We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous weekend break”
Review of Tal Y Don Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tal Y Don Hotel
Ranked #14 of 24 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend break”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Booked three nights break at hotel, booked in on Thursday, Jane introduced herself to us later that evening a great asset to the hotel.
Room excellent, clean & tidy, bed comfortable, breakfast was excellent.
Overall a very good stay,
Thank You
PS Good beer also

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    67
    27
    15
    13
See reviews for
41
100
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed twice on our trip and both times were very comfortable. Sue, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. She had the cook carry our bags up stairs for us. Breakfast was most enjoyable. Good place to stay and explore the Welsh coast. Barmouth is a fun village with good shopping and train connections.

Room Tip: The rooms are up two or three flights of stairs. Something to keep in mind depending on ones streng...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Tal Y Don is well worth a visit if you are looking for somewhere to eat. The meal and the service was very good. For wheelchair user access is via one step into bar then once inside most tables are on this level. I couldn't see any disabled toilets.
There is a beer garden at the rear but this is up one flight of stairs.
There is no parking outside but there is plenty to be had on the sea front, which is a short walk away.
The only bad point is when people are smoking at the front door then smoke can be smelt inside pub when the door to the beer garden and the entrance door are both open.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 29-1-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Call in while at barmouth for the day had a really good bar meal here, only a veg panini s and a mex chicken panini but yummy Friendly bar staff and good service.Well worth a visit and will go again when down that way again.Also got wifi here so i caught up with my emails has around this area you have a job getting a signal on some phone networks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JACKIE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hants
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked rooms post Bank Holiday/early September for 4 nights, 3 nights in a twin room and as the twin was not available for a 4th night, we booked a double room for this. Checking in takes place at the bar and rooms are also accessed via the bar. There is no private parking facility for this pub so we left our vehicle in the public car park which meant we needed to go across early in the mornings to renew the ticket.
Twin room, no 4, was clean and comfortable and overlooked the high street. The decor would be a matter of personal taste, with heavily patterned wallpaper on all the walls. On two mornings the noise from traffic, possibly a street cleaning vehicle, starting at around 6.30 – 7.00am woke us up. I wasn’t aware of any noise at all however from the other rooms surrounding us, or from the bar.
Double room, no 5, was clean but dark and uncomfortably stuffy due to the only source of ventilation being a small window above a fire escape door. A fan was provided in the room but proved to be inadequate. We eventually had to open the fire door to let more air in.
The en suite bathrooms in both rooms were very clean and presentable and the breakfast was very nice although was only served between 8.00 - 8.45am.
We only found out when we read the notice in our room that there is a policy of locking the door at midnight. There was no mention of this on the hotel website or at check in. It was eventually explained by the owner that the 12 o’clock rule was introduced to deter night clubbers from coming in at 2 or 3 in the morning and waking other guests but that arrangements could be made if we asked. However we had already discovered previously during our stay that it was impossible to obtain a definitive answer from staff although we enquired many times, including to the owner who told my husband she ‘would have to discuss later’. On one evening a member of staff did kindly say she might still be around a little later than midnight and asked if we were ‘going to a party because nowhere in Barmouth stays open as late as the Tal y Don’ (not actually correct) Although we turned out not to need it that night, the following day, we had to leave the venue where we were meeting up with old friends before the evening had finished for fear of being locked out!
We quite like the Tal y Don as a pub and have visited for a drink many times in the past, however, we would be unlikely stay there again unless the locked door rule changed as it is important to us when we take a much needed break from work not to be limited by restrictions which may inhibit our relaxation, enjoyment and freedom to choose our social activities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missdizzy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a great example of good, clean, friendly 3 star accommodation. It is right above the bar but we never heard any noise and to be honest we would have been the ones making it lol. Very friendly check in, rooms big enough, very clean and plenty of tea and coffee in room, decoration all in good order and everything in good working order etc. Nice bathroom which was also very clean. Breakfasts were lovely and as there are only 8 rooms it is quite nice and homely so not like a canteen in the mornings. We ate in the bar one night and again the food was very good, the bar does get busy but shuts at midnight. The Tal y Don is in a great location although there is no parking but we found a small car park just up the road by the Antique Shop and he only charged us £4 for 2 days. All in all would recommend this little hotel but Barmouth was a bit quiet for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Had a great night here while visiting the sea side
Room clean and all the mod cons
food great both breakfast and evening meal
Very family friendly
will visit again if on the area
also we had no noise from outside but the weather was not great I guess but i dont think it would have been bad if the sun was out either

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dad2work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barmouth
0.7 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
209 reviews
5.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Tilman
The Tilman
#9 of 24 in Barmouth
43 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#2 of 24 in Barmouth
268 reviews
1.7 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tal Y Don Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tal Y Don Hotel

Property: Tal Y Don Hotel
Address: High Street, Barmouth LL42 1DL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tal Y Don Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 5 individually-styled double en-suite bedrooms. The entire hotel is strictly non-smoking, apart from the bar. Please note that due to stair access to accommodation, bedrooms are not suitable for disabled people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tal Y Don Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tal Y Don Hotel Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing