We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B with friendly, helpful & very knowledgeable proprietors.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Ranked #2 of 24 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mountain View, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great B&B with friendly, helpful & very knowledgeable proprietors.”
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We stayed at this B&B for three nights over the long Easter weekend. It was a base for travelling around the North West of Wales seeing local sights and walking up Snowdon.

The B&B has eight rooms with bathrooms/showrooms en suite with an additional shared bathroom.

David & Heather, the B&B's two proprietors were exceptional; great customer service, very friendly and David's knowledge of the surrounding areas of Wales was exceptional! We took his advice on a number of things from panoramic views, routes to local shops and restaurants and were not disappointed.

Breakfasts included the usual fare of fresh fruit, cereals, toast, juices and of course a full hearty Welsh breakfast.

We would definitely go back should we want a base in the general area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtrouardriolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    29
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
165
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We had a large, well furnished and spotlessly clean room. The two large picture windows gave us stunning views over the river estuary and the mountains opposite.
A varied and well presented breakfast was further enhanced by a clear view of the bird table and feeders on the garden terrace. The number and variety of birds was breathtaking and they clearly enjoyed their breakfast as much as we did ours.
The evening meal we enjoyed, on a night in, was far better than anything Barmouth had to offer and we have no hesitation in srtongly recommending sampling our host's cooking skills.
David and Heather Brown are welcoming, attentive and helpful with with local knowledge and information.
All in all, a very refreshing and enjoyable sojourn. Highly commended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ireneark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We chose this guesthouse after an internet search and were very glad that we did. The location is at the top of a steep hill 5 minutes drive from the town centre. However it is worth visiting for the amazing views from all of the rooms facing the estuary. We stayed in a comfortable room on the second floor and were quite happy sitting in the room looking at the view. In the evening we went down to the bar and lounge where there is a wide selection of books and games. We had a very peaceful night's sleep followed by one of the best cooked breakfasts that we have had. Our table in the dining room was next to the window so we enjoyed watching a variety of wildlife - birds, squirrel and a pheasant - during breakfast. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming and we will definitely be returning for another visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LlandudnoMazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

A great location for a B&B with brilliant high up views over the estuary, although only 10 minutes from town. Really clean and well equipped rooms. Excellent hosts who are only too happy to give local information and walking advice. David is a butcher so the breakfasts are excellent quality, although the vegetarian in our party was really well catered for too. I really recommend this place and we will be back in the summer to walk the Rhinog Ridge, which wasn't possible in the snow! Matt, Amanda and Kirsty.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumondown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2010

we went here for johns 50th,the hotel is very clean and david and heather coudnt do enough for us and our dogs, the dogs were even catered for with saus for their breakfast.the downside is there is a tight turn into the driveway hint is go to the top of the road and turn round to go down into it,there is a very steep hill to go into town and back.in room 7 the views are brilliant john could sit there all day,everything you need for a nice cuppa and bis are in your room and things for showers,the bathroom is also well catered for with all the luxary of many radox bottles,the dogs did have to stay in the car wilst we went in for breakfast has they were not allowed in the room,another down side was in the info book in the rooms it does say if you want evenig meal please book before 4pm but we asked at 12 when we got there and was told we should have booked at breakfast so we had to go into town and the walk back up the hill after a meal was not very nice,but all in all we enjoyed our stay,i imagine when the hotel is full parking would be tight and the hour for breakfast would be very busy

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retepetite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

we've just returned from a three night stay and found all aspects of our trip excellent, from the rooms with great views, the friendlyness and professionalism of delivering a really high standard of service from David and Heather (the proprietors) to the food served both at breakfast ( and evening meal if you choose to eat in). the food is of a high quality and is cooked and presented beautifully. we would recommend the bryn melyn to all and look forward to retuning in the future. thank you David and Heather for a lovely time spent at your guest house.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Wow what can I say about this place! Well first off David and Heather are the best hosts I have come across in my 24 years on this planet, they are both very welcoming, knowledgeable, helpful and friendly!
The Guest House itself is out of this world and I highly recommend it for birder's especially as well as walkers and cyclists. As for the rooms, well they are clean and very well equipt with all you would expect from a guest house of this standard and the views are quite simply spectacular!
If you want a great place to stay then check out their website www.brynmelyn.co.uk and book yourself a room! You will not be disappointed!
Thanks David and Heather for a wonderful stay we will deffo be back soon!
Phillip Dews and Louise Owen

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillipDews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barmouth
1.0 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
207 reviews
5.1 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crystal House
Crystal House
#11 of 24 in Barmouth
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tilman
The Tilman
#9 of 24 in Barmouth
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Melyn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Melyn Guest House

Property: Bryn Melyn Guest House
Address: Panorama Road, Barmouth LL42 1DQ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryn Melyn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and relaxing guest house in stunning location with far reaching views from most rooms. Full Welsh breakfast with locally sourced ingredients, evening meals by arrangement. Comfortable residents' lounge and bar. Free wifi access. Great location for walking and cycling and general sight-seeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bryn Melyn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Melyn Guest House Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing