We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Park!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barmouth Bay Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Market Rasen, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Park!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just got back from a lovely holiday at Barmouth Bay. When we arrived at park we were about 30 mins early for check in but Caravan was all ready for us. Staff were really friendly and informative, giving us directions to our caravan and that even though they don't own it we could use the Sand complex next door. Park is small and quiet, well designed, clean and tidy. Caravan was lovely, very clean and quite well equipped. Lovely to have central heating throughout. Our caravan had a lovely view of fields and mountains. The beach is only yards away from the park, which was very nice and clean. Lots of pebbles to climb over before you reach the sand though. Park was in a good location for touring the area, with some spectacular scenery. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Barmouth Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
I'm glad that you were pleased with your accommodation and found the teams on park to be friendly but am also glad you've mentioned the spectacular scenery Rebecca, something that seems to be missing from other reviews. I really think our park is in the ideal spot for our guests and I'm guessing you do too as you will definitely return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    65
    22
    14
    16
See reviews for
160
81
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Timperley,Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We chose based on location to the beach having done likewise for the last couple of years but in a cottage rather than caravan. We tend to spend most of our time on the beach or visiting local attractions when the weather is less clement (Harlech Castle and King Arthur’s Labyrinth both good trips nearby).

Our holiday may have been less enjoyable had we not had such fantastic weather for 5 of the 7 days and even on the 2 overcast days we had little rain.

We paid for the most expensive caravan and were a little disappointed as to how basic it was in some respects, particularly compared to some of the other “owned” properties on the site. We like to cook and the facilities were basic, we appeared to have paid extra for the space rather than having more bells and whistles and ended up investing in some additional glassware, bottle opener, scissors, sharp knife etc

The location cannot be faulted other than running the gauntlet of the narrow road that runs from Talybont village down to the site and beach (especially if you arrive at the same time as the previous week’s holidaymakers are all leaving!)

The beach is a couple of minutes away, the site was relatively clean and the staff/admin welcoming. The indoor pool a useful attraction although usage times were prohibitive(kids can only go at certain times and it shuts at 5pm) and you do feel at times that there is a “them and us” between caravan owners who use the site and those who have rented for a holiday. Small laundrette and recycling facilities which perhaps needed better maintenance and could be extended. Children’s play area is useful to let of a bit of steam as an alternative to the beach.

It might be nicer to have less vans on the site, so that they could be spaced out more and more landscaping done in terms of trees, hedges etc. The site did appear cramped in places with little privacy and there also appeared to be large differences between how people treated their “patch” in terms of temporary fencing or those who had installed decking and done to town with the landscaping.

The other reason for choosing the site was the potential to meet other families with young children which we did to an extent. All the children we met were well behaved and polite although a lot of people did keep themselves to themselves.

If you don’t want to live off junk food or stuff from packets then you may struggle as the stock in the village shop is limited and therefore a trip to Barmouth or toward Harlech would be required to do a “big shop”. The shop at the Sands did cater for emergency items such as milk, bread etc

We did use the Sands on day 1 while waiting to check in but I doubt we’d have wanted to use the arcade on a regular basis even if the weather had been bad and the bar was a little intimidating so we only stayed for 1 drink when we did venture inside. The fish and chips were nice but it gets busy and the service did get slow, likewise we had the odd ice cream from the American Diner.

I think we would go back to the area if we could get a lodge, cottage or small house in a similar location but I don’t think we’d return to the site or indeed consider investing in our own van.

Room Tip: Pick a caravan that is nearer to the beach than the Sands, the entertainment tends to drift throught...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockinrocky_robin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Barmouth Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We only bought the park out of Administration earlier on in the year so it's still early days for us but thanks anyway for your tips for improvement for the park. I am unsure as to why you have included comments regarding Sands Complex which is next door to us but is not owned by Away Resorts nor does it have anything whatsoever to do with our park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Second year running to be here for two weeks with daughter and young grandkids, this year we booked a 'luxury chalet' but it turned out to be more like a palace! Its an ideal site for touring about daily, up and down the coast or inland, or staying local - there's a good sandy beach at the end of the lane (200 yds away), or nearby Harlech beach which is about a mile long and in season, if there's two dozen people on it, it's busy! We'll be back again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LloydPenfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Barmouth Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Great review Lloyd and pleased to learn you were all happy with your palatial accommodation. Thanks also for mentioning Harlech beach as this is the kind of information that is helpful to other holidaymakers when they are trying to decide where to go
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great place for a short break- we spent 3 nights in a budget caravan with 2 kids 2,elderly parents and our dog. Caravan was clean with all equipment required, best part about the holiday was position of site. Very close to beach, (great to catch the sun sets morning and evenings and most importantly kept my dig very happy due to all the walking we did) great warm/ clean pool. All staff friendly and very helpful. Will definatly look at booking another short break. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WardFamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Barmouth Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you Ward family for your short but succinct review and happy to hear that you all had a great time, even the dog. Look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have just had a week at Barmouth Bay with our 3 children and little dog (kids are 14, 11 and 6). The site is well maintained and quiet, and boasts a warm, clean indoor swimming pool, which was the start of each day for all of us (well not the dog, obviously)! We took a Value caravan, so I had warned the kids not to expect too much - and we could not have been more surprised. The caravan was really well stocked and in good condition, and was lovely and clean when we arrived. The bedding was great and snow white, and all the pans / crockery etc were like new.
The Reception staff were very helpful from arriving to leaving, and gave good advice re day trips etc. The launderette was fine - the machines worked well, and were not extortionate.
All the kids used the small play park / ball area, which again was well maintained.
For us, the proximity to the beach was brilliant, and we spent time there virtually every day - sea was warm for paddling and the sun shone, which really helped. The local area was beautiful, and we had a truly memorable week - all the kids loved it and can't wait to visit the area in the future.
My only negative comment was the local facilities (not owned by Barmouth Bay), which I thought looked quite shabby, and the local mini market was ridiculously over priced, in fact I didn't buy the bits I had gone in for, as I don't welcome being 'ripped off'! (Must be a Northern thing)! Having said that, the kids enjoyed the amusements for half an hour before bed, collecting tickets for a 'bit of tat' at the end of the week!
Thanks Barmouth Bay - we had a lovely holiday, and feel we got more than we expected for the price we paid, which is something you can't say very often!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Barmouth Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thanks Kirsten for your really great appraisal of your holiday and especially for your kind comments regarding our Reception staff. Really glad to hear all the family enjoyed it and was pleased to be able to offer you more for your money than you expected!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have just returned from a break here, we are a family of 5 ages 3 to 30 . The park is very basic with hardly any facilities . The caravan we stayed in seemed quite clean on arrival however there were a few things the cleaners had missed .. . A broken toy behind a sofa cushion and two pairs of dirty children's socks in the bedrooms . Also I was surprised that toilet roll doesn't come included so be prepared to go straight out and buy your own. The swimming pool was small ish with a whole list of health and safety rules however it was kept clean . There are no proper showers your only allowed a rinse off so you have to go back to back to your caravan to have a proper shower which I imagine could get very inconvenient if it's cold outside. The beach was nice but we found it to be slightly ruined by all the dogs running round there (one actually wee'd up our cricket post whilst we were playing)also there was a lot of people leaving all sorts of rubbish there and the council don't seem to have anyone cleaning it up on a regular basis which is a shame. Also there is absolutely no internet signal around the whole area and barely any phone signal which meant we got lost a couple of times as we couldn't access gps navigation. There was no where within walking distance to go even the local shops were a car ride away but these is a small shop and arcade you can visit at a neighbouring site. I came here as my Mum used to come as a child but we wouldn't visit again as we have enjoyed other caravan holidays more. However if you like visiting barmouth and are looking for a basic place to stay you will do fine here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudineBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Barmouth Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We have only very recently added this park to Away Resorts' portfolio so this is an exciting new venture for us and also departs from the usual type of holiday we offer. This particular park offers a relaxed atmosphere for those wishing to experience a quieter style of beach holiday but has the added bonus of having Sands Complex right next door. The complex allows our guests access to their entertainment venue at no cost should our guests want to avail themselves of this although they have no connection to Away Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeovil
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just got back after a lovely week at Barmouth Bay - the caravan was very clean and well equipped. We all loved being close to the beautiful beach and our two girls particularly enjoyed having an ice cream kiosk within a two minute walk! The pool was great - nice and warm and our youngest enjoyed the play area. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Barmouth Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thanks Jane for your lovely comments especially the ones concerning our staff as we all know how important that aspect of any holiday is. We very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the park in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barmouth
2.9 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
312 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
200 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
417 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
3.5 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#2 of 24 in Barmouth
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barmouth Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barmouth Bay Holiday Park

Property: Barmouth Bay Holiday Park
Address: Tal-Y-Bont, Barmouth LL43 2BJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barmouth Bay Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful welsh holiday park offers something for everyone to enjoy, young and old, couples, groups and families - Barmouth Bay offers stunning views and great facilities in abundance. A place where happy holiday memories are made. It’s cracking! Welsh Coast & Country The location of the park offers the perfect balance between coast and country holidays, with rolling countryside behind us and a beautiful sandy beach virtually all to ourselves to the front.With a superb sandy beach right on your doorstep, Mother Nature has provided Barmouth Bay with the most beautiful facility possible. But if walking, bird watching or just about any other outdoor pursuit would make your holiday complete then Barmouth Bay Holiday Park in West Wales is the perfect location for you. It’s not just its natural beauty, the choice of fantastic beaches and the wealth of local attractions and things to do, it’s the fantastic accommodation and the friendliness of the people here that will make you want to holiday here for years to come. Holidays for Everyone Barmouth Bay is ideal for couples, families, groups, the young and the young at heart. You will find just what you want right here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Barmouth Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barmouth Bay Holiday Park Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing