We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantasic food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tal Y Don Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tal Y Don Hotel
Ranked #12 of 24 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“fantasic food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Call in while at barmouth for the day had a really good bar meal here, only a veg panini s and a mex chicken panini but yummy Friendly bar staff and good service.Well worth a visit and will go again when down that way again.Also got wifi here so i caught up with my emails has around this area you have a job getting a signal on some phone networks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JACKIE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    60
    23
    13
    11
See reviews for
35
88
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hants
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked rooms post Bank Holiday/early September for 4 nights, 3 nights in a twin room and as the twin was not available for a 4th night, we booked a double room for this. Checking in takes place at the bar and rooms are also accessed via the bar. There is no private parking facility for this pub so we left our vehicle in the public car park which meant we needed to go across early in the mornings to renew the ticket.
Twin room, no 4, was clean and comfortable and overlooked the high street. The decor would be a matter of personal taste, with heavily patterned wallpaper on all the walls. On two mornings the noise from traffic, possibly a street cleaning vehicle, starting at around 6.30 – 7.00am woke us up. I wasn’t aware of any noise at all however from the other rooms surrounding us, or from the bar.
Double room, no 5, was clean but dark and uncomfortably stuffy due to the only source of ventilation being a small window above a fire escape door. A fan was provided in the room but proved to be inadequate. We eventually had to open the fire door to let more air in.
The en suite bathrooms in both rooms were very clean and presentable and the breakfast was very nice although was only served between 8.00 - 8.45am.
We only found out when we read the notice in our room that there is a policy of locking the door at midnight. There was no mention of this on the hotel website or at check in. It was eventually explained by the owner that the 12 o’clock rule was introduced to deter night clubbers from coming in at 2 or 3 in the morning and waking other guests but that arrangements could be made if we asked. However we had already discovered previously during our stay that it was impossible to obtain a definitive answer from staff although we enquired many times, including to the owner who told my husband she ‘would have to discuss later’. On one evening a member of staff did kindly say she might still be around a little later than midnight and asked if we were ‘going to a party because nowhere in Barmouth stays open as late as the Tal y Don’ (not actually correct) Although we turned out not to need it that night, the following day, we had to leave the venue where we were meeting up with old friends before the evening had finished for fear of being locked out!
We quite like the Tal y Don as a pub and have visited for a drink many times in the past, however, we would be unlikely stay there again unless the locked door rule changed as it is important to us when we take a much needed break from work not to be limited by restrictions which may inhibit our relaxation, enjoyment and freedom to choose our social activities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missdizzy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a great example of good, clean, friendly 3 star accommodation. It is right above the bar but we never heard any noise and to be honest we would have been the ones making it lol. Very friendly check in, rooms big enough, very clean and plenty of tea and coffee in room, decoration all in good order and everything in good working order etc. Nice bathroom which was also very clean. Breakfasts were lovely and as there are only 8 rooms it is quite nice and homely so not like a canteen in the mornings. We ate in the bar one night and again the food was very good, the bar does get busy but shuts at midnight. The Tal y Don is in a great location although there is no parking but we found a small car park just up the road by the Antique Shop and he only charged us £4 for 2 days. All in all would recommend this little hotel but Barmouth was a bit quiet for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Had a great night here while visiting the sea side
Room clean and all the mod cons
food great both breakfast and evening meal
Very family friendly
will visit again if on the area
also we had no noise from outside but the weather was not great I guess but i dont think it would have been bad if the sun was out either

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dad2work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just returned from a great week-end at the Tal Y Don. We had room 9 which was very quiet but we would'nt have minded as we enjoyed a drink in the bar with the locals. Staff friendly and breakfast was very good. We enjoyed sitting in the garden late Saturday afternoon as we were lucky enough to have sun until nearly 7 o clock.(Take care its a sun trap I have a burnt nose.)
Room was lovely we could not fault it.
.

Room Tip: If you want it quiet ask for room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunphys_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have just returned from Barmouth and had a fabulous stay at the Tal-y-Don, great staff, great food and a fabulous room, The bar staff get to know you and always remember your tipple, breakfast was fabulous, and wow what a Sunday lunch, tender beef and fabulous home roasted potatoes and real freak vegetables, so much better than the normal pub grub straight out of a freezer! For a trip to the seaside this little gem is a must ..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallace126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were delighted to find this pub on the coastal path. Clean and spacious room. Great prices in bar for good food. Really great kippers in morning. Staff very helpful and kind. Thank you

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
Thank pammiewallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crystal House
Crystal House
#14 of 24 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#1 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lawrenny Lodge
Lawrenny Lodge
#5 of 24 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tal Y Don Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tal Y Don Hotel

Property: Tal Y Don Hotel
Address: High Street, Barmouth LL42 1DL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tal Y Don Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 5 individually-styled double en-suite bedrooms. The entire hotel is strictly non-smoking, apart from the bar. Please note that due to stair access to accommodation, bedrooms are not suitable for disabled people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Tal Y Don Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tal Y Don Hotel Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing