We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything a B&B should be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Seashell Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 23 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The Seashell B&B is in a good location near the beach, the owners are attentive without being overbearing, the rooms are clean and well fitted out, and the breakfasts are good, all in all everything a good B&B should be.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Niloc58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 43 of 43 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2011

I recently stayed 3 nights at the Seashell with my husband and 3-year-old daughter. We chose to stay in Barmouth because it was cheaper than Harlech or Porthmadog, but having visited a few towns in the area I think Barmouth was the nicest place to stay.

The Seashell is right on the promenade, just across the street from sand dunes and the clean, sandy beach. There is a grocery store about 5 minutes walk away that's open until 10pm. There are a number of restaurants in easy walking distance, and it's a short drive from Harlech and other sites on the coast. In the 3 days we spent in the area we saw Harlech castle, Portmeirion, Bryn Cader Fanr, a few ruined abbeys, and played on the beach.

Our side room on the 2nd floor (UK first floor) had a view down the street. We could see sea and hills from our two windows. The windows opened wide for good ventilation. The room had a small fridge, a closet, arm chairs, tv, and tea-making facilities, and there was room for us to set up our daughter's travel cot. There was a little noise from late-night carousers in the street, but not enough to bother us. The seagulls were pretty loud.

The bathroom was larger than many en suite bathrooms I've seen in B&Bs. I liked the shower; it was hot with good water pressure.

Breakfast was good, plenty of food was provided, the town was fun to explore. I would recommend The Seashell B&B and Barmouth itself to anyone visiting this part of Wales.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank cmparkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le camere dei piani alti lato mare hanno una vista migliore. L'ala interna, pur godendo di uno s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GiorgioMarioOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Neem zeker niet de twinroom: dat is een luizenhol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cher13dance, Manager at The Seashell Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tal Y Don Hotel
Tal Y Don Hotel
#12 of 23 in Barmouth
201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Richmond House
Richmond House
#4 of 23 in Barmouth
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#1 of 23 in Barmouth
174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lawrenny Lodge
Lawrenny Lodge
#5 of 23 in Barmouth
172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seashell Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seashell Bed & Breakfast

Address: 13 Marine Parade, Barmouth LL42 1NA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range: $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-run B & B with beautiful sea and mountain views. All rooms have tea and coffee- making facilities as well as a colour TV and a mini-fridge. All rooms have sea views and/or mountain views. A full cooked breakfast is included and is served in our dining room which overlooks the beach. We are a non smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Seashell Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seashell Bed & Breakfast Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing