We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Location”
Review of Sunray Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunray Guest House
Ranked #7 of 23 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

A great guest house with friendly, helpful, easygoing owners. Beautiful views abound in all directions and everything is so close by (cafes, pubs, restaurants, shops etc.). The room was all we could have asked for and it was lovely to be able to hear the sea from the window. Secure, garaged parking for motorcycles was a bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thanks for a great honest review.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Sunray Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 178 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed for 2 night break last weekend. Fantastic views across estuary. The bedrooms were very clean, comfortable bed what else would you want. Definitely stay again. Store age for bikes only criticism was parking was tight.

Room Tip: Room 1 has excellent views across estuary
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thank you for another great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in August and we were really pleased with the location, quality of room and friendliness of the owners. Was able to park the motorbike in the garage which is a big selling point for us. Left one day early due to weather forecast and was fortunate to receive a refund for the night, after the room was let to others which the owners didn't have to do. We will definitely be back in the future! All in all a great place to stay with good accommodation and friendly owners, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulMac1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thanks for a good review and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

A fantastic location in a wonderful setting. Charming attentive owners who immediately made us feel very welcome. We also had room no.4, and used the bench to have our evening bottle of wine and watch the sun go down. Not a cloud in the sky on both evenings and a memorable spot. Clean spotless room, not huge but very cosy. Can't fault anything and looking forward to returning next year. Tricky to get a meal in town after 9pm as kitchens like to close early, so beware!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stevedj175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thanks for a great honest review.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just had a 3 night stay early August 2013 and loved it. I stayed in the twin room (no. 4) that over looks the main beach, there is a bench right outside that we had all to ourselves and was great to wake up and sit with a cuppa in the morning.
The room was large enough for both of us and we had everything we needed, plenty of towels, shower gal, flat screen TV, plenty of tea/coffee/milk (that was replenished daily)!
The beds where very comfortable, with 2 pillows (which makes a change from other places I have stayed).
We found it very quiet and heard no noise at night so slept very well.
The shower was wonderful and warm.
Parking was proved on site as stated when I booked the room, again an added bonus as most other places in Barmouth do not offer this.
WiFi was also available for free.
The owners were very friendly.
Looking forward to returning in the near future and hopefully to have the same room...
Thanks again for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thanks for a great honest review.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My daughter treated me to this break for my birthday. We had a twin room overlooking the beach & sea with a lovely bench seat outside, which we took great use of for our morning cuppa & evening glass of wine! The guest house is beautiful Art Deco & our room was spotlessly clean with very comfy beds & good shower. I liked the idea that we were not held to breakfast times and we could get up & not have to rush. There are brill places to have breakfast on the harbour just a minute away. The owners were friendly without being intrusive, & they have got everything right. I would definitely stay again & cannot recommend this lovely guest house strongly enough. Absolutely a 5 star rating. :)

Room Tip: Room 4 twin room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

What can I say..................just a big thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed at Sunray this month with my Husband and friends. We had room on second floor overlooking beach. Room spotless. Bed was excellent which is extremely important to us for a good nights sleep.Friends had down stairs room overlooking harbour, They loved the view and were very pleased with everything, Practically sitting on the beach, Prime position. Owners very welcoming and friendly, Great breakfast next door, Davy Jones Locker.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thanks for a great honest review.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
335 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#3 of 23 in Barmouth
271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#1 of 23 in Barmouth
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tal Y Don Hotel
Tal Y Don Hotel
#13 of 23 in Barmouth
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunray Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunray Guest House

Address: The Quay, Barmouth LL42 1HB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunray Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Sunray Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunray Guest House Hotel Barmouth
Sunray Guest House Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing