We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our second home”
Review of Min-y-mor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Min-y-mor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Reviewed December 9, 2013

i would just like to say a few things about my stays at the min y mor. I have stayed here on many occasions for week long stays & many weekends over the past 5 years. I can honestly say that I have never ever been disappointed with the service and value for money this place offers in this day and age. The owner and the staff are always very welcoming and happy to accommodate any of your needs. The breakfast and food is always spot on, especially the Sunday roast! the rooms are always clean & warm with plenty of extra bedding & pillows. The sea views are incredible & sunsets even better!! I cannot fault any of my experiences at this hotel & I am the type of person not shy to bring attention to something I wasn't happy with but this has never been the case.
on my most recent stay for my wives & sons birthday we ended up staying 2 extra nights and didn't want to leave haha

will be returning again very soon wendy & mark

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, General Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hello, Thanks for your wonderful review! We are very glad you enjoy your visits and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 337 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

We were both looking forward to our weekend stay, we'd paid quite a bit and expected some luxury, but our ground floor room turned out to be very pokey with 2 single beds that were so hard it was like sleeping on the floor, at least it was mostly clean, (except for the kettle which I needed to wash before using) The bathroom was ultra modern and spotless, but the horror was there were absolutely no blinds or curtains to the window!! We couldn't put the light on in there when it was dark for fear of being seen from outside. Also the bedroom had no nets, so we had to draw the curtains and put the light on to get changed, and this from a hotel that claims to care for the environment... yeah right! :P
Barmouth is a truly beautiful place, but the scenic view from our window?..... a grotty car park and the top of a caravan! We had to walk past a fire door to get to our room, but this door was always open and the smell of rotting rubbish from the huge bins outside was sickening. We asked if we could change rooms but were told this wasn't possible, and clearly our request did not sit well with them as we received a look of contempt.
The breakfast was lovely on the first morning, but on the second, (bearing in mind this was after we had asked to move rooms), we were treated to burnt toasted crusts, no butter, and dirty cutlery. Thank goodness we only stayed 2 nights. All in all a very unpleasant stay which we will not be repeating :(

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, General Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Hello, Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay! I am glad you liked the new bathroom in your room but sorry to hear you did not like the built in beds most of our customers find them comfortable. Our twin rooms do consist of two single beds this is very usual in this country. All of our ground floor rooms have nets to both bathroom and bedroom.
I can assure you that you were not given an inferior breakfast on the second day due to complaining if you didn't have any butter and were given burnt toast or dirty cutlery you should have mentioned it to one of our helpful waitresses who i am sure would have rectified the problems!
Sorry for any oversights from our side.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I was driving late afternoon next town ahead and found a kind of italian food truck where the gently owner has booked a room in this hotel for me.
Great price breakfast inclusive and nice bar for last call!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seba_fdez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, General Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thanks for your review we hope to welcome you again if you are visiting the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed from Friday to Monday. The staff, food and hotel were great. We had a lovely stay and the friendly and helpful staff made it hassle free on all counts.
We had a great sea view in a spacious and well equipped room
We didn't get to see all that's in the area, so we'll be back

Room Tip: Ask about the choices, the staff are very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, Guest Relations Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thanks for your review we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

stayed on a 2 night package on8/9th nov. on arriving the place had a lovely homely feeling and we where welcomed at reception. we where given room 2 which although adequate needed some tlc. wallpaper peeling and shower could not be adjusted so hadto bend down (bath tap didnt work) that aside we had a fab time. curry on friday was the best i have had for a long time and our meal on saturday was superb. helen the owner was very friendly and i noticed often walked round to chat to customers. all in all gr8 place and good value for money. will definitly be returning. p.s. as a forenote when leaving i spoke to receptionist about room and she told me they where gradually renovating rooms so look forward to having one of those in the new year.pps. bed was so comfy and room was spotless.keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheridan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thanks for your honest review, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and intend to come back. thanks for mentioning the bath tap and shower we have since rectified these problems.
I will pass on your compliments to our wonderful kitchen team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Very nice welcome, got a sea view room at a reduced price, which was lovely. The room was tastefully decorated and very clean. Great view! Fell asleep to the sound of the crashing waves. Lovely place!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uli70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thanks for your positive review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and upgraded room. We always try to give guests the best available room.
We hope you will consider us again when visiting Wales or recommend us to friends and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My family and I visited the Min Y Mor Hotel this October half term for Sunday Lunch.(we were caravanning just up the road). After being dragged around every pub, cafe, hotel etc in Barmouth looking at menue content and prices my husband finally settled on returning to the Min y Mor (incidently we saw this first as it had been recommended by some one off the site).

I have to say that I was more than pleased with the wonderful fresh food that was prepared and cooked to perfection. The amount of fresh vegetables laid before us was immense so much so that we could not eat it all.( I have been to a resteraunt once where my husband and I had to fight over the one broccoli spear and the one cauliflower florette we were given).

The standard of service was brilliant, warm and welcoming and there was absolutely no pressure for us to vacate as soon as we had finished which was brilliant. We were allowed to make use of their childrens room despite not being hotel guests.

We ended up having a very pleasant afternoon in the hotel and not just a quick lunch.

Thank you to all the staff especially the waitress that served us. She was great.

The Sadgroves

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Janette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thanks very much for the lovely review! we are very pleased you enjoyed your meal and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Barmouth. Why not try our curry night or main menu next time.
I will pass on your feedback to our wonderful chef and waitresses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
397 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tal Y Don Hotel
Tal Y Don Hotel
#14 of 24 in Barmouth
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#3 of 24 in Barmouth
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#1 of 24 in Barmouth
166 reviews
1.4 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 4 in Llanaber
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Min-y-mor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Min-y-mor Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Barmouth LL42 1HW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Price Range: $116 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Min y Mor Hotel is ideally located on the Promenade in the picturesque town of Barmouth in North Wales.The Min y Mor Hotel has a licensed restaurant, Lounge Bar, Bar, Family room and Function Room, all are open to non residents as well as residents. The Restaurant has a good reputation locally and among visitors alike with our Chefs traditional and vegetarian dishes using the best market ingredients available and in generous quantities. The residents Menu is changed daily. All special diets can be catered for with prior notice.All the rooms in the hotel are en-suite and have Tea/Coffee making facilities, TV and Telephone.A few short steps from the hotel and you'll find yourself on the sandy beach of Cardigan Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Min-y-mor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Min-y-Mor Hotel Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing