We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of Grantham House

Grantham House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grantham House
Ranked #16 of 24 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have to agree with the other reviews which say it all. Carol and Adrian are the most welcoming couple we have ever stayed with, the food was excellent and more than we were able to eat. I have to say thank you to Carol and Adrian for providing the perfect base for a great holiday in Barmouth. Pat & Terry

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazz3dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 36 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

We arrived today for a two night stay and we cannot stress how impressed we are with this little treasure of a guest house. Carol and Brian welcomed us and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them, they are friendly and helpful, recommending places to go and eat etc.
Our room is the twin with our own bathroom and it is immaculately decorated and so clean, it's truly gorgeous. Quaint decoration and the furniture is so pretty.
There is plenty of refreshments in our room, with sachets of the best Italian coffee I've tasted.
We haven't even slept yet but I can only emphasise that on first impressions I would highly recommend this jewel....oh and the price, it was £130 for both nights with breakfast....awesome value in the peak of high season....With only two rooms available Carol and Brian can dedicate themselves fully.
Diane and Martin Wolverhampton.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Di7159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Having read reviews about this place we booked .the double room every one raves about was booked so we took the twin which had separate bathroom it was a lovely room and we had fab time it felt personal and lots of life touches their was a lovely waterfall out side the room and was slightly dark because of this but it didn't spoil it .the bathroom was lush and bathrobes provided to go the short trip down hall they only have two rooms so the
Likely hood of bumping in to any one was slim. The breakfast was fab fresh fruit salad and fab cooked breakfast it was so homely and personal we had such a lovely stay and would highly recommend for a romantic getaway :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsflintstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Excellent B&B, not too far from the town centre.
Immaculate house. Very bright and colourful and comfortable too.
Everything you could want is provided by the cheery hosts.
The bed and bedroom were to a very high standard and the bathroom was new and clean and modern.
Our room had a little sitting area in the bay window.
Tea and coffee facilities were spot on with nice biscuits in a jar!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moragg868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have stayed with Carol and Adrian on a previous occasion.. The last time we went to Barmouth we were very disappointed because they were fully booked. This couple welcome you into their lovely home like family,in fact when we left I told them so.There are two rooms one a twin and one a double both have very different features The double room has a sea view and overlooks a bowling green this room also has a really old tiled feature fireplace.. The twin room has a wonderful natural waterfall outside that is seen from the window fascinating.and relaxing. Both rooms have T.V. with a d v.d player Adrian does have some d.v.ds but you are also welcome to take your own. The bed in the double room is so comfortable but I cannot speak for the twin room but I am sure they are the same.The double room that we stayed in has plenty of interesting reading matter especially for individuals who enjoy the heritage of the area.
I do not know where to start with the breakfast because what ever you want is there,in any combination. There are a variety of cereals,fresh fruit salad or porridge,fruit juices, I defy anyone.to want toast after enjoying Adrian`s full Welsh breakfast that will fill you up for the rest of the day,we only needed a sandwich at about 8 pm after having breakfast at 9 am
When you leave Carol and Adrian on the doorstep you really feel that you are saying goodbye to friends. The house is situated about a ten minute walk from the center of Barmouth. There adequate parking outside the house.When you look at all the reviews for this small b/b we cannot all be wrong. Look forward to seening you both soon with maybe we can bring better weather.

Room Tip: choose double or twin to suit your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patprice3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We are so glad that we decided to stay at Grantham House. The room was immaculate and well decorated and the view of Cardigan Bay lovely from the huge windows. I loved the quirkiness of the whole house - lots of interesting objects around to ponder on and it has a lovely, friendly atmosphere. Carol and Ade were great hosts. Ade is a top chef - we are only sorry we couldn't do his breakfasts the justice they deserved!!! We did enjoy the packed lunch he prepared for the train - it kept us going all the way home!!
If we are ever in Barmouth again, we wouldn't hesitate to go back to Grantham House. Thanks for everything Ade and Carol.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank micky_fitzgerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at Grantham House for a short break to Wales and it was a lovely place to relax. The owners were welcoming, friendly and provided a beautiful room, with fantastic sea views, a top class breakfast in their quiet, tastefully decorated house. We both had a great night's sleep and would definitely return to Grantham House.
Don't stay anywhere else if you are visiting Barmouth!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. We asked for a room with a sea view - lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saoirsecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Crystal House
Crystal House
#11 of 24 in Barmouth
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leamington House Hotel
Leamington House Hotel
#18 of 24 in Barmouth
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#1 of 24 in Barmouth
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Talybont Bed & Breakfast
Talybont Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Talybont
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
338 reviews
1.5 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 4 in Llanaber
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grantham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grantham House

Address: 5 Kings Crescent, Barmouth LL42 1RB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Grantham House Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing