graig Castle Hotel Barmouth
Ty'r Graig Castle Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing