We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best B&Bs in Barmouth.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunray Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunray Guest House
Ranked #8 of 24 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best B&Bs in Barmouth.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

I've stayed at the Sunray a number of times and always enjoyed my stay there. Being a "lone traveller" I end up in the small room at the back, which suits me down to the ground. The view from the window is great, straight along the front and across the dunes. Beautiful! The rooms are clean and well decorated with everything you are likely to need. No charge for the WIFI either. The only problem I found was the noisy seagulls first thing in the morning but hey! it's a seaside town, a damn site better than articulated lorries thundering past your window.
The owners are just what you want, not in your face but helpful when you need something.
Car parking at the front no problem. but it is tight when the guest house is full, but what do you expect in Barmouth, a small seaside town where a parking space is very hard to come by in high season.
No food provided, but plenty of Cafes within a few seconds walk, all them very good value, so thats no problem.
I can't recommend this place too highly. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thanks for a great honest review.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    16
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
18
90
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Once again we find ourselves drawn to this beautiful Art Deco accommodation, with recent renovations making it even more striking. The room was spacious and clean, with a powerful shower and lovely view. Danny and Lisa were friendly as always. We will undoubtedly be returning.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thanks for a great honest review.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights and will definitely be back, stunning views of the harbour, lovely clean and well equipped rooms, parking, free WiFi and close to all the amenities and attractions of Barmouth.
No breakfast but that suits us as we don't like being restricted to set times, plus plenty of places close by offer breakfasts, snacks and meals, a short walk to the railway station so the worlds your oyster.
We stayed in room 3 which has its own front door plus a nice little area to hang your coats and leave your shoes.
The chairs and table in the bay are ideal to just sit and relax looking at the harbour and the surrounding countryside with a glass of wine or beer.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mchapman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thanks for a great honest review.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights and had three nights wonderful sleep.the view from the bedroom was amazing over looking hills and sea.Danny and Lisa were fab,there if you needed them but gave you your own space.total bliss to be able to garage your motorbikes.this guest house is perfectly placed ie on the edge of town.nice not to have to get up for breakfast if you prefer brunch:)number one choice for us.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaz014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thanks for a great honest review.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

A lovely guest house in a fantastic location with the added benefit of free parking. Room was very clean and comfortable with plenty of storage. Lovely sitting out area overlooking the sea. Very relaxing , informal and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolbWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thanks for a great honest review.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Very pleased with the stay. We were 2 couples on motorbikes and the owner let us leave the bikes in his garage which was very helpful. Rooms were very clean and nice clean modern bathroom. View from the rooms was amazing. Overall just a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thanks for a great honest review.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Weve just returned from a weekend break in the Sunray and was extremely impressed with the location, friendliness of the owner, cleanliness and the views, well, they have to be seen to be believed. This place really is Barmouth's little gem and by far in my opinion, the best accomodation in Barmouth. The views from the front rooms, stun you the moment you see them! We stayed in room 4, the twin room at the back. We are a family of 3, well, two of us and a 10 month old baby and the size of the room was a little tight, expecially with the travel cot in, but we managed. Dont get me wrong, the room is lovely, cosy and perfectly sized for a couple or 2 sharing, which is what it is intended for, but next time we will book the family room for the 3 of us. Having said that, we also booked very late, so we didnt have a choice as this was the only room left available.

As for facility's, there is a fridge located in the hallway for guest use, which was spottlessly clean, and we were the only guests who used it, so was very useful to us, especially having a young baby to keep his milk fresh.

Overall experience we were delighted with this guest house, we will definately be staying here again, beautiful character, absolutely perfect location, everything you could ask for from a guest house. There are lovely harbourside cafes and resturants only minutes from the accomodation so breakfast and evening meals were easy to find!. Little tip, the Last Inn is a beautiful little pub, which the owners strongly recommend but you must try and reserve a table in plenty of time as it gets very busy. We didnt reserve anywhere so unfortuantely we had to drive out for our evening meal, but we found a lovely little resturant called ' the wayside', value for money meals and lovely service.

Thanks again for a wonderful break Sunray, see you again soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thanks for a great honest review.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#1 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lawrenny Lodge
Lawrenny Lodge
#5 of 24 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wavecrest Guest House
Wavecrest Guest House
#7 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunray Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunray Guest House

Property: Sunray Guest House
Address: The Quay, Barmouth LL42 1HB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunray Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Sunray Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunray Guest House Hotel Barmouth
Sunray Guest House Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing