We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a good clean!”
Review of Crystal House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crystal House
Ranked #14 of 23 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Needs a good clean!”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Chose Crystal House after reading the good reviews here on Tripadvisor!
In short... Location fab, lovely little sea view family room, nice owners and great breakfast
BUT very disappointed when we arrived to find a very tired and unkempt front of house! Sadly the inside wasn't much better. Considering we arrived at the start of the season I don't think this place has had a deep clean in quite some time! Glad we only stayed 1 night.

Room Tip: if you choose to stay here ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickisj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalKatie, Owner at Crystal House, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry that you were not happy with all aspects of your stay with us, however we are slightly disappointed that the first we knew of this was this review. We chat to the majority of our guests on departure and you did not raise any issues with us at the time. We feel that we are approachable and willing to take constructive comments on board.

For current and prospective guest's information, the previous two reviews on TripAdvisor when sorted by date are for exactly the same room as this review. These are very positive reviews. Also, feel free to browse our photographs on our website and on TripAdvisor where you can see the rooms before you choose to book with us.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us and we hope to welcome you back to Crystal House Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    27
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
22
36
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Myself and boyfriend went for one night at Crystal house,,so close to amenties.Katie and Ste was very welcoming and genuine friendly hosts.The family room was surperb,very clean,everything we needed,breakfast was delicious,fantastic price,immaculate table set out,,Definitely will be back for a weekend with my daughter ,excellent B n B Tracy goldie and Darren Marsh.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalKatie, Owner at Crystal House, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

It was the first time we stayed for a couple of nights in Barmouth. We found Crystal House Hotel owners friendly, warm and welcoming. They went out of their way to make us feel at home and comfortable. The cooked breakfast was very filling and tasty. We didn't expect our room to be in such a beautiful and relaxed spot. Our room had the most amazing views across the sea and beach and the backdrop of mountains. Wonderful. The sunset were spectacular over Cardigan Bay and we could see this from the comfort of our room. We would definately go back again, it was a bargain!!

Room Tip: If you want a window with a fabulous view, then ask for the bay rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalKatie, Owner at Crystal House, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We have stayed 3 times as a couple and 1 time with myself and my young son we absolutley love to stay as you have allways made us feel welcome . We allways love to have room 9 the view is amazing . The cooked breakfast is great and you allways make sure we want for nothing .We look forward to seeing you later in the year . we have recomended you to all our family and friends .Please dont change anything you do, as it really is perfect thanks vanessa & dave

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I and my partner both love it. Having stayed in other B and Bs this is completely above all places. Views amazing food amazing. I can't wait to go back absolute bargain :) I love that you can order a picnic it's well good perfect for a romantic stroll around the town.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heathercking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Had a really lovely 3 nights , stayed in room 6 a family room,it overlooked the sea .perfect! Nothing was to much trouble.breakfast was served in the dining room which was very homely!! I would defenatly recomend this hotel for familes. It was very laid back breakfast from 8.30-9.30 so still got a lie in .perfect location and I got a parking space right outside .

Room Tip: Room 6 family room over looking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali-may2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

FANTASTIC customer service from Katie as she was very welcoming on the phone and especially when we arrived.

they made space for my motorbike out side there hotel.

Very laid back and just left us to our holiday which was great !!!
Fab breakfast and vegi one for my wife.

A customer microwave down stairs, an added bonus for my pastie lol.
Thanks Katie and Stephen . Phil & Dani

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philgrafton18r1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalKatie, Owner at Crystal House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you had a safe journey home! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#1 of 23 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tal Y Don Hotel
Tal Y Don Hotel
#11 of 23 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#2 of 23 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal House

Property: Crystal House
Address: 19 Marine Parade, Barmouth LL42 1NA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-run B&B in the seaside town of Barmouth. We have 8 rooms, all with en suite shower rooms. We have single rooms, twin rooms, double rooms and family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Crystal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal House Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing