We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lawrenny Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lawrenny Lodge
Ranked #4 of 24 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We couldn't ask for more, a lovely stay.

Welcoming hosts, a well appointed room with proper coffee! If we were in the area again we'd stay here again. Lovely view to the sea.

Great breakfast too.

ffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff

Room Tip: Get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exmember11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    34
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
112
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had a lovely stay here in the picturesque seaside town, just a stone's throw from the famous bridge. Great welcome and very friendly atmosphere. Super clean and delightful place to stay. This place ticked all the boxes for us with a lovely furnished room, comfortable bed, the best selection of room refreshments possible, fluffiest towels ever!!! and a scrummy breakfast.

Prior to our stay here, we lodged in a 4star hotel, however Lawrenny Lodge beat that hands down.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Lawrenny Lodge

We made a late booking to stay for a single night, based on location and previous reviews – and we were not disappointed. It was easy to find, with good parking space, just a few minutes’ walk from the town and beach; and we were greeted with tea and homemade Welsh cakes on our arrival. Robyn was a friendly and efficient host – we didn’t meet her husband but assumed he was working hard in the kitchen! Our room (no 6) was spotless and very comfortable, and the bathroom fittings and toiletries were excellent. Everything about the place seemed sensible and well thought out, and we would definitely stay there again. It certainly deserves all these good reviews it is getting!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

This was the most enjoyable break I have experienced in a long time. The building had character and the accommodation was excellent - clean, beautifully decorated.bedroom and bathroom in a modern style. The owners/staff were so welcoming, friendly and helpful.. Breakfast was excellent and it was only a few minutes walk from Barmouth which is a beautiful small town with great views and beaches.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the building overlooking the sea and it was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport South Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We arrived in Barmouth after a particularly wet and windy journey and were greeted warmly with the offer of "cup of tea?" How lovely!

Guest House is well situated just outside of main town so nice and quiet. The outside needs a a little TLC but the day was quite grim and things tend to look better in the sun which I am sure would apply. We booked quite late and got the last available room which we were advised was small and did not have a bath. So our expectation was pretty low. However we were pleasantly surprised to be shown to a beautifully decorated fresh airy room. Yes it was small but absolutely fine. The bed was really comfortable and we slept really well.

Both mornings we enjoyed a full English accompanied by freshly brewed coffee (which you can help yourself to) fruit juices, cereal, yoghurt, freshly baked muffins and bread...yum a real treat!

The couple who own Guest House were friendly, welcoming and helpful. Would most definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovingitOhyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

What a lovely B&B and the hostess was very welcoming. When we arrived we were greeted with a cup of tea and some homemade welsh cakes. We then settled into our room on the 3rd floor. Take small cases as NO lift. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable with a fantastic big bed that was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was a good size and very clean and not lacking in anything. Our room had a great view overy the water. We walking into the town that night and ate at the local pub which had a bit of atmosphere. Breakfast was fantastic with homemade jam, muffins and bread. All in all an excellent B&B and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovescruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed at Lawrenny Lodge for 3 nights at the very end of May. Very relaxing and unobtrusive stay; lodge is in a lovely location, just outside the town centre (perfect for quiet nights but a nice 2 min walk down to the harbour) with great views of the sea and the esturary. The couple who own it were very helpful and suggested good activities for us. Breakfast was lovely and there was a daily alternative to the full english, as well as daily fruit salads, cereals and muffins. Lots of good things to do in barmouth (we hired bikes and cycled along the esturary, as well as going for a walk into the hills) especially if you appreciate a nice view. Would deffinately stay here again!

Room Tip: we stayed in the large double on the top floor with a sea view - worth the extra money for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaRoseK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.8 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#1 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Richmond House
Richmond House
#5 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#3 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawrenny Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawrenny Lodge

Property: Lawrenny Lodge
Address: Aberamffra Road, Barmouth LL42 1SU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lawrenny Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated on the edge of Barmouth overlooking Cardigan Bay and the Mawddach estuary. Five-minute walk from the beach, town and harbour. Eight en-suite rooms all with digital TV and hospitality tray. Substantial breakfast with options. Own private car park. A perfect location for exploring the breathtaking scenery of Snowdonia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lawrenny Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawrenny Hotel Barmouth
Lawrenny Lodge Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing