We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY ENJOYABLE KGB DEAL”
Review of Min-y-mor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Min-y-mor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Chester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“VERY ENJOYABLE KGB DEAL”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just returned from a very enjoyable stay at the Min y Mor hotel, and would have no hesitation in going back. Having read some of the negative reviews of this hotel we were a bit apprehensive about going but we need not have had any worries. We stayed in room 4, which, OK was not the biggest room we have ever had but it was adequate for a short break. It needs to be up-dated and a little bit of TLC given. Furniture was very dark but there was plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, bed very comfortable and the bed linen spotless. Loads of tea/coffee/milk/sugar supplied along with 2 pkts of biscuits every day which you sometimes don`t get. It was very cold when we arrived but the room was lovely and warm, we thought that the heating must be on and it would cool down, but, it was the hot water pipes that made it so hot, a little too hot for our liking but better that than being cole. The bathroom was quite large and once again needs to be updated, the bath panel was broken in places and the wallpaper which was imitation tiling was coming off in places. We prefer a bath so did not use the shower, but the bath was very deep, lovely for a long lie in the constant hot water. Bathroom very clean and sparkling so not complaints about that, and the towels nice and white and fluffly. The bathroom and bedroom windows need to have either nets or blinds on them as the room looked out over private housing, so not a lot of privacy in bathroom and bedroom, curtains had to be closed when getting changed. Having said all that, it was a very quiet room, never heard a thing from outside whilst we were there. We found the staff very pleasant and helpful, especially Ben who should be the employee of the month if the hotel has that facility. We ate in the restaurant the first night and the food was excellent, once again the staff were very attentive. We had booked the 3 day deal but, because the weather was not good and forecast was for heavy rain and winds, we decided to check out a day early. This was nothing to do with the hotel, they cannot do anything about the weather, and, from check in to check out we had no complaints on that score. We entered the quiz on the Sunday night which we never normally enter and, came last, but thoroughly enjoyed it. Ate out on our second night as we thought we should try the local cuisine, food at the Anchor restaurant excellent, try the fish pie if you like that type of thing. Lobster pot on the harbour has the biggest breakfast we have ever had, (arrived before check in time had this for our lunch on first day.) Ignore the negative comments, you have to go to these places and try them for yourself.

Room Tip: Room 4 is on the 1st floor, quite steep staircase, on the side and has sea view. Very quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, Guest Relations Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thanks for your positive review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back and visit us again soon. why not join our Facebook page or check our website for future offers. Thanks for mentioning the broken bath panel and lack of blind or net I will ensure that these Minor Issues are rectified as soon as possible. We have already fully refurbished several of the bathrooms recently and will continue to do so over the next year.
P.S We will try to order some sunshine for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    95
    52
    24
    16
See reviews for
63
152
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

we stayed for 2 nights on a kgb deal. the room was clean and comfortable if a tad on the small side although the bathroom was quite big. really nice breakfast, very well cooked with a perfect fried egg. we ate in the hotel for one of the nights and the food was very good but the service was a little slow due to a large birthday party being catered for. the waitress did apologise for this but as we did book a table previously it was a little disappointing. no sea view as we were at the back of the hotel but it didn't spoil our stay. would definitely go back. the saffron curry house in barmouth was fantastic and very reasonable.

Room Tip: room 26 is on the ground floor at the rear of hotel no noise from the bar area where karaoke was goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nannyknowsbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, Guest Relations Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thanks for your positive review! we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and are intending to come back again in future. please don't forget to look at our website or join our facebook page for future special offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I thought I`d already put this review on, but can`t see it, so sorry if I`m repeating myself.
Min y mor location was ideal. Quiet, lovely beach and only a short walk to the busier areas and the harbour. That is where the good review ends really.
Our room number 5 was awful. The view was a rusty fire escape, right up against the window and at least three rooves. Outside the window were some air conditioning units for the hotel that droned all day and most of the night. We couldn`t close the window because the room was being heated by some hot water pipes that passed through the bedroom and bathroom making it roasting hot! Not what you need after a day in the sun.
The room was small and past it`s best, a bit dated and the shower was one of those awful mixer showers that are either scalding hot or freezing cold, changing every few seconds, torture.
We didn`t complain until we left as it was only for two nights and they were fully booked, so I don`t think that they could have moved us.
We went on a KGB voucher, so I thought they would trying to impress us so that we would go back. I couldn`t have been more wrong.
The food was nice, but the second night we ate near the harbour.
I think other people at the front of the hotel must have had a better experience, with nicer rooms and views.
A shame, because it was our first ever visit to Barmouth. That`s why we went on a cheap deal, just incase it wasn`t for us, we wouldn`t have lost too much. I wouldn`t have paid full price for that room. I feel sorry for people who have.
We`ll be back, we loved Barmouth, maybe even at the Min y mor, but definitely not in room number 5!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 288Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, Guest Relations Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hello, Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your room as we are such an old building the rooms do vary in terms of size and quality. Admittedly room 5 is not one of our best rooms and is small and overlooking a fire escape which is a necessary evil! If you do decide to try us again in future please look at our website for room pictures and you can select your room depending on availability of course! Our rooms are allocated on a first come first served basis so we allocate the best rooms first unless people have made specific requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just returned fron this hotel and I will be going back.Comfortable and clean family hotel right on the sea front.The chef is excellent. All the meals we had over the 2 days were splendid.
The room was very pleasent.We did not have a sea view but not a problem. A really good value hotel in a good spot a great base to see the beautiful area

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 121susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, Public Relations Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thanks for your review, We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will pass your compliments to our chef's. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea,Wales,
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel.It was only a 2 star but it was clean,comfy and the food was first class.Ate in the restaurant for 2 of the three nights we stayed.The staff were efficient and friendly.The hotel proved an excellent base to stay.Will definitely come again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank telboy1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, Guest Relations Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks for your feedback we are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had three nights at the Min Y Mor which was quite enjoyable. The hotel is in need of some upgrading but our room although small was adequate for a short stay. I must say though the bathroom was the smallest we've ever had, but still adequate with complimentary toiletries and plenty of hot water. The bed was comfy, there was plenty of wardrobe and drawer space and tea and coffee making facilities plus biscuits. We also had a small television and there was free wi-fi available in the public areas. Breakfast was good, the usual cereal, fruit juice, fruit and full English with a plentiful supply of tea and coffee, all served by cheerful staff. I would have liked to have had yogurt with my fruit but that's just a small niggle. We ate in the restaurant on two evenings and enjoyed both meals which were hot and tasty and fairly priced. The desserts were yummy too.

The hotel is a stone's throw away from the beach which is long, sandy and flat, handy for an evening stroll to help your evening meal go down!! The town of Barmouth is within walking distance too with it's pubs, shops and other amenities. We would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cymraes191267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, Public Relations Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks for your feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the meals you had while you were with us. As you can appreciate with an old building some rooms and bathrooms are bigger than others if you decided to stay with us again you can request a larger room when available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Hotel is overlooking the beach with fantastic views.
As we had only paid £69 for 2 nights bed and breakfast we were not expecting a great deal, we were however pleasantly surprised.
The accommodation was clean and all the usual soaps,tea and coffee and biscuits present.
Rooms were clean.
Food was really good,so good in fact we ate in the restaurant both nights.
I cannot understand the negative comments made by some reviewers, as we found the hotel staff and the clientele very friendly and chatty.
Would definitely stay again in the future if there is a KGB deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barney-rabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, Public Relations Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for your excellent and honest review it is nice to get positive feedback in light of a couple of recent negative reviews! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in future. Please consider joining our Facebook page for forthcoming special offers.
I will pass on your compliments to our chef's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barmouth
0.8 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
375 reviews
5.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
1.4 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
417 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#2 of 24 in Barmouth
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Min-y-mor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Min-y-mor Hotel

Property: Min-y-mor Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Barmouth LL42 1HW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Min y Mor Hotel is ideally located on the Promenade in the picturesque town of Barmouth in North Wales.The Min y Mor Hotel has a licensed restaurant, Lounge Bar, Bar, Family room and Function Room, all are open to non residents as well as residents. The Restaurant has a good reputation locally and among visitors alike with our Chefs traditional and vegetarian dishes using the best market ingredients available and in generous quantities. The residents Menu is changed daily. All special diets can be catered for with prior notice.All the rooms in the hotel are en-suite and have Tea/Coffee making facilities, TV and Telephone.A few short steps from the hotel and you'll find yourself on the sandy beach of Cardigan Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Min-y-mor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Min-y-Mor Hotel Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing