We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveler rating
256
79
34
17
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
256
79
34
17
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews superior caravan sands complex indoor pool beautiful caravan bed caravan on arrival central heating fantastic holiday play area gorgeous beach club bar lovely weather harlech castle amusement arcade direct access to the beach fish and chips lovely park
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 410 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

Just returned from 3 night stay greeting upon arrival was very good however following this found the staff to be quite abrupt and not very friendly. Caravan lovely and no complaints on that score would recommended the accommodation with no hesitation but don’t expect the staff to be any great shakes. Acknowledge the Sands complex is separate but service and staff here not great either the 1957 bar/restaurant was superb and much preferred this and the arcade and takeaway on the other site. Superb location. Park would benefit from its own bar/restaurant

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank feebeeNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Barmouth Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Thanks for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation and would also recommend it. We appreciate your feedback on our customer service and will be passing this back to the park to review. As the leisure complex is run externally, we're unable to help with improvements on this. It is great that you feel it is a superb location and we do hope that you will be back to visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

caravan exceptional,sited away from noise,and wonderful views.Only went swimming once open plan changing rooms not for those that are shy! Entertainment on our arrival weekend,was outdoors and luckily good weather. Play area is small,as is the games area for football/basketball.Close to beach,pebbly to start,but okay after that. Beach and water are very clean. now the bad-next to the site is sands,nothing to do apparently with barmouth bay park,but its used often by people on holiday.Shop is okay,some items overpriced,but some quite reasonable.Small amusement arcade,good for younger kids mainly.Fish and chips and pizza place pretty reasonable on price,and taste good too.The sands "pub" is something else.Unwelcoming is an understatment.never ate in there.Obviously, to us, people who owned caravans got served first even when the bar was full.Best food we had was at the islawrffordd caravan park,almost next to barmouth bay. The pub there very welcoming,if a little pricier. Its called the 1957 (the year the park opened).If you want a relaxing holiday barmouth bay fits the bill perfectly.its great if you have kids and the weather is fine.If you have kids and the weather is bad you will be stuck for things to do.We will go back as we enjoyed our stay.Hope this review helps people make a choice.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Barmouth Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Thanks for your review, Chris. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will be back with us again. We're also happy to hear that you enjoyed our outdoor entertainment. As the leisure complex is run externally, we're unable to help with improvements. Please do contact them directly with feedback. We really do appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

Just returned home from a long weekend trip to Barmouth bay holiday park, with hubby and 4 kids, aged from 6 months to 10 years old. It was a last minute thing so wasn't really expecting anything fantastic but was looking forward to returning to North west Wales. Got to say I was totally impressed with both the park and our caravan. Caravan had everything you could need and more (even washing up liquid) On the doorstep of the fabulous beach was what drew us to the park and it wasn't disappointing, although the weather was (can't be helped I know) The only let down was the park didn't have its own club house, which to many people might not have been a problem but we missed one. Although there is a stand alone complex just by the park entrance which we used the club, shop and arcade. Sands club is a little rough around the edges but didn't stop us having a great couple of nights in there. They serve food and cheap drinks! Barmouth itself is a worth a visit, lots of nice shops and plenty of good places to eat. We did use the pool once while we were there, it was OK. Clean and tidy which is the main concern but had to wait a little while to go in as they only allow 33 people in at a time. All in all, a great trip, wish we could have had longer to explore the area more. Will consider returning next year.
Thanks for a good trip!

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank Michaela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Barmouth Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2018

Thanks for your review, Michaela. It's great to hear that you and your family enjoyed their stay with us. We look forward to seeing you soon and hope you have a great summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

Firstly, we had an enjoyable holiday. Check-in was fast, as was check-out. The park has a playground with a football / basketball cage and indoor pool on site. Access to fantastic, sandy beach is very close. There is a shop, take away, ice cream parlour and amusements next to the park (but not managed by the park).
However, the were a number issues we encountered during our stay at Barmouth Bay Holiday Park...
1. The caravan was a bit worse for wear - stains on seating, mildew on window frames and inside shower etc. Radiators were rusty and has clearly previously leaked.
2. The standard of cleaning prior to entry was lacking - the floors were dirty, coffee table very dusty, and cutlery was covered in sticky finger prints.
3. The Sands (and its patrons) which is not managed by the park can be quite loud - if you can be accommodated to the far end of the park away from the beach access road, then do.
4. The pool area is also worse for wear with significant mildew around its edge and the changing rooms have nowhere to securely store belongings - so take the bare minimum with you when visiting the pool.
5. The dirty bed linen which had been removed during cleaning (prior to our entry into the caravan) was left outside the caravan - this seems to be what the cleaners do, as I saw this outside other caravans too. However, it was 3 days before this bag was collected.
6. On our booking confirmation it states that check-in is from 4pm and if you are due to arrive early to let them know and they endeavour to help - providing and ‘an entertainment pass’ so you can use the facilities while you wait for the accommodation to be ready. We phoned ahead and the caravan wasn’t ready - which is fine - however no ‘entertainment pass’ was arranged and the call-back we were told would happen as soon as the caravan was ready didn’t happen.
7. GDPR?! Guest data was on the counter at reception - inc. full names, addressed and telephone numbers - in full view of all visitors. This was not just our data but others also - this seems to be how they organise arrivals. However, this is wholly unacceptable and, in fact, a breach of data protection regulations (May 2018).
Overall, I’d say go to Barmouth Bay Holiday Park with low expectations. It could be really good but the service offered let’s it facilitates and great location down.
It wasn’t terrible but it could be much better.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank NezPez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Barmouth Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018

Thanks for your review. We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We do advise guests that if there is anything wrong with the accommodation on arrival, please do let us know at Guest Services so that we can help with getting it sorted for you as quickly as possible. We appreciate your comments on the cleanliness and customer service which will be fed back to the team. We're always looking for ways to improve. In regards to guest information on counter, it is an arrivals list which has name and the ref number and caravan number checking into. There are no address details on it. We are always using feedback to help with future planning and improvements. We hope that you will come back to visit us so that you can see these in place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

We booked holiday from Monday 30th July - Friday 3rd August for 4 children and 4 adults . On arrival the caravan was dirty. The fridge and work surfaces had not been cleaned . The main bedroom had an empty bottle of wine and rubbish under the bed . The whole caravan smelt of urine . The radiator in the bathroom was covered in rusty water . I called to complain and they sent someone to look at radiator and remove rubbish .
There was only a small park for the children to play at . No entertainment in the evenings . No club house .There is a dirty club / bar next door the site, who don’t like children. We had to take the children in car most nights to a site down the road for entertainment. The site was Sunnysands , they had entertainment every night .
Wednesday evening the children were looking forward to the outside cinema . This was cancelled as it might rain . It did not rain . Children so upset .
The swimming pool was ok but the staff made the opening times up as they went along . ‘Oh we are closing early today ‘ my husband said it doesn’t say that on the listing of opening times . Their response ‘ we need to change the times on listings’.
Being the busiest time of the year the staff seemed like they couldn’t be bothered . Was such a shame as we was all looking forward to a holiday in north wales .
The beach is lovely and the town is pleasant.
We drove all the way from Kent .
The site need to sort out the entertainment for kids and clean the caravans .
We wouldn’t go back . We have been to away resorts at Sandy Balls and that was amazing .

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank CarlyT10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Barmouth Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Thanks for your review, Carly. We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.It was definitely right to come to us about your accommodation. We will definitely be looking into maintenance and also the cleaning. Entertainment is available on selected days and times. We will be looking into increasing this during peak times. Our outdoor cinema is dependent on weather and due to health and safety, we may need to cancel the screening as this is a top priority. We will also be passing back the comments to the leisure team for the swimming. We appreciate you getting in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews