We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there”
Review of The Old Tea Rooms

The Old Tea Rooms
Ranked #4 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Barmouth
Restaurant details
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Don't go there”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We visited for a light lunch. I had a 'best ham' sandwich. The bread was dry and stale and the best ham had lots of fat and gristle. We also had the chicken & dumplings. The chicken was hard to spot and it was bulked up with rice. I think the staff assumed we were holiday makers so could get away with this terrible food. We were not and we would definately not return or recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemma38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    1
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
evesham
1 review
“Does what it says”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

if table cloths excellent teas and coffees mixed with lovely cakes are your thing the you will not go wrong here,its spotlesly clean hence its 5 star hygeine rating,the food was excellent even if it was a wait but in such a lovely room and in no rush it didnt matter,the staff were very freindly and informative to any queries,would highly recomend

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 20swiss02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
“just divine”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

my husband and myself both enjoyed our visit to the old tea rooms weekend 23 sept,it was quite busy as we entered and were told there would be a 15 minute wait for our food to arrive we had coffee which was excellent and both had the salmon and cream cheese sandwich followed by passion cake for myself whilst my husband tried to tackle the largest apple pie ive ever seen,everything we ate was delicious,the staff and owner were very friendly and the wait is expected if you want freshly prepared food thats edible, its not a cafe .

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elma j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cream tea it wasn't ...”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Service poor, cream tea awful. The staff were gassing in the kitchen for every visitor that came into the tea rooms, seemed disinterested in serving anyone, and only slightly more bothered about taking your money. The scone with the cream tea was microwaved, the cream tasted of nothing (and most certainly wasn't clotted cream as it should have been!) and the jam was a cheap, jelly like substance that may have met a strawberry once, many moons ago. Don't don't don't. Awful place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BBV_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

this was a lovely coffee house until the new owner has taken over, the staff and owner are so miserable, never a smile or a warm welcome, very rude to customers, takes ages to serve you and we were the only ones in there, we have taken our custom elsewhere, no wonder they are empty most of the time

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank missperfect64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Barmouth, Gwynedd
 
Barmouth, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Old Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing