We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay”
Review of Min-y-mor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Min-y-mor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had three nights at the Min Y Mor which was quite enjoyable. The hotel is in need of some upgrading but our room although small was adequate for a short stay. I must say though the bathroom was the smallest we've ever had, but still adequate with complimentary toiletries and plenty of hot water. The bed was comfy, there was plenty of wardrobe and drawer space and tea and coffee making facilities plus biscuits. We also had a small television and there was free wi-fi available in the public areas. Breakfast was good, the usual cereal, fruit juice, fruit and full English with a plentiful supply of tea and coffee, all served by cheerful staff. I would have liked to have had yogurt with my fruit but that's just a small niggle. We ate in the restaurant on two evenings and enjoyed both meals which were hot and tasty and fairly priced. The desserts were yummy too.

The hotel is a stone's throw away from the beach which is long, sandy and flat, handy for an evening stroll to help your evening meal go down!! The town of Barmouth is within walking distance too with it's pubs, shops and other amenities. We would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cymraes191267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, Public Relations Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks for your feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the meals you had while you were with us. As you can appreciate with an old building some rooms and bathrooms are bigger than others if you decided to stay with us again you can request a larger room when available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    91
    49
    24
    16
See reviews for
58
145
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Hotel is overlooking the beach with fantastic views.
As we had only paid £69 for 2 nights bed and breakfast we were not expecting a great deal, we were however pleasantly surprised.
The accommodation was clean and all the usual soaps,tea and coffee and biscuits present.
Rooms were clean.
Food was really good,so good in fact we ate in the restaurant both nights.
I cannot understand the negative comments made by some reviewers, as we found the hotel staff and the clientele very friendly and chatty.
Would definitely stay again in the future if there is a KGB deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barney-rabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, Public Relations Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for your excellent and honest review it is nice to get positive feedback in light of a couple of recent negative reviews! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in future. Please consider joining our Facebook page for forthcoming special offers.
I will pass on your compliments to our chef's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel stood at reception for a couple of minutes, gentleman came, I asked if dinner was still being served, No we finish at 9 after a 2 & half hour journey I couldn't be bothered to question it but ask for somewhere local all losed, chip shop, will be closed, we were checked in and bringing the bags in passes a waiter carrying food into the bar so wouldn't really have been to hard to serve us! Found a super chip shop near the station anyway.
Hotel has paper thin walls so much so you can hear floor boards creak in the next room when someone moves about!
Breakfast however was hot and served promptly.
If I was to stay again it would be due to location.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, Public Relations Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
I was disappointed to hear that you were not happy with not being able to get food after 9 pm but would like to remind you we are a small seaside hotel with a very busy and popular restaurant and bar . We only advertise serving food until 8.30 however sometimes continue later during very busy periods. All our food is home made and cooked freshly to order and so the food you saw being delivered may well have been ordered thirty minutes or more prior. If you do decide to stay with us again and will be arriving late please feel free to contact us and make a reservation to dine. I appreciate that in larger area's food is more readily available later in the evening however in small towns like Barmouth this is not the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We went to the hotel for 2 nights on a KGB deal for my hubby's 65th birthday-we also booked a room for our friends who traveled with us.Both rooms were spotless clean and beds were great-very comfy..
Our friends room overlooked the car park and ours looked out over the back of the hotel..not much of a view but it was quiet as was our friends rooms..
The main problem was the showers--both very hard to regulate from taps in bath...either scalding hot--dangerously so-or cold....
the other 'niggly' problem was the smell of cigarette smoke outside the 'staff quarters'? As we entered the hotel from the side door in car park there are what appears to be stairs to staff rooms-- but also there was a bedroom on ground floor with door open-maybe a guest was smoking in there---I dont know but it was horrible to walk through--very very strong smell..
Couldnt fault the breakfast-or service at all....
We had a laugh listening to the karaoke on the Saturday night-and joined in the (free) quiz on the Sunday--and enjoyed both.
A lovely touch was a birthday card for my hubby at our table for breakfast with a voucher for a free drink in there...
We would all return here again..its not to far to walk into Barmouth itself..lovely views from the beer garden...-forgot to get photos of room--a first for me--but did get a few pics of the view from front of the hotel..
There was no wi-fi in the room which was a shame...but can cope for a couple of days lol!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianejennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thanks for your review we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you will consider us for other special occasions. Thanks for noting the hot water issue I will get someone to have a look at the showers on the ground floor ( we have had a few problems with our boilers recently but hope they will be rectified soon).

In terms of WiFi as we are such an old building with thick walls we are unable to offer wifi in all rooms however it is available in the bar and reception and other communal area's.
I was glad to hear that your rooms were spotlessly clean and will pass on your feedback to our housekeepers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is beautifully situated, overlooking the sea at the end of a long sandy beach.It is a 2 star hotel so our expectations were not particularly high; we just wanted a clean comfortable base for a couple of days walking in the lovely hills around Barmouth.
Our room was cramped and shabby, overlooking the bins. One of us had to crawl in and out of bed as the sloped ceiling made sitting up distinctly dangerous.The bathroom was a decent size and clean but totally without amenities-no stool, no hook on the door,nothing. This meant that when having a bath or a shower, clothes and towels had to be piled on the floor, which was far from satisfactory. The shower seemed to be relatively new but possibly fitted by someone vertically challenged-at its most stretched, it reached my shoulder.
The Restaurant Manager at breakfast was all that you could want of a restaurant manager-attentive, efficient and good humoured. There was plenty of food but unfortunately of a poor quality-cheap sliced bread, poor coffee, tasteless eggs.We had booked through KGB with an offer that included a bottle of wine when we dined in the restaurant. We booked dinner on our second night but when we went to eat were told, rudely, I'm afraid, that the offer applied to the first night only. The voucher absolutely does not state this anywhere. The Duty Manager said "they were always having this problem with kgb customers". His manner was very poor and he gave a clear impression that kgb visitors were a nuisance.
Because of this man's attitude, we cancelled our dinner reservation and went elsewhere so for the sake of a bottle of wine costing the hotel presumably no more than £5, it lost £35 to £40 and generated ill will. This is not a sensible way to run a hotel.
We were checked out by the owner/manageress. I told her we had been disappointed by our stay. She acknowledged that our room had not been "one of their best"-reserved for kgb customers possibly? In relation to the wine offer, she said that kgb "had put pressure on her" to make this a first night only offer. She did not feel it was her responsibility or that of her staff to inform customers of this. (I later contacted kgb who were unable to confirm that this was the case) Her manner was defensive and off-hand. The clear impression received was that kgb customers were second class citizens and at her hotel on sufference.
I had always assumed that establishments that adverised special offers through sites like kgb do so in order to showcase their hotels. In the past, I have had some lovely breaks with kgb and returned to several of them with plans to return to others. I would not return to this hotel and would not recommend it to anyone I cared abou.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 63andout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
I was sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. Our ground floor rooms have recently been refurbished so I am sorry if they were not to your liking.
Thanks for bringing to our attention that you could smell the bins when passing the side entrance we have since moved them! The Hotel is non smoking and has a designated smoking shelter.
In terms of the quality of our food we use sausages and bacon from an award winning butchers and only free range eggs on our breakfasts and the coffee although instant with breakfast is nescaffe and the bread for toast is Kingsmill or Hovis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ammanford
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great value for money. Very very hot water, newly decorated and furnished bedroom was very comfortable. Breakfast was served, tasty and plentiful.
Excellent quiet residents' lounge and good lounge bar with real ale. Dinner was a lttle pricey but very good. We enjoyed our 3 night (kgb) stay and would certainly come again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betwsphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, Public Relations Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for your review we are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and hope you will consider us for future trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Having stayed on many occasions our last visit was equally lovely. Helen and her staff are a credit to this comfortable place to stay which is endorsed by the many lovely local people who patronise this establishment.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShropshireCobblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for your review we are glad to hear that you appreciated the ambiance , food and our wonderful team of friendly staff and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#2 of 23 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tal Y Don Hotel
Tal Y Don Hotel
#11 of 23 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#3 of 23 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal House
Crystal House
#13 of 23 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Min-y-mor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Min-y-mor Hotel

Property: Min-y-mor Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Barmouth LL42 1HW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Min y Mor Hotel is ideally located on the Promenade in the picturesque town of Barmouth in North Wales.The Min y Mor Hotel has a licensed restaurant, Lounge Bar, Bar, Family room and Function Room, all are open to non residents as well as residents. The Restaurant has a good reputation locally and among visitors alike with our Chefs traditional and vegetarian dishes using the best market ingredients available and in generous quantities. The residents Menu is changed daily. All special diets can be catered for with prior notice.All the rooms in the hotel are en-suite and have Tea/Coffee making facilities, TV and Telephone.A few short steps from the hotel and you'll find yourself on the sandy beach of Cardigan Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Min-y-mor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Min-y-Mor Hotel Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing