We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Arden cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of ARDEN HOUSE 322645

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The accommodation is over four floors and is larger than it looks from the outside.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
32 reviews
The accommodation is over four floors and is larger than it looks from the outside.
Theres a new dressing table for getting ready for an evening out.
Fully equipped kitchen which we hope has everything you need.
The kitchen has a roomy dining space with a table which opens out for more dining comfort.
The paddle staircase up to the attic room.Note: Not suitable for elderly or very young.
Up the paddle staircase into the attic room.
The attic room. Teenagers just love it!
Enjoy beautiful sunsets.
Fancy Christmas away this year, or maybe a short break when all the fuss is over?
Special occasion? How about wine and chocolates? Just let the owner know.
Stable Door - ideal for hot summer days and keeping pets and children safely inside.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Barmouth, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stephen a
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Arden cottage”
Reviewed May 1, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage located in the middle of barmouth had a great holiday would go again train station 3 minutes walk and the beach is only 5 minutes away cottage was lovely bigger than it looks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2018
Ideal location for getting in by train from all over the country, leave the car at home ......!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beccinich...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed April 2, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic house great location loved our stay but parking is an issue!! But would not put us off staying here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2018
Arden House is the perfect location for all your Holiday needs with close proximity to everything,but, unfortunately comes at a small price in terms of parking.
There are places to park ,however, we can’t guarantee you will get a space very close by to the cottage (as we don’t have a driveway)
We are seriously considering renting a permanent parking space at the Church Hall on St Johns Hill and charge a relatively small fee for it and then at least it would be available to our guests all year round and avoid the hassle of trying to find a parking space especially in very busy peak times like Easter,Summer and Bank Holiday periods etc...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 19, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2018
Hi Stella ,
Thank you for your review ,much appreciated.
We are situated in a great location for all available amenities right on your doorstep — Park the car and don’t use it again until it’s time to leave .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lucykathe...
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything you need”
Reviewed November 14, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The cottage was brilliantly located if you don't want to get in your car for a few days. Nice and cosy on arrival and quickly made ourselves at home. It says it's fine for under 5,s but the stairs to the top floor are pretty steep and our very agile 4yr old struggled. Really good shower and lots of great kitchen equipment. We did find the double bed very uncomfortable due to its firmness but that is down to personal choice. All in all a great cottage, would highly recommend it.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2017
We have now changed description of attic bedroom to be unsuitable for under 5s .The mattress is all down to personal taste and we can’t unfortunately accommodate everybody’s preferences ,we have had it for 3 seasons so is due for renewal which we can look in to replacing with a different type perhaps ?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C
1 review
“A Wonderful, Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed October 29, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This is a lovely cottage, very conveniently located for all amenities and containing everything you possibly need for a chilled break. We felt completely at home here, as did our dogs, despite Storm Brian. There are some great pubs in Barmouth, lovely cafes and interesting shops - all right on your doorstep! The beech - for 'walkies' - is just a short stroll away. All in all - wonderful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2017
We are very pleased that you had a good stay and many thanks for tightening the kitchen tap / we owe you for the spanners that you bought to do it !
You are very welcome to return and please recommend Arden House to friends,family & work colleagues .....
Best Wishes ,
Adrian & Lillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suz23
merseyside
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely homely cottage.”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Spent 4 nights in this lovely home from home cottage. It had everything and more you could think of. So very central for all amenities including beach. We all enjoyed ourselves including our little dog Oscar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2017
We are very pleased that Oscar enjoyed himself and yourselves of course please return again and recommend us to all your friends,family or work colleagues....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank R
Solingen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I want to recommend for walkers ”
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The first impression we had, it's really small. Now after almost 6 days the size of the cottage is no longer a challenge. Rather there are lot of details we would have solved different.
Finally it keeps an old house. One of the disadvantages is humidity, what makes the house smell.
What we finally missed was stowage for our clothes.
On the other side the cottage is well equipped and lot of details show that it is not an income property rather a place for the family.
With all the nice surrounding I gladly recommended this cottage for other guests coming here to walk.

Rating more 3 than 4 but definitely above average.

F. Riering

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2017
Yes thank you for your comments ,we do use it ourselves so we know what is needed for guests and yes being an old property there are always issues with humidity and poor air circulation causing musty odours which we have countered with an onsite portable de humidifier in the basement lounge area which we do encourage people to use .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing