We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation and food”
Review of Tal Y Don Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tal Y Don Hotel
Ranked #13 of 23 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My friend and I were staying here for one night, having walked the Mawddach Estuary. The central location helped us as we were both a bit "foot weary". We stayed in Room 4 at the front of the hotel. Lovely room, great bathroom and power shower. The public rooms were also "pet friendly" too which was a pleasant surprise. The bar meals were excellent, great value and freshly prepared. Nothing was too much trouble. We needed to leave early the following morning to get the first bus to Dolgellau, and requested an early breakfast - "no trouble at all" was the reply. The full breakfast was just perfect!!!

Room Tip: Handy for the station
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Tal Y Don Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 194 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in June 13, very comfortable, we were made very welcome. Food was very good always freshly cooked. Only downside is lack of any parking facility, but were directed to a nearby local public car park

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric133_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great food, generous portion and all home made and cooked to order however housekeeping of the pub and outside area need attention what can only be a dog pen has old excrement in it - not pleasant for an outside eating area.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed at the Tal Y Don from 26th May to 28th in a party of four. One twin room and two doubles for single use was ordered. Excellent location with car parking overnight in the street outside or a car park opposite the hotel during the day. Excellent sized rooms and large en suites. The building is not modern but has loads of character and a good range of alchoholic beverages including cask ales are available in the Bar below.
Breakfast is served on the second floor and the quality and generous portions were amazing. Again the quality and the ample portions of the food served in the bar below were first class.
Overall, all in the party enjoyed the stay and all the staff in the hotel were extremely friendly.
All four in the party agreed that we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My partner and I call at this hotel on Monday last in order to have lunch. As the weather was sunny we decided to sit in the beer garden [yard] at the rear of the premises. The place was a disgrace. The were bags of refuse dotted about the place and most disconcertingly there were two substantial mounds of dog excreta. Needless to stay we left the establishment and went in search of an alternative food outlet.

Room Tip: The trip was not for the purpose of staying overnight but for dining only.
Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

set right in middle of town in barmoth this is a lovley hotel.above the pub it has only 5 or 6 rooms but we received such a warm welcome.we stayed bed and breakfast for 3 nights and it was brill.waitress at breakfast [ didnt catch her name] was so friendly and helpful and the breakfast was superb full english with all the toast etc you could manage.the hotel also accepted dogs and they were treated with as much respect as humans ,if we are in barmouth again we will definatley stay here again.money saving tip!!!!!!! when booking visit hotel website direct for a better price,we saved £35 compared to booking websites.

Room Tip: very steep stairs in hotel [was the only drawback] ask for a lower floor room if possible
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Last november my partner and myself were staying at nearby Fairbourne and ventured into Barmouth as the weather was sunny but cold.We had our two yorkies with us and sat in the beer garden at the Tal y Don to have a drink . I went into the bar to order our drinks and some water for the dogs. On hearing this the barman told us we were welcome inside with our dogs. We sat inside and ended up having a wonderful lunch as well as several pints of the real ales on tap. Various other customers also had dogs with them, and it really was a nice atmosphere and i would heartily recommend it to dog lovers and real ale fans who are in Barmouth

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frank m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
335 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#1 of 23 in Barmouth
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aber House B&B Barmouth
Aber House B&B Barmouth
#17 of 23 in Barmouth
61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#3 of 23 in Barmouth
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tal Y Don Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tal Y Don Hotel

Address: High Street, Barmouth LL42 1DL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range: $95 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tal Y Don Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 5 individually-styled double en-suite bedrooms. The entire hotel is strictly non-smoking, apart from the bar. Please note that due to stair access to accommodation, bedrooms are not suitable for disabled people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tal Y Don Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tal Y Don Hotel Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing