We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hosts- perfect stay”
Review of Lawrenny Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lawrenny Lodge
Ranked #9 of 24 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect hosts- perfect stay”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a smashing B&B. We had a very nice en-suite room with a sea view (worth paying that bit extra for) Our hosts, Robin and Adrian, were very welcoming and went out of their way to help us - lending us guide books and even booking a table for us at a local restaurant)
Break was good- offering alternatives to the usual 'full English'
Lawrenny Lodge is 5 minutes walk from the centre of Barmouth, and 1 minute from the famous Barmouth estuary bridge.
A great base for walkers hoping to explore the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisCulshaw_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    35
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
119
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My partner and I needed a relaxing break and decided on Barmouth, Wales
Our choice of Lawrenny Lodge was ideal comfortable good size room with fabulous view.
Breakfast was very good I recommend the 'specials'
Just a short walk to the shops pubs cafes
A glorious coastline to explore

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had 2 rooms at Lawrenny Lodge for a 3 night stay. This lodge is very very pleasant. The bedrooms were although small very well kept, modern exceptionally clean and the bathrooms almost brand new it appeared. Breakfast was taken in a lovely room and the sea could be seen from here. Breakfast food was delicious and the specials changed daily and were scrumptous. The host was a very nice lady and made us feel very welcome. I would recommend this lodge to anyone visiting Barmouth and we will be back again.

Room Tip: It said sml double but was still amply big enough for 2 persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Lawrenny Lodge is located just on the edge of Barmouth, the B&B over looks the harbour.
We really enjoyed our stay here. Barmouth is a beautiful harbour village, with a gorgeous, huge and very clean beach. Plenty of restaurants and shops to browse around. Be sure to visit the quirky Ebeneezers Emporium both a shop and restaurant, a church from the outside and a treasure trove of Asian treats inside.
Lawrenny Lodge offers free parking and the main shopping/restaurant/harbour area is just a 5-10 minute walk away.
From the B&B there a couple of really lovely walks to do. There is a book in your room with detailed maps for you to follow. Plenty of tourist information and leaflets also provided. We climbed Cadair Idris which is only about 20minute drive away, a huge highlight of our trip and highly recommended. Bare in mind this is not a easy walk, its a very steep climb, but the views from the top are breathtaking.
The rooms at the B&B are spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The towels are very thick and fluffy as are the duvet and pillows.
The breakfast was delicious. Fresh mixed fruit and yogurt, large selection of cereal, muffins, endless amount of toast and a full english or any variation that you would like, including salmon. Vegetarians also very well catered for so be sure to mention before you arrive. You eat breakfast looking out across the harbour.
The rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and TV.
It was a delight to stay here and we would highly recommend Lawreeny B&B.

Room Tip: You can choose when booking if you would like a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here two nights. Room was a nice size. Bed was really comfy. Bathroom very clean and shower hot.

Lawrenny Lodge is on the edge of Barmouth and it was about a 10 minute walk into town for pubs and restaurants, of which there is a good selection.

Breakfast was excellent - there was a choice between a full English - sorry, full Welsh - and then a different special each day. One day was Eggs Benedict and the next scrambled egg and smoked salmon, which arrived in huge quantities but was absolutely delicious!

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob99Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We had stayed here 3 nights and had a very pleasant stay .the breakfast area had a good view of the sea and was breathtaking. The host was very kind and made us feel comfortable. She was able to understand that we were vegetarians and made veg sausage roles especially for us. Would recommend this b & b for a calm and lovely stay. It's also located within 40mins to most of the places you might want to see in the snowdonia national park.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhevika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camelford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Me and my wife just had a marvelous stay at this Bed & Breakfast. We also had a sensational trip in Snowdonia, mountains, and roads, covered in snow It certainly lived up to its namw, (SNOW)donia. We visited Portmerion wher e the notorious series "The Prisoner" was made, it was enchanting. We went to "Plas Brondanw" the ancestral home of Clough William Ellis. We were not allowed in the house as it is now rented out and is private but we walked around the gardens which looked as though they would be spectacular when all flowers and plants are in bloom. The B & B was very, very good and very welcoming. The hosts couldn't do enough for us, Robyn, the Hostess was extremey helpful, served a wonderful Beakfast and made sure we wanted for nothing. 5 BIG stars for this B & B. The "Last Inn" just dowm the road serves very good food.

Room Tip: The Sea View rooms are a little more expensive but have a wonderful view over Cardigan Bay and the I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artytheking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
382 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
207 reviews
2.0 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#2 of 24 in Barmouth
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Tilman
The Tilman
#8 of 24 in Barmouth
43 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crystal House
Crystal House
#11 of 24 in Barmouth
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawrenny Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawrenny Lodge

Property: Lawrenny Lodge
Address: Aberamffra Road, Barmouth LL42 1SU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lawrenny Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated on the edge of Barmouth overlooking Cardigan Bay and the Mawddach estuary. Five-minute walk from the beach, town and harbour. Eight en-suite rooms all with digital TV and hospitality tray. Substantial breakfast with options. Own private car park. A perfect location for exploring the breathtaking scenery of Snowdonia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lawrenny Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawrenny Hotel Barmouth
Lawrenny Lodge Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing