We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character but not charmed”
Review of Ty'r Graig Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Certificate of Excellence
North West England
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Character but not charmed”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed in a turret room. The hotel is situated about a 10 minute walk from Barmouth town centre. It's set back from the main road to Harlech, and has ample free parking. We were greeted by the hotel manager, Steve, who was very welcoming and showed us up to our room. The hotel is full of character and the reception includes a lovely stove, wood-panelled walls, original tiled floors, and stained-glass windows. From the reception we had fairly high expectations for our room, but were left a little disappointed. The room was quite small with a mish-mash of pine furniture. As expected from a turret room it was circular in shape and had several windows with great views over the town. The bathroom was unbearably small - my chin was resting on the sink when sat on the toilet, my husband had to come out of the bathroom in order to get dressed after a shower, and bending over the sink to brush my teeth caused the door to open. To cap it all the electric shredding toilet sounded very much like the opening riff to T Rex's 20th Century Boy (I know, it couldn't have been, as the band wouldn't have managed to fit in the bathroom!!).

We had a nice evening meal in the hotel, and the staff in the dining room were very attentive. The breakfast was fine - the full english as a bit 'wet', but the kippers were very tasty, and plenty of them. Overall the Ty'r Graig Castle just about makes its 4 star guest accommodation rating (it's not classified as a 4 star hotel, although I think the owners may have pretensions!), but we didn't really have a comfortable stay and would not be tempted to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trainsandpiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Hello trainsandpiers
Thank you for your comments regarding the welcome etc; we do try and explain a little of the history of the property, as it is so interesting.
We’re sorry that the room was not up to your expectations; every room has a different style of décor and furnishing, and this is the first adverse comment we have received regarding this. As you rightly noted, the house is full of character and, if you remember, it was originally built as a private family home before being converted. Because of the limitations within the conversion, some rooms have smaller than average en-suites and, where relevant, we do advise guests of this. Just to mention, the macerator in the en-suite has been replaced since your stay with us.

Your comments regarding the food are also noted and have been passed on to the chef. The owners have no pretension about Ty’r Graig being anything other than guest accommodation and the rating awarded by Visit Wales is consistent with that category.

Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    113
    40
    16
    7
See reviews for
32
297
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

lovely historic setting ,which was explained to us .the staff were helpfull ,graicious and friendly.the food was freshly prepared ,which was highlighted on the menu so was not instant ,making my own toast was not to much of a hardship!! and we were offered contineous refilles the complete package was a joy ,quirky,and a real pleasure

Room Tip: rear town view bigger room good quiet double glazing,sea view turret rooms ,smaller en suit,and bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Hello Zuluret,

I'm so pleased you were happy with your stay, our lovely old castle has such a wealth of social history, and I never tire of telling people about it!

It's good to know that guests appreciate that freshly cooked food may mean a slight wait; Simon our chef takes great pride in his food and hates being rushed! I'll also pass your kind comments about service on to the rest of the team.

We look forward to your returning sometime soon.

Kind regards

Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turkish delight08
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Had a lovely weekend at the Hotel, staff are faultless and very welcoming. We ate at the Hotel on the 1st night of our stay. The food was excellent and definatly good value for money, as were the drinks. The breakfast the next morning was also very nice. Our second night was ok, the couple in the room next to us were very noisey and blatantly smoking in there room which was wafting through to ours, this was the only down side of the stay. Obviously this wasnt any of the staffs fault but i do feel it was pretty obvious people were smoking in their rooms. Would definatly go back to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turkishdelight08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Hi Turkish Delight!

Thank you for the kind comments you made regarding your stay at Ty'r Graig; I'll pass them on to the staff and chef.

May I apologise for the problems you encountered with the guests in the adjoining room; we have clear signs regarding smoking, and all our advertising makes it clear that we are a totally smoke-free establishment. Unfortunately, it was too late for us to speak to the guests when we found evidence of smoking in their room, but we will continue to do our utmost to continue to ensure that future guests are fully aware of the position.

We hope you will return before too long and look forward to welcoming you back; there is so much to see in this lovely area.

Kind regards

Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Just a weekend break here, on arrival we were greeted and our bags taken up to our room for us, which was nice, we arrived late so decided to eat there, the food was lovely, only thing for me was iam a vegetarian and only one dish on the menu goats cheese, which was lovely a nice pasta or something would also be great to add to the menu, so for the second night we decided to eat out as I didn't want goats cheese again, our room was lovely and clean, and a great balcony overlooking the sea, it did rain a fair bit so no sitting out. Staff very friendly and polite,overall a nice weekend break.
Many thanks

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazza157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Hello Shazza,

It was good to see your positive response to the service and welcome etc., we do try to ensure that every guest receives a personal welcome and some information about the rich and varied history of the building. I've also passed your kind comments on to the team.

We're also pleased to note that you enjoyed the food. It was a pity you didn't mention anything at the time, as our chef is very approachable, and can usually create something different for a second night meal if requested.

Unfortunately, the weather is the one thing we can't control, but hopefully it didn't affect your stay too much and we hope to welcome you back at some time in the future to enjoy some more of the spectacular scenery we have on offer in the area.

Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We were very disappointed when we arrived at the Castle. As we pulled up first impression was that the building looked tired, there were 3 members of staff standing by the front door smoking, which does not give a good impession. We were shown to our room which was in the turret, the room had 3 windows giving views down to the beach, which were nice, but unfortunatly we had to close 2 of the blinds as the people in the next room had a balcony which came across our window, at one time our room and the room next door were one room and had been divided.The shower room was tiny, the top of the toilet cistern was held on with plastic ties. it was very small and had an electric toilet which when flushed made a munching noise, that seemed to go on forever, the lighting in there could be better. There was a plant in the lounge which was dead, and plastic flowers everywhere.
Breakfast was ok , you had to make your own toast, we were offered tea or coffee, but it took 20 minutes for our cooked breakfast to arrive, by which time we had drunk our coffee. When we booked the hotel we were looking for something a bit different being a castle but sadly it was a disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SouthWalesSunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Hello SouthWalesSunseeker,

I'm sorry you weren't happy with the room you had; yes, the rooms were larger in 1892, but were divided a number of years ago. We do advise when booking that the en-suite is small, but the majority of people would rather have a small en-suite than not at all. The issue you mention with the macerator toilet is confusing, as they only run for a few seconds after flushing. The cistern is in the process of being replaced and we are waiting delivery of the new one.

We cannot understand how there were three members of staff smoking by the front door, as we only have one team member who smokes?

We cook breakfasts to order, to ensure freshness, which can cause slight delays when several rooms come in at the same time. Likewise, in keeping with most places nowadays, the facility is there for guests to make their own toast, in order that it is fresh and done to personal taste. It goes without saying that tea and coffee are refilled as required.

Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My aunt and I stayed 2 nights in the two turret rooms. Very clean and spacious with lovely views. Good bathrooms and plenty of towels. Only negative is liquid soap. I really prefer a small bar of soap. Staff very helpful and welcoming and WiFi worked most of the time for me. Breakfast was a delight, with a view over the sea to die for. We did not venture out for dinner because the meals in the restaurant were too good to miss. Chef, Simon, really made dining a pleasure.
All staff contributed an enjoyable stay. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ancliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Hello ancliff,

We're so pleased you appreciated lovely views from your room, they really are spectacular and encourage you to go out and explore this beautiful part of the world.

In common with many accommodation providers we have found liquid soap to be better environmentally and also in terms of quality, although we appreciate this is a personal preference.

I've passed your kind comments on to the staff in general, and Simon in particular. He takes a great pride in his work and loves coming out to chat to guests after they have eaten.

We hope you had a safe journey home and it's not too long before you come back and see us again.

Warmest good wishes

Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I said that I am not sure - well it was very clean, welcoming, had a really good breakfast. The staff were lovely, room was good, bathroom nice (really good towels). So I suppose it all sounds great, however, they do need to sort that wifi out, I didn't get on it once doing our 2 night stay. The location was fine for us but it is a little way from the town and up a slight hill but then that's what makes the views so good.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would stay again if visiting the area again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boardcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Hello there!

Thanks for your comments regarding the welcome, breakfast, staff, and other aspects of the stay.

The wifi is an intermittent problem because of the many original thick stone walls, and it makes it almost impossible to select a place to put a router which covers the entire property. It can also be affected by weather conditions (static electricity in the air etc), but we are always looking to try and resolve this issue. Having said that, we do get many guests who access very easily, which makes it difficult to identify specific problem areas.

We do hope to see you again before not too very long.

Kind regards

Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barmouth
1.0 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
206 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,458 reviews
8.6 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
333 reviews
14.8 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
385 reviews
1.0 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty'r Graig Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty'r Graig Castle

Property: Ty'r Graig Castle
Address: Llanaber Road, Barmouth LL42 1YN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ty'r Graig Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark Victorian castle-hotel situated on the edge of Snowdonia National Park, overlooking Cardigan Bay. Approx. 1/2 mile out of Barmouth. An excellent base for anyone wishing to explore the surrounding areas. Recently described by a guest as 'an oasis of calm' it sits proudly between the mountains and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ty'r Graig Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty`r Graig Castle Hotel Barmouth
Ty'r Graig Castle Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing