We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sneeze and you'll miss it”

Ebeneezer's Coffee Shop and Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 51 Restaurants in Barmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Barmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sneeze and you'll miss it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Menu promises more than the kitchen delivers. Small portions and slow service. Coffee was disastrous. Odd but interesting setting but tables basic and seating a little cramped. With a bit more expertise,this could be good and may indeed have improved since our visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cannrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    59
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Potential”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

As a Buddhist and vegetarian for 43 years, I felt this was unmissable. I went in with friends one very wet afternoon for some afternoon tea. I had a scone with jam and cream, which was disappointing. The scone wasn't at all tasty, and the cream was squirty cream!!! Plus, the jam was hardly enough to spread on the 2 halves of the scone. The decaff coffee was mediocre. I also was disappointed at the choice of veggie choices...I would have expected more from a Buddhist organisation, and I DO realise they have to make a profit. I am so sorry to put in a review like this! Loved the 'hippy' style shop.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Craft Centre, Cafe, Restaurant in an Old Church!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Lovely place in a restored chapple. Was amazing to find such a trendy funky place like this. We ate a great Cassolet of Duck and Sausage and it had been slow cooked to perfection. Not too rich and just right. Cost 12 pounds for 2 with wine. Pretty amazing place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roughbstd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Impressed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had quite a few meals here, mainly breakfasts. They stocked the tea I have at home, so it was nice to have a fairtrade organic cuppa. The wife loved the squid rings. My favourite was the pea and ham soup (yes I know, soup in the July heatwave!).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigcheeseuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestry, england
Level Contributor
560 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Interesting mix”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were attracted initially by the interesting building - lots of strange (for Barmouth) things for sale, a big old church like building, and tables and chairs outside, inside and up some stairs to what looked like a Buddhist shrine. Lots of small shops selling things of Thai and Asian origin, mainly decorative, incense etc.

An interesting mix with the food as well, Welsh, Thai, Malaysian curry, Baked potatoes, Toasties... We had tea and the latter two mentioned items. Good service, decently presented, good price, but my baked potato was a bit dry and not much topping or extras, no butter on it...

There's certainly enough to choose from though and we'll try something else when we return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ebeneezer's Coffee Shop and Restaurant also viewed

 
Barmouth, Gwynedd
Barmouth, Gwynedd
 

Been to Ebeneezer's Coffee Shop and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing