We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food!”
Review of The Anchor

The Anchor
Ranked #15 of 61 Restaurants in Barmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A Restaurant that takes pride in the quality of the food it provides, using locally sourced produce as much as possible, making homemade soups daily along with Malaysian curry and Vegetarian options. Kim has previously run a very successful Bistro/Coffee Shop in the town for 25 years and, along with Mark who has worked in Pub Management they offer you the customer a friendly dining experience.
Wellington, Shropshire United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely food!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband, my three year old and I had dinner at the Anchor twice whilst staying in the area. All I can say is I can't wait to eat there again. Lovely food, setting and staff. Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulaWoolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    99
    20
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wide choice.”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

had meal with 2 friends and my wife. Fish pie great, so was the beef stroganoff. Prices good too all round a good evening out

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Nice food, good value, however alcoholic drinks were abit expensive. The waiting staff were brilliant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hetty330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband and I stopped at The Anchor to look at the menu, not to be disappointed it was varied and looked very tempting we stopped and had a meal which was excellent, service was spot on very friendly and welcoming we liked it that much we decided to go back on our last night for another meal which again came up to our expectations it was delicious. Highly recommended

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good Food and a Great View”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We always stop here for lunch whenever in Barmouth. They do lovely burgers and a great cappucino. Sit outside ( on a sunny day!) and enjoy a good meal with fabulous views. I wouldn't say this was overpriced (not for food anyway) but good value for money. Keep up the good work, will be back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayLass22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anchor also viewed

Barmouth, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing