We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and not so good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wavecrest Guest House
Ranked #8 of 24 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Desborough
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent and not so good!”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This was a lovely place to stay. The breakfast is fantastic and you are well looked after. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I agree with other reviews that the hosts can be fantastic and on arrival and throughout our stay they were great.

However they did give the impression that they are fed up with B&B and you felt sometimes like an inconvenience. For example someone asked what time check out time was and was told as soon as possible. It could be taken as a joke but their was an undercurrent that actually guests are a bit of a nuisance.

When we left I bought home made jam and consequently had my hands full and could not manage my case as well, so I said I would come back for it. Eric said he would take it to the car for me but instead dumped it outside the front door and left it.

A litle thing maybe but it left me feeling they were only interested in the £264.00 we had paid for B&B.

I am sad to say this because otherwise our stay was great.

Room Tip: All the rooms that I could see looked good but do ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RealAlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    15
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
120
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Karen and Andrew Thomas - Rochdale.

We visited 1st August for 6 nights stay, enjoyed very much breakfast was excellent room was clean and tidy nothing was too much trouble Eric and Shelagh are very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank karen6792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

My husband, me and our 2 girls aged 9 and 6 months, were looking to go away for a few days and with only 2 days in advance called Wave Crest. Eric was lovely on the phone and v. helpful and definitely swayed my decision to book.
When we arrived we were greeted by Eric who was very friendly and showed us to our room. He brought us fresh milk and some biscuits after our journey which my eldest appriciated.
The room was lovely, very clean and comfortable with the added bonus of a bath which was great for the youngest member of our party.
Bearing in mind our 6 month old was not the most social or quietest (far from it on the last night! sorry) Both Eric and Sheligh were great with her. Never once did I feel akward or unwelcome.
To sum up Wavecrest, Fantastic hosts, beautiful place and rooms, very family friendly, Welcoming, Oh and husband says the MOST hearty, delicious breakfast EVER
Hope to be back soon, Thanks again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2011

eric and sheila gave us a very warm welcome. they were both very friendly and the perfect hosts. nothing was too much trouble. rooms were very clean and very comfortable. it was like home from home.the location of the hotel was just perfect as it s on the level and ideal for walks for the elderly and young alike. we will be going back there again wiyhout a doubt and can highly recommend it. sheilas homemade marmalade is just super.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ella1744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJandDEJ, Owner at Wavecrest Guest House, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Diolch Ella.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

The best guest house we have stayed in,probably better than some 4star hotels.So impressive in every way, clean and crisp.The hosts eric & shelag are really friendly,
our stay was perfect, We Would recomend The Wvecrest to anyone looking for quilty accomidation,great food and good hopitality.
thank you
Angie & Malc xx
wolverhampton

Room Tip: We had room 4 on the side we had no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angiemal5556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

we had such a lovely time. Eric and Sheila are so welcoming and make you feel like part of the family. The guest house itself was stunning and our room was like a posh hotel room. Can't say enough good things about this place. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Catrin18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I have stayed in Barmouth for around a dozen times, and often liked the places I've stayed but have always said a good breakfast is not to be had in the town. When you find a jug of fresh milk in your room instead of those UHT cartons you know the food is going to be good. Homemade marmalades & jams - try the lime marmalade - pot of butter on the table, no catering packs, fresh berries each day to accompany the yoghurt. Breakfast is cooked to perfection by Shelagh to an order taken and served by Eric. Everything is local. The sausages are 91% meat, the eggs have just rolled down the mountain from the farm and taste great!
If you are stuck for somewhere to go Eric and Shelagh have been in Barmouth 30 years and know the locality very well. To give an impression of your hosts, just as I was booking to come back next year Eric was on his way out to pick up the chamber maid because it was raining that day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#1 of 24 in Barmouth
132 reviews
1.6 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
417 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandpiper Guest House
Sandpiper Guest House
#20 of 24 in Barmouth
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wavecrest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wavecrest Guest House

Property: Wavecrest Guest House
Address: 8 Marine Parade, Barmouth LL42 1NA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wavecrest Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wavecrest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wavecrest Guest House Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing