We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Ranked #3 of 24 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here for 3 nights with our friends. Both rooms had a view of the water and were nicely fitted and clean, with big fluffy towels and comfortable beds. David and Heather are superb hosts and accommodated every request, providing guidance to local sights and even lending us detailed maps with footpaths. David's beautiful landscape pictures decorate the walls and inspire visitors to explore the area. They offer a full bar service in the evening and the morning breakfast was superb. The house is in a quiet spot on a hill and the dining room has a lovely view that includes a pretty garden and bird watching. There is a wooded footpath nearby, and a short if steep paved walk down hill takes you directly into Barmouth and local restaurants. We were reluctant to leave and would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have less water pressure in the showers, but the water is plenty hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmculpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brynmelyndavid, Owner at Bryn Melyn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

One of the real pleasures of this business is welcoming people who do not know the area and helping them discover some of the wonders that lie all around. It's good that Wales seems to be appearing on the radar of our American visitors more and more and we very much enjoyed your company and hearing about your travels each evening. Our extensive collection of books and maps is there for our guests to use and we are always happy to make suggestions as to day trips, walks or tours and help you make the most of your stay.

I hope you enjoyed south Wales on the rest of your trip as much as you did the north. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I hope that when you said you needed a week to see everything up here you meant that you would have to return, but for longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 273 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

What an idyllic place to stay! Peace, tranquility, breath-taking views, well-appointed rooms, comfy beds, excellent facilities, delicious breakfasts, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful hosts. A lovely, relaxing conservatory, with lots of comfy chairs and books available. A residents' "honesty" bar, which is also furnished with lots of comfortable seating, books, games, etc.

I travelled with a ( well behaved ) dog and she was delighted to receive two sausages each day of our stay! Three rooms are dog friendly and this was very useful for myself and a dog-owning colleague who stayed in an adjoining room.

Yes, it's a bit of a hair-raising drive up there, but the turning point at the top is huge and easy to negotiate, which makes the turn into Bryn Melyn car park on the return journey very easy to negotiate. The footpath down to the town is easy enough as well.

Lots to like - quality, plentiful toiletries in the generously sized en-suite, for example.Additional bathroom available with an incredible amount of toiletries provided. Large number and varieties of native birds feeding off the wall. Binoculars and birdie identification books provided in the dining room. Nice touches worth mentioning.

Loved the subtle music being played very quietly beyond the dining room during breakfast ( Traditional Triple Harp music by Llio Rhydderch ) It complemented the atmosphere beautifully.

Room Tip: Any of the front rooms with an estuary view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pressiebiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brynmelyndavid, Owner at Bryn Melyn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Until recently we had not realised that there is a gathering of Welsh terriers in Barmouth each year but it was a real pleasure to welcome you and your dog, (and indeed a couple of other dogs that night), to Bryn Melyn. As you say we have three dog-friendly rooms. This allows us to offer rooms that have never had pets in them so that anyone with a pet allergy can be confident they will be fine. We also go to great efforts to make sure any dog-friendly room is completely clean before the next check-in - one reason we make a small charge of £3 per dog per night.

I am especially pleased you enjoyed the tranquillity of our location and guest house. It is always good to see guests taking advantage of the lounge of conservatory to simply sit and relax, although I must point out that the bar does not operate on an 'honesty' basis but only with service from Heather or myself!

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your lovely Welsh terrier back again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

comfortable, plenty of room. Driveway is sharp turn - had to drive past the turn around.
Sits on top of hill. Can walk down to town area. We did walk back up - not as bad as you think when walking down. Owners helpful - Looked at our planned driving route for next day and help with decisions as to best scenic route.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brynmelyndavid, Owner at Bryn Melyn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you for your review and congratulations on walking back up the hill and not complaining! There's no denying we are at the top of a steep hill but we are always pleased when guests feel the climb is worth it, and without the hill we would not enjoy such wonderful views.

In a previous existence I was an independent tour guide and driver so I know Wales extremely well and it was no problem to help you plan your next day's driving on leaving Bryn Melyn. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed for four nights in mid September and could not fault the the standard of this Guest House of the hospitality of our hosts. The weather was mixed but David helped us find some good places to go on wet days - he had great knowledge of the area and was very helpful. I would also recommend the Evening meals as well as wonderful choice of breakfasts - David is great cook and the standard was as good as any professional restaurant we have experienced. You will however, need to order your evening meal at Breakfast - this is because all the ingredients are sourced local and fresh and fantastic local butcher should take credit too. The views from our room were great as picture windows were low enough to see views from bed each morning! Would certainly recommend to anyone staying in the area - thank you Trip Adviser for helping us find this Gem.

Room Tip: All rooms will be quiet as away from traffic and all look out to Estuary - we had large double on 1s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KITTIWAKE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brynmelyndavid, Owner at Bryn Melyn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you for such a glowing review! I am very pleased your stay was so enjoyable, despite the weather. I think the summer of 2012 helped us find places to recommend in wet weather so, although this year has been fantastic, on the rare occasions when it has disappointed we have been able to draw on our experience and find things to do.

Your comments about the food we serve are particularly pleasing. I feel I ought to correct one statement however... We serve dinner in the week by request and ask guests to make their selection at breakfast time, but this is because I am a cook, not a chef, and need notice of what I am preparing. Wherever possible we try to use local ingredients, but not everything can be found locally and we do use a freezer! But we pride ourselves in serving good quality meals with the emphasis on flavour at a reasonable price and we are delighted you enjoyed them so much.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I Sayed for a week in early September. You will find your hosts friendly informative and willing to offer advice and information about places to visit and eat. The accomodation was first class with beautiful views of the estuary and Barmouth bridge. The breakfast is just right for setting you up for the day, with plenty of choice from the menu. I would not hesitate to book again, I found this guest house a very peaceful and relaxing place to be.

Room Tip: Only one room does not face the estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brynmelyndavid, Owner at Bryn Melyn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you for your generous review and I am truly delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. It is especially good that you found Bryn Melyn so peaceful and relaxing. Different places have different atmospheres and we realised soon after we moved in that this was a place of tranquillity. It was never going to be the party capital of Snowdonia, and we have worked to try and enhance that feeling so that everyone who stays here feels refreshed and at ease. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again for another dose of relaxation some time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night recently and after negotiating a difficult steep drive way managed to park our vehicle. (worth it for the view though) We were greeted by a friendly helpful couple and immediately taken to our room. It was lovely and clean and the view was wonderful but the shower was a bit snug with a weak pressure.The breakfast was good but I felt that overall it was a bit pricey for a B and B.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morganmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brynmelyndavid, Owner at Bryn Melyn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to review your recent, brief stay with us. We appreciate your awarding a maximum five stars for cleanliness, location and service - we feel these are important elements in any stay and have worked hard over the last 4 years to achieve a good standard. I'm sorry we disappointed you in terms of sleep quality and value however. We do listen to and take on board comments, especially recurring ones. As a result of several reviews for example we took the decision this year to replace all our mattresses with memory foam. This, combined with the very tranquil location we enjoy, has resulted in a great many positive comments about sleep quality so I am truly sorry you did not sleep well. The shower pressure on the top floor is an issue related to the size and age of the house. Whilst most guests find it adequate we have been investigating ways we can improve it and hope this winter to be able to announce something so please be assured that we are not complacent.
As far as value for money is concerned I think that is a more subjective issue, although again I am sorry you felt we were pricey. I would say that our prices are very competitive for the quality we offer in this area and fortunately most of our guests seem to be happy with what we offer.
If you choose to return at some stage please remind me of this review and I will endeavour to accommodate you in one of our larger rooms, if available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at Bryn Melyn Guest house over the August holiday weekend. The room was spotless and offered a view across the estuary, what a view. The breakfast is just what you need to set you up for the day (nice little touch is the information on the produce). The guest house is up a steep road but well worth it. As already mentioned by others, the use of a bath with a large selection of toiletries was very welcome.
The en-suite bathroom was lovely too.

If you are looking for a clean, well maintained, hotel/guest house in Barmouth, serving great food, by a knowledgeable couple, you have found it.

Will stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brynmelyndavid, Owner at Bryn Melyn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
337 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#1 of 24 in Barmouth
165 reviews
2.0 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 4 in Llanaber
436 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crystal House
Crystal House
#11 of 24 in Barmouth
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Melyn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Melyn Guest House

Address: Panorama Road, Barmouth LL42 1DQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range: $93 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryn Melyn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and relaxing guest house in stunning location with far reaching views from most rooms. Full Welsh breakfast with locally sourced ingredients, evening meals by arrangement. Comfortable residents' lounge and bar. Free wifi access. Great location for walking and cycling and general sight-seeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Bryn Melyn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Melyn Guest House Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing