We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”
Review of Good Luck

Good Luck
Ranked #31 of 62 Restaurants in Barmouth
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a meal here on Friday 16th August 2013.
The staff were friendly, professional and I can't fault the service.
We had chicken curry, king prawn chow mein, and crispy shredded beef.
All meals were piping hot and very tasty. 3 meals served, 3 happy customers.
Will definitely visit again next time we're in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Squ1g1et
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Good Luck
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 76 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Me and my fiancé went here the other day, and it was absolutely awful! I've honestly never had such a bad Chinese, the atmosphere and service was horrific it reminded us both very much of that film 'Guest House Paradisamo'. The interior is very dated! And the service is appauling!! There was a young waiter working there walking round like he was in a extremely bad mood storming past customers, and the main waitress didn't really want to be there either the attitude she had whilst talking to customers!. There was no asking us if we wanted a drink when we arrived and when we did get a drink we had a beer from a can, and a fanta from a 1ltr bottle (no bar?!) which were both flat as anything!, I had sweet and sour chicken Cantonese style, the chicken was SOO dry!, and we also noticed on the table there was a bottle of soy sauce with the date of 04/01/2011 on it, This is disgusting! Never had such a bad meal at a Chinese don't no how people can say this Chinese is great its absolutelt appauling, It was not even worth 1 star! I do not recommended at all!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank MrsOwen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhwy1, Manager at Good Luck, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

I am sorry that you're meal did not meet you're satisfaction. The two liter bottle of fanta was opened that day which was yesterday and if it was flat a fresh glass from a can would have been provided on request.
The date listed on the soy sauce bottles does not wash off but i can assure you that they are washed and refilled every week. You were asked if everything was ok during you're visit and i can only apologize that you felt you couldn't say it wasn't. I do also apologize if the staff appeared unapproachable but it was an extremely busy night and with a vast amount orders for the take away as well as the restaurant, the job becomes highly stressful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nice little restaurant, just 20 meters from the railway station in Barmouth, serves good sized portions, quickly
It seemed a tad strange a first to be served oriental food in an oriental restaurant by non oriental staff, but they are friendly and polite, meal for four including mains and starters with drinks came to £57. Portions were large, cooked well and piping hot!
Would eat there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DrNom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Great food great service , dim sum spare ribs , pancake rolls , duck with pineapple , special fried rice , who could ask for more . Would recommend anytime ! Large portions , great taste !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Balvind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have been to this chinese many times now......we have always had excellent food and plenty of it......good prices and really friendly service always.....well done lads brilliant would recomend it to anybody.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank stelzy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Good Luck also viewed

 
Barmouth, Gwynedd
Barmouth, Gwynedd
 

Been to Good Luck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing