We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of Bae Abermaw

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bae Abermaw
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Reviewed June 26, 2013

First impression looks lovely. Arrived on Monday for a 1 nights stay shown to beautiful room only to be told that the restaurant closed on Monday night nothing on web page to let people know about that. Lay out of the rooms are first class, shame no tv in lounge area or soft music in back ground no atmosphere there. The young lady on reception very pleasant and knows her position as she was very polite and informed us that the bar closes at 10 o clock when she finished her shift as the owner didn't know how to run the bar. Maybe a few teething problems as I gather they've not long taken over the business. Fantastic views all round the property onto the coastline. Breakfast first class.

Room Tip: Think all rooms have good views.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julie316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Bae Abermaw
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 211 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Bae Abermaw has had a chequered history for the last few years, the previous owners managing to go bankrupt. Following a near two-year closure the hotel re-opened earlier this year with some issues but it is now under new (again) management and boy does it show!

My wife and I went for Sunday lunch and it was both delicious and fantastic value. The chef clearly knows how to cook and both the starters and desserts were exceptional. The wild mushrooms on toasted ciabatta were a lesson in pretty simplicity - beautifully presented and as good to eat as it looked on the plate. We both had the roast lamb and whilst it is hard to do anything spectacular with a roast this was a good example - imaginatively presented, (the parsnip crisps were a lovely addition), and exactly what you'd want for a Sunday lunch. the Elderflower, blackcurrant and vanilla dessert was a real surprise - light, fruity, tasty and another good looking plate of food. Service was friendly and welcoming and frankly it was as good a Sunday lunch as we've enjoyed anywhere. The real surprise came when the bill arrived - at £15.95 for three courses they are seriously under-selling this and I'd expect the price to rise to a more realistic £17.95 or £18.95 very shortly. It will still be excellent value.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brynmelyndavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I stopped for 3 nights at this hotel in April, from the moment we arrived we was made welcome by Bernadette and Paul the owners. The restaurant offered a large selection of food choices, cooked to perfection by the chef Matt. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone, the views are fabulous, nice and clean, lovely and warm. The only thing I would advice on is, if you have walking disability's or are wheel chair dependent, you will need a car because it is up a steep hill, but it has to be for the fabulous views, so please DONOT take this remark as a negative. Thank you all for a fabulous few days, we will see again in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just finished spending three nights over the May Day weekend. Have stayed in Barmouth many times over the last thirty years and have to say this was one of the most enjoyable. Hotel staff were all very helpful, with nothing being too much trouble.

Would recommend this hotel to both couples and families.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view, view is to die for!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My partner book the weekend break and it was everything which we expected. The staff was very welcoming, friendly and professional.
The room was spacious, clean and had a nice view. The bathroom was also immaculate with complimentary toiletries.
Food was of a good standard and presented well.
The staff remembered our names which was a nice touch as the hotel was busy.
I have already recommended this hotel to family and friends and we plan to return again during the summer so we can enjoy the views.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 162,128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I am writing after a recent stay and after reading previous reviews to all bar one i agree with. I found the stay and in particular the food more than expected for a three star hotel. The rooms were comfortable, views were amazing due to the excellent location and I thoroughly enjoyed the food. Although I cannot comment on the salmon I did have steak two of the 3 nights i stayed and thought it was excellent both times. The highlight for the stay was the staff who were friendly throughout.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms is a must
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davefb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A decent room, white and clean, and a wonderful view...we booked for dinner, prepared to pay the slightly high price for what we expected to be a decent dinner...unfortunately we were really disappointed. My steak was tough, my partner's salmon was burnt, and her 'wild' mushroom soup was so wild it never arrived...even after asking for it twice!

We just felt that, although the staff were friendly, and the breakfast was good, that this hotel could be so much more. Sorry.

Room Tip: Great place to stay, but eat elsewhere
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 990Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaeAbermawBarmouth, Manager at Bae Abermaw, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your meal, which did not meet our usual high standards. We are happy to receive any feedback which helps us to maintain and improve on our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barmouth
1.0 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
335 reviews
5.2 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
2.0 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#3 of 23 in Barmouth
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bae Abermaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bae Abermaw

Address: Panorama Road, Barmouth LL42 1DQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Price Range: $96 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bae Abermaw 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bae Abermaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bae Abermaw Barmouth, Wales
Bae Abermaw Hotel Barmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing