We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sea views within walking distance of town”
Review of Bae Abermaw

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bae Abermaw
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Have just spent a couple of comfortable nights at this lovely hotel. The staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious and clean as was the en suite. ..As stated by other visitors the sea views cannot be bettered and it is definitely worth having a room with a sea view. Unfortunately the restaurant was not open for the two nights we stayed (which I would think is unusual in high season) but we knew about this beforehand and were able to make other arrangements. I would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Room no 2 has a sea view and a bay window which you can sit in to admire it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank escortdriver_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 219 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We can recommend with confidence this lovely Hotel with its glorious views of the mountains and sea Bea Abermaw Hotel stands in its own grounds on a hill side, a great location not to far away from the busy town centre, the nearest pub is about 5min walk down the hill I have to admit that it took us 6min, -but it took us 12min to walk back; good exercise for us, we also enjoyed the lovely beer gardens/terrace in the Hotel grounds a sure place to just chill out, as the sun was shining what a bonus

We paid the extra for a sea view room on the front of the Hotel it was so worth it, our room was very spacious with spotless clean white duvet on a king size bed a very comfortable bed I may add , the bathroom was quite large with bath and shower clean and perfect

And lucky for us the dining room also had beautiful sea views and even better a good chief breakfast was very tasty with a good selection on the buffet table followed by a full English (thank you chief)

Thank you Ash and the team everyone was so helpful , our little tip would be to ask the lady on reception about the panorama walk at the very top of the road behind the Hotel its just to good to miss, well that's if you enjoy walking that is,,,,,,,,,,,we really look forward to our next visit as our five day brake just wasn't long enough

thank you again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kp h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Simply, great staff - lovely atmosphere - character hotel, very clean, great "family room" - we had 2 adults 3 kids and enough room for everyone. Hearty breakfast - great views. Only thing i could say (and it's a constructive point is - this place has lovely grounds/gardens and more should be made of them - this would finsish the place off to be A1 !! But fab, stay, kids loved it - which made it all the better for us with Free Wi Fi in the lounge areas. Good luck - we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jasethetravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the end of May. Room was lovely - good view, very comfortable bed and large bathroom. Had dinner there the first evening, the meal was superb. The breakfast was also good but we had to ask for napkins and did not have side plates. Seemed strange to us but maybe that is the norm in Wales.
We were asked after breakfast if we would be eating there that evening. As the menu was very limited and did not change daily we said that we were unsure at that time. I was somewhat surprised when my mobile rang in the afternoon to find it was the hotel asking if we had decided whether to eat or not as the chef wanted to know about prepping food.
They had not been open long and were trying hard so I hope that customers have picked up for them.
We would certainly return if in that area again

Room Tip: Have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farmerswife09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Ash was very helpful upon our arrival as were all the staff.
Rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast really tasty! Plenty of room in the car park and splendid vue from the majority of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola-Bowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed one Saturday night and ended up in a sea view room at the top of the house, up two flights of stairs. The views were excellent, pity the windows weren't larger really. The room was very clean although there were some odd marks on the carpet all around the edge, nothing sinister, just looked like water/drip marks. Fixtures and fittings fine, chair covers a bit tired and no bedside lights but a kingsize bed which was comfortable. The ensuite was huge and spotless.

We didn't use the public rooms at all - looked clean and modern but no people.

The breakfast was really excellent - impressive and very tasty.

The receptionist (a mature lady) when we checked out just said 'Goodbye', not 'Did you enjoy your visit' or 'Hope to see you again'...bit of a missed opportunity and quite a contrast to the effort made by the chap who welcomed us on arrival who was friendly, courteous and enthusiastic.

Room Tip: If going for a sea view room, try and get one with big windows ie not room 10 (that said you can sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were touring round Wales and a friend booked us in for a 1 night stay. We had a pleasant reception, and were shown to a very nice room (family room) but were charged ordinary rate as children were not off. The meal in the restaurant was superb and was as good as we expected. We would certainly stay again if we were in the area. The only down side was not enough toilet tissue, only being one roll. This also happened to our friends who had an upset stomach in the night and was not pleased, but it was only a small hiccup, and would not put us off.

Room Tip: As the hotel was full and we got the next to last room available, it would have been nice to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barmouth
1 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
407 reviews
0.8 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
340 reviews
5.1 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 2 in Portmeirion
1,541 reviews
14.8 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
724 reviews
15 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bae Abermaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bae Abermaw

Address: Panorama Road, Barmouth LL42 1DQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Price Range: $110 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bae Abermaw 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bae Abermaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bae Abermaw Barmouth, Wales
Bae Abermaw Hotel Barmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing