We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter break”

The Captain's Table
Ranked #8 of 52 Restaurants in Barmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Winter break”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The owners Debbie and Mito were very friendly and attentive, Mito being the chef came out to greet us after we had eaten. Being winter months it was fairly quiet.
The food was very good, hot and plentiful also plenty of choice.
Would recommend.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tomannmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    65
    18
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“my least favourite place to eat in Barmouth”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The food is OK..ish...the atmosphere is a bit lacking...but the waitress is less than friendly.
Four of us went in to eat...we were asked abrubtly if we had booked a table (we hadn't) surly waitress said she could not fit us in. There were 2 tables to seat 2 people ...side by side and empty. We asked if they were reserved...luckily a waiter overheard and said they were free and they could be pushed together to accomodate us. Surly waitress begrudgingly did that....the service went downhill from then on.

We wont be going back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nanasyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“rubbish”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

staff freindly,food poor for money.was a special occasion was spoilt.staff children in restuarant so hardly romantic

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good varied menu, good food, excellent service”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were a party of thirteen (not the same one as "Mawddach") wanting an impromptu get-together. Even though we gave them only a few hours notice "the Captain's Table" were able to accommodate us and they did us proud. The service was friendly, patient and efficient and the food was reasonably priced and, as far as I know, was enjoyed by the whole group. A good time was had by all!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GABRutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We where a party of 13 at The captain's Table and not one of us where disappointed. The food was excellent and plenty of it. The service was great and very friendly. We hope to visit again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mawddach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Captain's Table also viewed

Barmouth, Gwynedd
Barmouth, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Captain's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing