We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous long weekend!”
other travelers have booked this property
Amazing view of the house from the estuary
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Amazing view of the house from the estuary
Family fun on the Sandbanks Dining table for 20 persons
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Amazing view of the house from the estuary
Family fun on the Sandbanks
Dining table for 20 persons
Dining room seating
Sitting room
Entrance Hall
flying kites on the sandbanks
Main Kitchen
Main Kitchen
Back Kitchen
Main Bathroom
1st Floor Shower room
A Super King bedroom
A Super King bedroom
view from the bedroom window
Sitting room
fun on the sandbanks
Pergola with Sun shade for alfesco dining
Table Tennis table
Pergola with Sun shade for alfesco dining
BBQ in garden
Evening fishing
Estuary sandbanks on doorstep
The main front view of the property
The original house name Brohyfyrd - welsh for a beautiful place
Sea wall view
Beautiful view of Barmouth Bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
9 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 19
Barmouth, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Adele B
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous long weekend!”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

15 of us stayed for a long weekend to celebrate my Dad's birthday. The house is full of character, offers loads of space and is beautifully presented.The bedrooms are large and spacious and the dining room was perfect for hosting a celebration meal. The kitchen is very well equipped and having two dishwashers was a great help!.
The views are outstanding,, looking across the estuary as the sun was setting on my Dad's special birthday was magical!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill D
Belton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous stay”
Reviewed May 17, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Fantastic stay, party of 19, stayed over the bank holiday. Everything we could have wanted. Great layout, 9 very roomy bedrooms. Lovely toilets. Clean and tidy. The kitchen offers 2 dishwashers, which was a great asset with so many of us. Great out side space, offering a ping pong table. Barbeque area is a focal point . . Linen was nice and fresh and clean, including towels . Lovely walks on the doorstep, fantastic views. 20 minute walk into Barmouth over the estuary bridge. A great stay with family in a great house, We will visit again. Thanks for a brilliant stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2018
Thank you Jill, I'm so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Bethany
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Perfect house in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed April 18, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Our group of 8 adults and 10 Children (aged 2 to 11) absolutely loved our stay on the Mawddach estuary. The property is beautifully presented with lots of character but also very practical....two dishwashers and endless hot water meant we never had to worry about waiting for anything. The dining table that easily sat all 18 of us was a real focal point and the high ceilings meant everything felt in proportion. Having said all that the best thing is the views and the setting.....wow to wake up to that in the morning is something! We talked over the railway bridge (watch out for the troll!) to Barmouth, the ice cream shop on the harbour side was very popular and took a ferry boat over to Fairbourne and it’s miniture rail line, you can then walk back to the house.....a good round trip. The kids loved the table tennis in the back gardan and we even tried to catch some fish using the house rods. All in all we are already planning our next stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spacious house - great location”
Reviewed August 30, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The location is terrific, right by the water's edge. At any state of the tide there is always something of interest to look at. If you wake early in the morning, when the mountains opposite are swathed in mist, there is a heron that fishes right in front of the house, until the humans start to make noises and it flies away.

We enjoyed sitting out in front by the fire-pit in the dark after the grand-children were in bed - though you do end up smelling of wood smoke! There seems to be plenty of dead wood in the trees behind the house for fuel.

The only slight niggle about the house was a lack of storage/hanging space in the bedrooms, so we ended up living mostly out of the suitcases, but since we were not dressing in fancy clothes it really wasn't a problem.

There is lots to do in the area, the nearest beach is Fairbourne which is nice but has a large bank of pebbles to be crossed to reach the sand. Barmouth has a good beach and a harbour good for fishing for crabs, but is not as close as you would think, since you have to drive around the estuary. It is as quick to walk across the railway bridge, if you are not too loaded down. There are also the usual seaside facilities in Barmouth, like amusemant arcades and fish-and-chip shops.

We also visited Aberdovey/Aberdyfi which has a nice sandy beach, but the riverside beach is not suitable for swimming because of the strong current. On the day we were there, many dinghies were busy racing around in the estuary (I think there was a regatta on).

We also did a trip on the Welsh Highland Railway, and explored Carnarvon/Caernarfon Castle before returning. The grand-children loved cimbing up and down the towers and walls of the castle. The railway journey is quite long, so you might want to be armed with colouring books or something if you have young ones. For the adults, the scenery is enough, but children can get bored.

We were lucky with the weather, so only had one misty day, we went to the forest park at Coed-y-Brennin, on the road north from Dolgellau, which was fun, though the children spent most of their time on the slides, swings and play apparatus, whilst the adults sipped coffee!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phallam1
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful House - Great family get away”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Everybody within our party (13 of us age 72 - 11) have had a wonderful time celebrating our Mums 70th and mine and my husbands 40th's.
The house is amazing, the decor is so well thought out and we couldn't believe how well equipped it is, they really have thought of everything.

My 11 year old son, three nephews (26,23 &22), Dad, brothers & husband have loved fishing and crabbing at the front of the house and playing table tennis in the rear garden.

The walk into Barmouth is stunning from the house and something we've all enjoyed doing daily.

Thank you to the owners for the restaurant recommendations we ate at the Royal Ship on Saturday night and it was lovely. We also had a nice meal at the George 3rd hotel by the toll bridge on our last night and due to the good weather we were able to make full use of the BBQ at the house.

We would love to return again to this beautiful house in its stunning surroundings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen J
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous house in one of the best settings in Wales”
Reviewed March 14, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Inside, the house has everything you need for a large family/ friends gathering. There were twelve adults and three children in our party and there was still plenty of room. The house is equipped to a very high standard, and we didn't want for anything. Outside, you have mid-Wales literally on your doorstep in the shape of the Mawddach estuary 'awsome'. There's cycle and walking trails. Mountains to climb, water for kayaking, fishing, swimming. Beaches to stroll along or you can just sit back and admire the scenery! All in all a most refreshing and relaxing venue.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed June 23, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this location for a 40th birthday weekend with 6 adults, 4 children.(17,14,13&6)
The property is fantastic and very comfortable with loads of space.
The location is just amazing with awesome views.
The property has absolutely everything you need with the town of Barmouth only a steady 20-30 min walk away.
We would certainly return for another stay. All the party cannot speak highly enough of this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: An afternoon of Welsh weather!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing