We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodation at a budget price”
Review of Sunray Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunray Guest House
Ranked #6 of 23 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodation at a budget price”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We have now stayed in three different rooms here this year and promise to be back again as soon as we can!! All three Rooms have been spotlessly clean and well furnished. We feel totally at home and at ease when we are there and are made to feel very welcome by the owners Danny & Lisa.....:-). The location is superb and the views have to be amongst the best anywhere in Wales (or even the world in our opinion). No Breakfast is served but who needs it when there are three eateries within a minutes walk and all are good. Also a big plus point is private parking which is at a premium in Barmouth. Go to Barmouth.com and select view webcam and you can see the views you will have when there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raynzena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thanks for a good honest review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    17
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
19
95
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights after travelling from a wedding in Ireland and were looking for a quiet retreat with a bit of exploring the beautiful welsh countryside.....We were not disappointed!!

I contacted Lisa directly after researching acommodation on the internet and she advised me that she would reserve us a room with a view......Again we were not disappointed!

Danny greeted us upon arrival, along with his grandaughter who was staying with them. We were made to feel extremely welcome from the start, and were advised on the local shops and restaurants.

The bedroom was clean and very comfortable, with tea/coffee and biscuits provided. Two seats were provided overlooking the stunning views.

This was my first trip to Wales and I can say that I will definitely be returning back to Barmouth with my partner. We are planning on returning with friends next year to show off our discovery. My only disappointment was that it's taken me so long to discover such a wonderful place hidden away!

Thanks Danny and Lisa for a lovely time.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cakeycase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thanks for a good honest review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stayed at the Sunray bank holiday sunday for one night. Nearly walked away as the no vacancy sign was out, but Lisa spotted us and said room 3 was available for the one night. We are hardened campers as a rule and don't really do guest houses (too many bad experiences) but this was out of this world. The room was spotless, bed was soooooo comfy and not being a b+b you could stay in it for an extra hour and just walk 20 yards to one of many café's for breakfast. Not even going to describe the view you have to see it to believe it. Danny and Lisa are so friendly but at the same time unobtrusive just letting you enjoy your stay. Wonderful people, best guest house I have ever stayed in. Many thanks Mark+Lyn Be back very soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 25lynmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thanks for a good honest review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed at the sunray guest house for 5 nights and had an excellent holiday. We stayed in the double room which had fantastic views overlooking the harbour. The rooms were spotless, comfortable and cleaned on a daily basis. Danny and Lisa were friendly and made us feel very welcome at the Sunray Guest House. Over all a fantastic guesthouse in a superb location. A very memorable holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for the double room with the bay window overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thanks for a good honest review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed at the Sunray Guest House on 18th August to 21st August 2011 in the twin bedroom. The room was lovely and clean with an amazing view over the beach. We had a brilliant stay an were made to feel very welcome.

I would defintly recommend staying here as the location is perfect, the room was lovely, clean and perfect size.

Just 30 seconds walk from the Guest House is a brilliant icecream cafe which is defintly worth a visit!

Thank you for a brilliant stay and we will be back! xx

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thanks for a good honest review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2011

The Sunray Guest House is a great place to stay, the rooms are perfect, clean, comfy and spacious. It really is a home from home. We had a very warm welcome from Danny and Lisa who are very friendly. They are there when you need them but at the same time let you get on with your holiday. The guest house is in a very good location for the beach and shops and the views are excellent, especially the sunset which is breath-taking! We will definately be going back to Sunray Guest house and will be recommending it to all our friends and family :) !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahgardom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write this review, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Danny & Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Stayed here July 18, 2011
The room was uncomfotablly small and we are not particularly large people. On the plus side room was clean. On the minus side: There was no room for bedside tables (although you could reach out and touch the kettle from one side of the bed). The coffee/tea provision was meagre and unappetising. The shower room only had a bottle of hand wash, but no shower gel or shampoo. Two bath towels provided but only one hand towel. There was just about room for two garden-style wicker chairs. Two magazines from 2008 were provided! The bed had no mattress cover under the bottom sheet. Luckily the room was light otherwise claustrophobia would have set in earlier than it did. We booked for two nights but only stayed one. I could go on... I suspect that this a place which gets very few repeat bookings because its "amenities" are at bargain basement level.

Room Tip: barmouth is lovely but not sunray
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paulineupurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Thanks, we believe we are a bargain!!
Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review and for your kind comments regarding our cleanliness, the most important quality.
We provide top quality tea, Nescafe coffee, and good quality biscuits.
All of our rooms have individually switched over bed personal reading lights.
We believe that two big bath towels and one hand towel are sufficient for two people.
Moreover, nobody has ever complained about a lack of space in this room before, and it is very pleasant to sit comfortably looking out at the beach and the mountains from the dual aspect windows.
We are happy to admit we do not provide a suite, furnished with antiques and supplied with top quality cosmetics with a wide selection of beverages and confectionary for the price, but you will get a spotless, well equipped room with spectacular views, private parking and a great location along with unobtrusive but friendly service.
We believe the 26 reviews from other clients, many of which are returning regulars, say it all.
Please also read our reviews on the "booking direct" website and visit our own website.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
308 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#1 of 23 in Barmouth
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#2 of 23 in Barmouth
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunray Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunray Guest House

Property: Sunray Guest House
Address: The Quay, Barmouth LL42 1HB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunray Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Sunray Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunray Guest House Hotel Barmouth
Sunray Guest House Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing