We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Stables

Relax in the cosy lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in the cosy lounge
Arriving at Glandwr Farm
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Relax in the cosy lounge
Arriving at Glandwr Farm
Access onto the estuary
Young lambs besides Stables April 2013
A view from The Stables Garden
The hammock in the garden
Wonderful Sunny Winter Walk on Cader Idris
The 'Old Inn' close by
Well equipped oak kitchen with breakfast table
Four Bedrooms two with En suite
The estuary with the tide out
Late sunlight at 'The Stables'
The dining Room
View fromthe local 'Panaroma walk'
Wander in the orchard
The Stables with the 'Golden River' behind
The Panorama walk starts close to the farm
The local Cader Idris Mountain enjoyed by many walkers
Drive out to Betws Y Coed for the day
Portmerion
Lots of ideas for family day trips
A view from the garden at full tide
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Barmouth, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pinkbliss...
Hereford, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mrs ”
Reviewed December 27, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
5
people found this review helpful

We are here at the moment for our stay over Christmas. We wanted a getaway spacious enough for myself, my husband, 3 boys (6,4,1) and my parents. We have been bowled over by the place, as soon as we walked in I could tell it would be more than we expected, I can tell you the pictures really don't do it justice! A fabulous well equipped spacious kitchen, was so impressed with the quality of saucepans, amount of plates and glasses etc. Huge dining area which was just perfect for Christmas dinner, and a lovely living room with a log burner (my husbands favourite thing!) the bedrooms are enormous- a twin on the ground floor with an en suite shower & loo which was perfect for my parents as they had a separate space for them. Family bathroom and the biggest master with en suite I've ever seen then up another level to a spacious double and another spacious twin. The beds are very comfortable and towels provided. Also the shower in the master en suite is super powerful (we do like a power shower!) tonnes of storage all over the place. Heating and hot water very easy to use. Outside area really lovely overlooking the estuary, even though soggy and winter can appreciate it and can imagine a BBQ in the summer months would be amazing. We bought our elderly dog and the space was perfect for her to have a walk and a ball throw a few times a day. We found the wifi fine (picking up on a previous review) on the odd occasion slightly slow but 2 smart phones and 2 iPads that's totally acceptable! Heath came and welcomed us (lives across the way) very helpful and showed us the important stuff. Main town just a couple of minutes drive away and lovely and quaint. Co-op is a decent one as is spar (was open xmas day - santa forgot batteries!) such friendly people as here as well. Mermaid chip shop was fantastic also. Would absolutely come here again, we have had a fantastic Christmas here. Thank you :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 26, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
4
people found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2017
Sorry about your experience with internet. Because the walls are two foot in width you have to been in the area of the modem to get the best broadband reception. (Will add advice to visitors pack)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dawn I
Alrewas, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“4 days stay for dog walking on the beaches”
Reviewed September 15, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Old, lovely place with lots of character. Tired in places but when you have dogs you can't be too precious and the Managers/owners were absolutely lovely. Very relaxed about the dogs in every way...we received a bunch of flowers and a bottle of wine on our arrival....how lovely was that.
Basic kitchen utensils...but everything works well. It is isolated from dining room and lounge and has dull economy lighting so we brought bedroom lights down.
I slept so well on firm bed.. so quiet.
Lovely wood burner with a store room full of wood for you !!!!
Very little local info ie maps and how to access the estuary so research before you y go.
You will need a car to gt to Barmouth, Aberdovey and Harlech. The beaches are to be very proud of...just gorgeous.
Gastro pub "The Last Inn' was wonderful...Norbar was beautiful !!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2017
Thank you for your 5 star review. The Stables is set of newly converted farm dwellings set in a sight of outstanding natural beauty
Dogs are not allowed in bedroom areas and child gates are provided for such purposes. In the grounds we ask you to keep you pet under control.
We really appreciate feedback on lighting and have now upgraded all lighting to well illuminated warm light bulbs and reviewed and extended kitchen equipment. Firm mattresses have been enhanced with hotel quality toppers for those who prefer a softer bed. We look forward to you returning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie M
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed July 1, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Just came back from a weeks stay at this cottage with family. Had a wonderful time, we each had our own bedroom & bathroom & the cottage had everything that we needed for a weeks stay. The dogs loved the garden & walk down to the estuary & its only a 5 minute drive into town. Would 100% recommend and book again for our next stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danistrev...
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful farmhouse with beautiful scenery”
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Myself and friends with our children and dogs stopped here for bank holiday weekend. Having been let down in another holiday home shortly before we found this little gem, and a little gem it was!!!!

We arrived to find Mariam our host leaving fresh flowers and showing us around the farmhouse we immediately felt at home!

The photographs do not do this place justice, it is much larger than the pictures portray and not once all weekend were any of us 'on top of each other' the children loved the grounds and access to the estuary nd there some breath taking views! The Orchard was a lovely quiet spot and our dogs just loved the large lower field where we could throw their ball!

I'm in awe of this home. I call it home because we immediately felt it was just that as soon as we walked in. We will definitely be returning, worth every penny. So pleased we found this beautiful place! We have some lovely memories:)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views of the surrounding countryside
Liked least: No downstairs loo
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cameronwe...
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at The Stables as a party of 4 adults and 3 children. The children loved this house and the gardens. There was plenty of room for everyone. We all loved walking through the gardens down to explore the estuary. On the whole everything was good quality. A shelf in the master ensuite would have been useful for toiletries etc and a few more baking/roasting tins are needed although there are lots of pans. The access to the property is not well sign posted and our supermarket delivery struggled to find us but we had a google map sent by the owners which was useful. During our stay we used the washing machine but there were no facilities for drying when we couldn't use the washing line, however we mentioned to the owners and they brought us a tumble dryer to use and I'm sure if there was anything else we needed they would have done their best to accommodate us. If anything we would say the pictures of the property don't do it justice so it was a lovely surprise when we arrived to find such a lovely property. we would recommend this property and will definately stay there again if we visit the area in future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space in the house and the grounds
Liked least: Nothing to not like
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing