We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the friendliest hotels I've stayed in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arbour Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arbour Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one of the friendliest hotels I've stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

what a relaxing holiday this was friendly and helpful staff'. resturant service excellent food served quickly and efficiently without any bother can't wait for my next trip there

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glynisoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    18
    9
    8
    11
See reviews for
24
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

My wife and I actually stopped at the Arbour Hotel just after my birthday in June 2010 after spending the late morning and early afternoon climblng Cader which is nearby.Steve welcomed us and we had a beer in the bar which was an excellent pint I might add,also had a nice chat with Steve.
The room was fine and very comfortable and we had a good rest and shower before going into Barmouth for the evening.
Breakfast was a good full on affair and so what if there is smiley faces looking up at you from your plate it still tastes the same!Plenty of juice and coffee/tea and we were set for the day.
The signs around the hotel need to be taken tounge in cheek but they are there for a reason.My wife and I run a cafe and there is nothing worse than a misbehaving child eg pulling all the sugar sachets out and opening them all over the table whilst the cooing parents smile on and dont say a word.Im not saying all children and parents are like this but the ones that are (and you probably dont even know you are) need to have a few guidelines as if they dont almost everyone they share the hotel with will be affected.
Im sure Karen & Steve get many more in through the door than us so run a greater risk of keeping that fine line for everyone to enjoy their stay.
The door is locked at midnight and front door keys are not allowed out as this stops gangs of drunken lads or girls stopping at the hotel and coming back from the Sandancer nightclub at all hours.As you see again there is a good reason behind the rule.
Anyway Ive tried to say what Karen & Steve would probably like to say but havent as they are far too busy running a hotel.Good luk to them both and we will be staying with them again when we get the chance.

Roger & Sheena Madeley (Shrewsbury)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doger12003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

We decided on a last minute get away and the weather looked best near Barmouth. We searched the internet, made a few calls and found the Arbour Hotel.

The sea-facing family room we had was large, spacious and very clean with gorgeous open views, it never felt cramped with four of us (which included a travel cot which was assembled the whole time).
The staff couldn't have been friendlier and more helpful if they tried. If anything I would say they went out of their way to genuinely play with our kids. The swimming pool was great after a hot and sandy day on the beach. It is indoor and 1 large room size but more then adequate in depth and size for all.

The location is perfect for the beach and only a 5 minute stroll to restaurants. It is at the quiet end of the Promenade so was nice and quiet at night with the windows open even though on right on the front. We didn't mind the midnight curfew as we had two small kids and were tucked in well before then. It's not a hotel for young clubbers but more a family hotel.

Barmouth is lovely, small and is all about the beach. There are not a huge number of restaurants and is very very quiet at night. The restaurants are not cheap, especially the drinks. Non serve draft so at £3.50 a bottle it gets expensive.

It was bank holiday long weekend and a lot was closed even though it is a holiday location. Also there is only 1 train going south (3pm) and one going North (8pm) through Barmouth on a Sunday so don't rely on trains. The fairground is old and rusty and I am sure is well past it's sell by date and is extremely expensive for what it is. Watch out for rusty metal especially from tea cups ride. With young kids it is worth going over to the Fairbourne Railway, they loved it.

I would make a point of checking out the Wind forecast as we did spend 3 days getting blasted, so much so my daughter didn't want to go back onto the beach and that was the whole point of the holiday. There were high winds over the UK so maybe just felt it more at the seaside.

Otherwise, Enjoy!

Room Tip: Family room No.4
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cl4shCr4zy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2010

first time in barmouth.lovely place with great views.hotel has nice room excellent food great staff .nothing was too much trouble for the owners would recommend it to anyone and will not hesitate to go back

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bladesman186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

I am a 10 yr old girl, i stayed in this hotel with my 69yr olds grandparents. our room was nice (a double and single) for 3 nights. the menu had not a lot to choose from, menu not to my liking, the taps were so loud i couldnt get to sleep!! the water in the bath (not shower) was YELLOW! i was shocked!
i loved the room beds were comfortable, rooms looked very nice not mix n match it all went nice together. i really enjoyed my stay. i would recommend it to people from 5 and over.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubblestarheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

We stayed at the hotel after seeing it advertised in local press. We had a 3 night bargain break. We stayed in a sea front room which was very comfortable and clean with great views. Food and service was first class, the only thing to spoil it was the weather. Contrary to a lot of bad reviews, we have only positive things to say about the hotel and the staff. We hope to go again next month. We are a couple in our 40s travelling with a couple in their 70s , who enjoyed it as much as us.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smokyjoe6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

Positive bits: Clean fresh room, friendly, chatty gentleman owner.
Not so positive bits: Overpriced, miserable approach from lady owner, poor breakfast which included greasey smiley faces!!! (for the adults) A like it or you can leave approach from the owners. Seafront room very noisey and needs darker curtains due to huge street lamp outside window.

Such a shame because this hotel could be one of the best in Barmouth if the owners went on a customer care course.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vonpetegriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barmouth
0.7 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#1 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal House
Crystal House
#15 of 24 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbour Hotel

Property: Arbour Hotel
Address: | The Promenade, Barmouth, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Number of rooms: 261
Also Known As:
Arbour Hotel Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing