We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tony is a force of nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tony's Restaurant

Tony's Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 51 Restaurants in Barmouth
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Tony is a force of nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Tony has the ability to make all customers feel special and welcome. The food was excellent too, and the portions large. The restaurant is easy to find in the centre of the village on the main road. Prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bilje113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    51
    20
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well worth the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our second visit here and the owner tony always welcomes you with a warm greeting.
Food was exceptional on both visits.
Would recommend you to share a starter as the main meals are huge portions.
Great atmosphere and the team are friendly.
Would highly recommend.
Darren and Diane

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diane645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“More than just a pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

It's been a while since we have eaten here and some reviews i have read since could have been cause for concern, but totally unjustified in our opinion. We stopped to order some pizzas for takeaway (that were as excellent as we remembered from our caravanning days) and whilst they were being freshly prepared and cooked I took leave to look in on the restaurant and check the menu. What an array of delights on offer, I only wish we'd had opportunity to dine here during our holiday but definitely next time.
The wonderful smells from the kitchen should be enough to entice you whilst driving past. Seeing the plates being served and noting the comments from the diners leaving I believe the old place is still an excellent eatery.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank IamBoothman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Totally rude and unacceptable customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

On our first night we ordered drinks they came out and there was no vodka just coke after we had paid for both, the man who runs the place shouted at his staff then was grumpy and rude, we ventured to go back a few days later as there is not much else close, this time we were told to go away and come back in ten mins then when we went back were shouted at again by owner, his son in the take away van outside there then shouted at our children as they were upset and crying through being hungry and had been refused food from their van unless they stood quiet and didn't make a noise!!! Would never recommend this place to anyone with children or more than two in ur group never again will I come here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank lauraa100012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willenhall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

One word sums up our meal at Tony's on the evening of Sunday August 18th 2013.
Perfection.
We had lasagne, seafood tagliatelle and wild mushroom linguine. Of course, they made it sound nicer than I have!
Couldn't fault the service, atmosphere or the food. Both in taste and speed of delivery to the table.
When we return to Barmouth next year, we will definitely be visiting Tony's again.
Perfection in a bowl.
Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Squ1g1et
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's Restaurant also viewed

Talybont, Barmouth
Barmouth, Gwynedd
 

Been to Tony's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing